We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope the new chef makes changes” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Johnnie's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnnie's Restaurant
220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928
530-895-1515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 277 restaurants in Chico
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I hope the new chef makes changes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our waiter repeatedly criticized the chef and the menu choices, the food was less than average. However, TV ads indicate they've made changes. Not sure I have the courage to go again after the bad experience and word-of-mouth that continues.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    19
    18
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Forgot to wish husband a happy birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When I made the reservation and when I arrived, I reminded our server it was my husbands birthday and she still forgot. I wish I had forgotten to add a tip!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Favorite Happy Hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My girlfriends and I love going to Johnny's Happy Hour! Yeah, it is tough to get a table, but for about $20 each, we have a couple of drinks and a plentiful quantity of tasty and diverse little plates of appetizers that we all share. It is the perfect early dinner with friends!

(If my review was helpful, click and let me know. Thanks!0

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun bar scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only had drinks here (the food smelled great though), but teh service and ambiance was top notch. A nice classy addition to downtown Chico.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What happened???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I used to go to Johnnie's once a week for lunch. And loved it. Met a friend for dinner and drinks only to find that they no longer serve dinner. We ordered the calimari as a starter in the bar (because the dining room has limited hours) hoping to be impressed enough to stay for one of their few "tapas" offerings. We both took a few bites of the calimari and decided to move on. The waitress did not return for quite awhile. When she did return she did not seem to notice that we barely touched the appetizer. She simply brought our check as if she knew it was bad and we would be leaving. What a shame. It has great potential I know they can do the right thing; they have done it before.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Johnnie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnnie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.