We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely rude management, never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Heritage Lane, Chico, CA 95926   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Completely rude management, never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Initially booked this hotel because they allow pets. It states on their site to check with them ahead of time. Called them, and they said they had pet rooms available.

After booking through Travelocity and arriving at the hotel, was informed all the pet rooms were gone. The hotel would not refund our money and upon speaking with manager, was told it was our fault for booking with Travelocity and not BW directly. Manager proceeded to call me a liar concerning checking with them initially, and that addressing my concern was not his problem.

I will never stay here again and will tell others the same.

To Travelocity's credit, while they can't refund us, they did offer us a $50 travel voucher, something Best Western should have handled themselves. Travelocity also attempted to rectify situation with Manager Craig, but he hung up during the conversation. Shameful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    57
    40
    22
    23
See reviews for
85
29
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I got two rooms here using Hotwire.com on 2/25/12. Now, I understand that when using Hotwire.com or Priceline.com you don't always know what you're getting into and man was it off the mark this time. We ended up paying 25$ per room to get out of a smoking room and my friend had to pay an additional 10$ to check in early. I have never had to pay to get out of a smoking room. Apparently this seems to be common with this hotel as I see prior guests also got charged this ridiculous rate. I can't believe that Best Western is keeping this hotel in it's chain. The fact that customer service couldn't do anything due to the fact that all of their hotels are chains also speaks of their business practices and how much they truly "care" about their customers. Absolutely poor service. I would NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Don't get one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stay was pleasant, comfortable, and reasonable.
Policy of handling phone calls at front desk rather than an arrival with credit card in hand seems inconsiderate and counter productive. Even tapping the card and drivers license on desk (gently, not too rudely, after a few minutes) didn't dissuade clerk, then he took a call that was on hold. Retaliation? Just a pet peeve: a customer at the counter is real, the phone is a maybe.
I would stay there again. Breakfast was fine. People nice. A/C needed a little work and pillows are much too plump.

Room Tip: Maybe don't irritate the check-in clerk?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

the room ares big and comfortable,
the only little problem is internet very slow.
however it's a good place to stay
you can choice e room smoking or not smoking
i smoke sometimes in the evening and you don't have to go out
it's great
you ares very close to downtown where you will find what do you want

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Heritage Inn Chico. It was clean and comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly! We were able to check in late (10:30) and still had a room waiting for us.
The 2 Queen bed room is a nice large size, with fridge and microwave, and two desks, one set up like an office and one with chairs. In other words, we were able to save a little money by eating a few meals in our room (and not having to throw away the leftovers from the times we ate out). We had plenty of room to spread out!
The hotel is very easy to find and easy to get around to Chico and surrounding areas.
The one downside to it's proximity to the highway(freeway 99) is the noise. It didn't bother us when we were sleeping, but it did make us turn up the TV volume a bit. It might bother a light sleeper.
Although the hotel's decor is largely older, it has been well kept so that it didn't feel "old". Overall we were pleased!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try to get an even and low numbered room on the non-freeway side. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The staff was nice and I was delighted to be upgraded to a Family suite with 2 king beds in it. The staff recommended good restaurants downtown. We were very close to Chico airport and could walk to Starbucks in the morning. Beds were comfy and room was quiet although close to Rt. 99.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Family Suite because I am a Best Western Reward Member. It had two king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We didn't expect much from this hotel, knowing it was only a spot for us to sleep. We were pleasantly suprised with the cute little pool and hot tub which sits off in a corner of the parking lot. Even though the freeway sits adjacent to the hotel and parking lot, the pool had nice landscaping and a nice gate (which should have a security lock though) to keep kids safe. The breakfast was ok with cereals, coffee, juice, muffins, toast, cold hard boiled eggs, and a waffle maker. We used Priceline and got a decent room for a fraction of their rack-rate. Not a bad place with easy access to freeways, stores and food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico

Address: 25 Heritage Lane, Chico, CA 95926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Chico, California, including Cal State University Chico, the Silver Dollar Speedway and Bidwell Park, at this pet-friendly hotel. Situated in northern California's Sacramento Valley, the BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico is in the middle of it all. Less than five miles from major local attractions, including historic downtown Chico, the Silver Dollar Speedway and Bidwell Park, and close to excellent golf courses and a pair of shopping centers offering a slew of shopping and dining options, tourists and business travelers alike will have no shortage of nearby sites to explore. Just a short drive further, guests can enjoy the famed Sonoma Wine Region, the Honey Run Covered Bridge, and peaceful Lake Oroville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Heritage Hotel Chico
Best Western Chico
Chico Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.