We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Suites Chico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Suites Chico to your Saves list
Oxford Suites Chico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2035 Business Lane, Chico, CA 95928   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Chico
las vegas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had ants in our room and that is mainly why I had to give it an average rating. This effected how I slept and the cleanliness factor for me. The little buffet welcome is nice. Breakfast is nice too. It is just that they charge extra for it, so I am not sure it is really worth the extra charge. I will try somewhere else next time I am there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Chico, responded to this review, July 30, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We will take immediate steps to remedy the ant problem you described. We take our guests sense of comfort very seriously, as evidenced by the many amenities offered, and appreciate the opportunity to resolve issues that arise. We are happy to reassign rooms, when available, as needed. With regards to the extra breakfast buffet fee referenced, in a double queen room, 2 adults and 2 children would have access to the complimentary buffet. If you believe a billing error has occurred, I would encourage you to contact Chris Coder, General Manager, as soon as possible as we are happy to adjust your charges accordingly. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    121
    36
    17
    3
See reviews for
197
64
15
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Love the makeover. The new furniture is beautiful, beds are the best. I like that there is a fold-out couch too, as sometimes I have trouble sleeping and can go from the bed to couch & back as I choose. Store in lobby had everything we ever needed. The buffets were excellent--could easily be dinner, not just appetizers. Really nice dining room. Staff has always been so friendly and helpful. Easy to feel at home here.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Arrrived in Chico in the late afternoon after driving from L.A. Check-in was fast,efficient, and very friendly. We traveled with 2 medium size dogs and received a 'pet room'. Usually, I'm pretty leary of these rooms because they put smokers in the same rooms and most of the times they're not that nice. This room was great! No smoke smell, and wouldn't even know other animals had been in there. There is a nice little gift shop next to the desk with snak food and essentials. The room was quiet also. Great location comes into play because the Sierra Nevada Brewing Co is less than a mile walk away (it could turn into more than a mile on the way back though...). Also, my tailight burnt out and the wife got sick. Fortunately there is a Wal-Mart right across the street and I was able to get a bulb and cough medicine. There are other businesses around but becasue of the neighborhood layout, you feel like your in a residental area. Overall, great experience, super staff, and comfortable room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The location is near several restaurants, both upscale and everyday dining. It is also very near the Chico Mall. We were a group of 24 people who used the meeting room for three days and also had some catered meals. The meals were all good except one. We had generous portions and the vegetarian lasagne we ordered was excellent. We also ordered the cheese and chicken enchiladas. Not so good - not much chicken and the cheese was very runny - I think processed cheese was used. The staff was excellent about bringing in the food on time, clean up, and freshening the room for the next day. They also have free appetizers in the evening and one free beverage - including beer or wine. They serve a hot breakfast also - be sure to ask for their sausages as they are delicious.
Light sleepers will want to stay on the non-freeway side of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Oxford Suites knows how to empower their employees to make decisions leading to excellent customer service. We were so very impressed when we stated that our room had a slight odor of smoke. The front desk person said he would go to the floor above and below us and make sure no one was smoking in the no smoking rooms; and then he would come to our room. Within 15 minutes he was at our door (he had already checked the other floors), he immediately asked if we would like to move to another room. Another example of their customer service was when my car broke down. I went to the front desk, asked if they knew of any car repair shops. Before I knew it I had Mapquest directions (without even asking) to the two closest locations for Toyota. They really go above and beyond and seem to be thinking "What else could I do for this customer?" When my husband was assigned to work in Redding, I was very pleased to find out there was another location for Oxford Suites in Redding.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

How this place expects to attract customers I will never know.

This is a 35-40yr old building in a very busy/noisy spot that is dingy even after a recent reno/update. I mean please...

Don't believe the web site. This looks like a building Red Lion abandoned. This must be the cash-cow that the corporation cannot afford to shut down long enough to refurbish properly. They retained the stinky, dirty old carpets! They put in new doors but failed to make them fit properly and set them all to slam whenever allowed to close on their own. Wall paper was cut and pasted, to 'fix' mistakes. Trim in the bathrooms was replaced, but none of the counter tops or bath tubs! Come on people...

This place should have been dozed instead of reno'd.

The staff are top notch and very accommodating. Too bad they have such an inferior property to work with in Chico!

The outdoor pool was a nice feature for a summer visit and one that attracted me to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Very best option in Chico. Friendly helpful staff, spotlessly clean everywhere you look. Modern and comfortable accommodations. We stayed in an Executive Suite. Breakfast is included in the hotel breakfast room as is evening wine, beer and nibbles at the evening cocktail hour. A bit further south of old downtown Chico and the University...but it is a quick hop on the 99 freeway. This place will not disappoint. I am a travel agent and believe me, we are a picky lot!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Suites Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Chico

Address: 2035 Business Lane, Chico, CA 95928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chico
#1 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Chico 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Centrally located near Chico State University, the Oxford Suites Chico is located just minutes away from the Sierra Nevada Brewery, Bidwell Mansion, the 3,400 acre Bidwell Park, restaurants, shopping and more. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Outdoor Pool, Spa, Sauna & Steam Room and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oxford Suites Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Chico Hotel Chico
Oxford Hotel Chico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Suites Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.