We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, hidden pet policies, just did not feel safe here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Heritage Lane, Chico, CA 95926   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Sutter Creek, California
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Hard to find, hidden pet policies, just did not feel safe here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Yikes, so I ignored some of the other ratings and feel like I need to add my view. The hotel is updated, but, not worth it. Bathroom sink area is in the room, tub and toilet are in a room so small hard to turn around, ceiling is at about 6.5 feet. Lots of homeless folks in the area, the hotel sits off an alleyway at the back of a run down shopping center. Did not feel like a safe place. The hotel has inside corridors, but, the doors to the outside at the far end do not lock and the staff said they knew, and weren't doing anything about it.....made it easier to go to the spa! As far as pets....we reserved a king room, we usually like the second floor, but were told, we could only have a double room, near an exit (the one that doesn't lock and is across from the laundry, maid area, etc) You get the picture, the noisiest room in the hotel. And NO option to move to another room. We paid the highest fee ever at a BW for our pet, $30. The breakfast was poor, no hot food, except a disgusting looking waffle maker. I am not sure why this is a "Plus" hotel, we stay at BW reguarly and have never stayed at such a poorly kept facility. Will find someplace else to stay when we got back to Chico.

Room Tip: Demand that you get the room you want, and have a backup plan if they do not comply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    35
    19
    22
See reviews for
76
24
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Salt Lake, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We reserved a stay at this hotel a month in advance, through Priceline. When we got there, they advised they were booked full on two of the five nights we booked and since we got such a good deal, they were giving us a smoking room, all they had left, for the full five nights. The desk clerk was advised I had asthma and the smoking room would be extremely uncomfortable. He again stated that since we were not paying full price, we got what was left. The room stunk and the sheets and towels stunk. Since we had paid beforehand, we could not just cancel and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
All priceline bookings where a pick your own price discount applies, does not allow the option of room choice. Smoking Rooms were all that were available and guests were advised as such. . Non smoking rooms were not available
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First of all who likes a bathroom sink in the hall..And who likes a bathroom without a fan..And the shampoo and soap gel are so high you can't take a bath if you wanted to..I think this hotel is so over rated. The rooms look big on the internet,but they are tiny..my husband really wanted the continental breakfast..But he forgot his check-in receipt, the food area made a big deal of it.He said he was so embarrassed to go back .My husband never got the continental breakfast,So sad this place was so rude..And they have this man walking the halls all nite ..And the walls are paper thin...This is the most expensive place in Chico..Believe me its not worth it...

Room Tip: This was a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Nice grounds outside, hard to get to from off road, great evening staff, gave good frozen yogurt recommendation, but Rooms and carpet could be cleaned better. Beds are comfortable, Had to change room due to uncleaned bathroom floor and bathtub. Standard breakfast items.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I won't write much here because our experience was exactly what others warned of. We got a great deal on priceline, and for an older, large Best Western, this hotel is updated nicely. The update was really a waste of money though because the entire hotel is musty and smokey- the hallways, not just the smoking rooms. We, luckily, were not upcharged like some of the below reviewers were, but did receive a smoking room and were unable to switch- they flat out told us that they didn't promise us this right because we booked through priceline. Every other hotel I've ever booked through priceline/ hw has gladly provided a non smoking room when I called. Luckily, we brought some oust spray after reading the reviews, but were spraying it constantly and stayed out of the room as much as possible.

Room Tip: I would NOT book through a third party site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed one night in this motel. It was a Sunday evening and the place wasn't busy; I walked in without a reservation and had no problem getting a non-smoking king room. The receptionist offered a good rate and a group membership discount was accepted to make it even better.

The room was huge, almost a suite and was in good but not great condition. The carpet was loose in places and there were minor stains on the stuffed upholstery but the bed was comfortable, linens were clean and the room was clean.

The hallway carpeting looked a bit used and could have used a cleaning.

All-in-all, a reasonable nights stay for a decent price. I would have been disappointed if I had paid more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Some others have written giving 1 star and I totally agree and wish I would have read about Craig McLean (Front Desk Manager) prior to the WORST HOTEL STAFF EXPERIENCE in my life. Booked through priceline good rate got there and the trouble started right off with a "energy surcharge" added as an incidental.

Next morning booked with priceline for a second night. At 1:15 PM all L broke out. Craig came up to room and basically evicted us wanting 2 x $10/hr for late checkout past 11 am Then he wanted $ 25 for staying in the same room again fee or go downstairs check out and recheck in after 3 PM this activity was billed out at $51.50,

Went to the lobby and then, Craig refused to re-admit us. On Priceline deals neither party can cancel for refund. Although Craig says he contacted Price line and told us there would be refunded our money I seriously do not trust this One week later, now and still charged second night

"Manager". Craig has no customer service experience except confrontation. He must be family or tied personally to the owner, any other place of business would fire this Sorry Odd Business Associate Hating people in a heart beat.

Really too bad for the owners who have poured serious money into the building making it a nice place with a good bed. Also feel for the staff that works hard to do a good job but to no avail with such a anti customer person on the front desk. After reviewing other posts on this place, it maybe a Hotel general policy to rip customers off.

Appears the business plan is to hook customers in on http://Hotels.com, Travelociy, Priceline, etc and then nickel and dime us to death with hidden costs and non disclosed fees.
Initial booking on Priceline $ 57 was increased to $ 169+ 300 % with hidden agenda

see also yelp "filtered reviews" this place also manages to subvert negative feedback

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: avoid, unless you want to spend $160+
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico

Address: 25 Heritage Lane, Chico, CA 95926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Chico, California, including Cal State University Chico, the Silver Dollar Speedway and Bidwell Park, at this pet-friendly hotel. Situated in northern California's Sacramento Valley, the BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico is in the middle of it all. Less than five miles from major local attractions, including historic downtown Chico, the Silver Dollar Speedway and Bidwell Park, and close to excellent golf courses and a pair of shopping centers offering a slew of shopping and dining options, tourists and business travelers alike will have no shortage of nearby sites to explore. Just a short drive further, guests can enjoy the famed Sonoma Wine Region, the Honey Run Covered Bridge, and peaceful Lake Oroville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Heritage Hotel Chico
Best Western Chico
Chico Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.