We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service and Bad Attitude - 'Bait and Switch' Tactic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Heritage Lane, Chico, CA 95926   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service and Bad Attitude - 'Bait and Switch' Tactic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stay in hotels around the world and have never experienced such terrible attitude and bad customer service from management and front desk personnel. We booked a room through Priceline, a reliable service we commonly use. When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk agent looked at our reservation and rudely told us the only room available was a smoking/king, and non-smoking rooms were available only by paying an upgrade fee. We listened to the desk clerk check-in another customer, who was offered the choice between smoking and non-smoking rooms for no additional cost. We were shocked at the apparent 'bait and switch' tactic of this hotel. We attempted to resolve this horrible situation with front desk and management personnel, but were treated rudely by both. We then contacted Priceline, and they graciously cancelled our reservation and refunded our entire payment. This hotel gets our very worst rating!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    57
    40
    22
    23
See reviews for
85
29
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Almanor, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I travel extensively, stay in hotels domestically and internationally 10-14 days per month. We were taking a short 2 day pleasure trip to Chico, CA. I booked a "Name Your Own Price" hotel room on Priceline (which I have done dozens of times) that yielded the Best Western Heritage Inn in Chico. It became a nightmare. Upon attempting to check-in, the rude front desk agent, Jason, informed us our options were a smoking room with King-size bed or non-smoking room with 2 queens, "for a $10 upgrade fee". We are non-smokers and I was not impressed. I responded we will not be staying in a smoking room OR paying any upgrade fee (It was 3:30pm and the hotel parking lot was largely empty). Jason insisted saying, the type of Priceline reservation does not guarantee any specific type of room (ie smoking or non-smoking). I demanded to speak to the manager, and Jason stonewalled me. I told him I would not leave the front desk until I speak to a manager. Finally he connected me, to another "pit bull" with the same story line. Apparently this is a regular tactic they use on any Priceline customers. Give them a room that is undesirable (smoking) then make them pay an upgrade fee for something else. I refused. We simply wanted a non-smoking room, at the price we had negotiated, nothing more. Fortunately I called Priceline for resolution. They noted that I was a valued customer and had used their services for years without any issues. They offered to cancel my reservation at the Best Western Holiday Inn for the evening and refund my money.....which I was more than glad to do. Bottom line is, I will tell this story 100 times if necessary to steer business away from this nasty, unfriendly, rude, deceitful operation at the Best Western Heritage Inn in Chico. AVOID!!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. Downtown we found a great deal at the Quality Inn on Main St
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Think twice before staying here!
We rented 2 rooms for 2 days, 1 room for my family which included our 6 mo twins and 1 room was for the grandmothers. When we walked in, we noticed a slight cigarette smoke smell in our non-smoking room. We let it go, figured we would not be in the room much. The next night when we returned, housekeeping did not clean our room, the bed was not made, the coffee was not refreshed, no towels. But the grandma's room was made. The front desk staff gave us 20% off for the inconvenience which was appropriate.
However, the most inexcusable thing happen. The next day, my mother in law noticed that her scale was missing. When she reported this to staff, they said they would investigate. The manager Rick Wreford called her back and said he spoke to housekeeping and they did not take the scale. Then he said that housekeeping stated the room smelled like like urine, there were dirty diapers all around the room, said the carpet was saturated with urine and he had to get the carpets cleaned. This was completely outrageous! First, we never put our babies on the carpets because it is a hotel and we have no idea when the carpets were last cleaned. Besides how is the carpets full of urine when our kids wear diapers, they are no where close to the potty training stage. Second, we put the diapers in TRASHCANS, why would we leave them on the floor? That is a tripping hazard! And the most ridiculous statement the manager made; he told my mother that if she was ever in the area again he would give her a great discount on a room. Why would any of us think of returning to a place were our items get stolen, were housekeeping is unprofessional and management is incompetent. We paid approx $400 for all the rooms/nights and this is how we get treated.?Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We usually stay at a different hotel when we are visiting our daughters who attend CSUC but it was booked this time. So, we decided to try the Best Western. Rooms were fine, good size and clean. The hotel staff, while very casual, were polite and got the job done. Breakfast was included and there were enough options to make most people happy, waffle maker, cereals, fruit, etc. There is a pool but my wife was disappointed to see no lounge chairs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

After not being able to get the Oxford Suites for the Chico Experience Weekend, we were not looking forward to staying at a non-suite hotel.

Staff was helpful and welcoming. Location is great considering it's just a few short miles drive to the campus. Housekeeping was wonderful and the morning Belgian waffle was a nice surprise.

Great value and away from the one "star" motels in downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, NV
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Too bad you had to enter the K-Mart parking lot to get to the motel...weird! A bit out of the way from the downtown. Pool was super small, but on the upside who needed it with the large whirlpool bathtub in the room? BW needs better coffee I've noticed, but it's nice that they at least try with the breakfast. Bed was fine, nice stash of porno mags above the TV in the HUGE armoir- LOL. Not sure if we'd return, but considering the other choices in Chico...probably likely.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTTS VALLEY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed for two nights when we check our daughter into her dorm room at CSU Chico. The staff was friendly, room was nice and close to the campus. Only thing that I would suggest would be to extend the breakfast till 10am. The beds were also a little on the hard side.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico

Address: 25 Heritage Lane, Chico, CA 95926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Chico, California, including Cal State University Chico, the Silver Dollar Speedway and Bidwell Park, at this pet-friendly hotel. Situated in northern California's Sacramento Valley, the BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico is in the middle of it all. Less than five miles from major local attractions, including historic downtown Chico, the Silver Dollar Speedway and Bidwell Park, and close to excellent golf courses and a pair of shopping centers offering a slew of shopping and dining options, tourists and business travelers alike will have no shortage of nearby sites to explore. Just a short drive further, guests can enjoy the famed Sonoma Wine Region, the Honey Run Covered Bridge, and peaceful Lake Oroville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Heritage Hotel Chico
Best Western Chico
Chico Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.