We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average roadside hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chico

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   685 Manzanita Court, Chico, CA 95926   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Chico
Folsom CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average roadside hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The first room had a dirty shower with long black hair still in it. We were moved to another room which was better. The building was old but comfortable. They had a thermostat on the wall, but the heater was a noisy wall mounted unit. Not a 3.5 star or above hotel as I was promised by Priceline.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chico, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear katielovesducks,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor service from housekeeping and for the poor air conditioning. We will look into these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    46
    25
    20
    21
See reviews for
54
27
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely would stay here again! The entire staff, from the front desk clerks to the maintenence guy who loaned me a ladder (I drive a tour bus for a rock band, and had to do some work on my bus) absolutely bent over backwards to provide anything I needed or asked for, even making the hotel shuttle van available at 3 AM to take us back to the theater. The room was nice, but about average for a Holiday Inn. They did comp breakfast for the two days that we were here, but it was pretty generic. It was real eggs, sausage, and toast, but was just that...sort of generic - but it was free, so why am I complaining? Overall, an absolutely positive experience, made so by the people who work here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIChico-Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chico, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear FStegall,

Thank you so much for the great review and the kind words about the staff. They work hard to make guests happy and I am greatful for you noticing this!

We enjoyed having you at the property and hope to see you next time the band travels to Chico.

Happy Travels,

Angela Hensley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel and restaurant were very nice, as were the various staff members that interacted with us. We were staying here for the week on business, the only problem was that it was over a weekend. This hotel has a club. The music was typical club music, loud and goes on late into the night. Saturday night is a night when a guest will not get enough sleep for business purposes. I suppose this is one of the down sides of a full service hotel. The location is convenient to everything available in Chico, in addition to the hotel restaurant, Denny's is next door and a shopping center is across the freeway. The University is just to the south and the mountains are about 30 minutes away. Upon check out, the computers were down and stayed down for about 24 hours. We require a zero balance receipt, the staff took down our information and our receipt was emailed in a timely manner, very nice follow-up service from this hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the club if you wish to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIChico-Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chico, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear TXLA Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate the weeklong stay you had at the Holiday Inn, Chico. We do have events in the lounge, but always are willing to try and place people away from the music as much as possible. Thank you for your patience during our technical difficulties and we appreciate your patience.

Thank you,

Angela Hensley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here three nights, including NYE. Staff: very accommodating, courteous and helpful. The hotel itself is...well, just old. They've done what they could to spruce it up without doing a huge renovation: linens, towels, furniture all nice quality as was the furniture w/ new countertops in the bath. But the hallways have that old hotel smell and there is only one small vent in the bathroom (no fan) and the bathroom has wallpaper which is peeling around the edges and popcorn ceilings are everywhere.We paid $99 for the first 2 nights and the $69 special rate for NYE; if the NYE party had not been at the hotel (and I was too lazy to book 2 seprate properties), I would not have paid the $99 rate; the $69 rate is a fair price for what they offer. The restaurant food was ho-hum, but fairly priced. Convenient location.

Room Tip: Request room not facing HWY 99.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIChico-Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chico, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear TXLA Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn, Chico. We appreciate all feedback that is given as it helps us to improve our service to those who stay at the hotel. We are glad you were able to ring in the new year with us. And it looks like you enjoyed all of our amenites while at the hotel. We are working hard to update the hotel as much as possible and take your comments into great consideration.

Thank you,

Angela Hensley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend visiting family and attending music performance. Paid just under $100 per weekend night in mid-December (AAA rate). Centrally located and easy to find. Welcoming front desk who had accurate, timely service start to finish. We chose HI Chico because they offer refrig and micro in room, an essential for our stay. Room was super quiet, well appointed, everything working. Clean was everywhere in this place: room, corridors, elevator, side entrances. There is a bar and restaurant on-site: didn't go to either so can't review. Please be aware they do not offer free breakfast. Room service is available (priced $7-$12 for standard fare), and Denny's is in adjacent parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chico, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was great you enjoyed your stay. We have been doing some extra training with are front desk to ensure guest like your self have a great check in and check out process. Thank you again for your review and we all hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Chico for west coast swing dance competition. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was great and dinner the same. The bar has a great new atmosphere and great dance floor, perfect for swing dancing. Loved the hot tub was open. Very convenient location right off freeway. All in all a great stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chico, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all glad you ejoyed the dance floor in the bar area. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a great time here while visiting my family for Thanksgiving! Checking into our room was a fast and easy process. We even used the hot tub during our stay. We did have a problem with dogs barking while trying to go to sleep, but we called the Front Desk and they took care of the issue for us. We definitely will be back to stay when visiting in Chico!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chico, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the staff I would like to thank you for your great comment. We are excited that you enjoyed are recent updates and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chico

Address: 685 Manzanita Court, Chico, CA 95926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chico 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chico Conference Center is Chico’s largest full service hotel. Conveniently located only 3 miles from Chico State University, downtown Chico, Chico Outlaws, Chico Mall, Bidwell Mansion. We cater to business travelers with complimentary wireless and DSL in our guest rooms, on-site restaurant, the Inn Place and On The Rocks Lounge. Complimentary Managers reception Monday thru Thursday with beverages and appetizers. Benefit from our on-site fitness center, business services, and guest laundry. Our comfortable recently remodeled guest rooms are equipped with micro-fridge, coffee maker and safe, which will make you feel right at home. Professional guest service staff will take care of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chico Hotel Chico
Chico Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.