We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn, Near Chico State

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn, Near Chico State to your Saves list
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Main Street, Chico, CA 95928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chico
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Going Back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

The hotel has just been re-modeled and was quit clean. The owner/manager was very pleasant and attended to our needs personally.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicohotel, Regional Manger at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, July 21, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments about our Quality Inn Chico. I have shared your review with our staff, so it may encourage them to continue to provide the great service you experienced. It is our goal to provide great service, clean rooms and value for anyone looking for a hotel in Chico.

Thank you again on behalf of all the staff here at the Quality Inn Hotel in Chico.

SIncerely
Tracey Thompson
Quality Inn Chico
formally Thunderbird Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    58
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
51
35
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

The Quality Inn Thunderbird is perfect. The remodel was extensive from the studs out -- wiring, plumbing, drywall, bathrooms, carpet, furniture, beds, and plasma TV. It's a new hotel with new ownership and beautiful landscaping and new signage just going in. The pillow top beds are the most comfortable beds of any I've ever had at any hotel, and I've been in hotels from Southern California, the U.S., Europe, Middle East to Afghanistan, Pakistan and India. These beds beat them all. And at this level hotel, all one is looking for is a great night's sleep, which we got. But wait, there's a whole lot more. The service was great -- Gus the GM lives on the property and is there to serve 7 days a week, and he's excellent at it. The deluxe continental breakfast is superb. The plasma TV is a quality Samsung. The area is quiet, but is downtown within walking distance of everything. Stay here. It's great!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicohotel, Regional Manger at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, July 21, 2009
Thank you for your review of the Quality Inn Hotel in Chico, formally the Thunderbird Lodge. We are proud to provide good service, clean comfortable rooms at a great proce here in Chico, We hope you will come visit our hotel again next time your are in Chico, CA.

Thank you on behalf of Gus and the rest of the staff.

Tracey Thompson
Regional Manager
Quality Inn Chico
formally Thunderbird Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The "Bird" has undergone a major renovation (new everything, including beds) and is a great location with a good price. The past is just that and is worth a stay. They need to work on the cable though, but no major flaws.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicohotel, General Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, July 11, 2009
Dear Casluth

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the Quality Inn Chico, formally the Thunderbird Lodge.

Yes we are very proud of our recent renovation, and very pleased to be in the Quality Inn family of hotels

Since your visit we have upgraded the Cable TV, added some movie channels, sports channels and news channels.

The Quality Inn Chico (Thunderbird Lodge) now offers complimentary continental breakfast and wifi internet access, we also have a business center for you to check your email if you don't have a Laptop with you.

Thank you again for your Trip Advisor Review of our hotel.

Gus Guzman
General Manager
Quality Inn Chico
formally Thunderbird Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I decided to revisit my college days last weekend, and of course, to visit Jon and Bon's Yogurt and Hula's Mongolian BBQ. Yum. We looked at staying at the Diamond, but just couldn't justify the price. Our friend mentioned that the Thunderbird was undergoing renovation, and we decided to give them a call. Turns out they are redoing the whole place and offering special low rates. So we said why not (even though we did read the reviews on tripadvisor). The room was spacious, with new carpeting, new linens, granite counters, flat screen TV-you get the idea. We would definitely stay there again and again-especially if we get the same rate! I don't know how long they are offering the low rates, but make sure to ask. I think you may even get a discount if you have a Choice Hotel card-but ask first. We just used our triple A card. One thing to mention is that they are still in construction, but since we were there on a weekend it was quiet. Try it out, you won't be disappointed, especially if you are a bargain hunter.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicohotel, General Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, July 11, 2009
Thank you for your great Review of the Thunderbird Lodge now Quality Inn Chico., yes we are still offering AAA rates, since your visit to the Quality Inn Chico we have added our complimentry Continental Breakfast with waffles, danish and cereal. Also the High speed internet access is up and running with a business center if you don't have a loptop.

Thank you again for your review of our Chico hotel.

Gus Guzman
General Manager
Quality Inn Chico
formally Thunderbird Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn, Near Chico State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn, Near Chico State

Address: 715 Main Street, Chico, CA 95928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chico
#4 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn, Near Chico State 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn near Chico State near the California State University Chico campus. The Quality Inn® near Chico State is less than a mile away from the Bidwell Mansion State Historic Park outdoor recreation area and museum. This unique venue features a Victorian-era house with 26 rooms, a gift shop, a theater and more. Guided tours of this facility are held weekly. This California hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chico. If business brings you to town, the convention center and California State University, Chico campus are within walking distance. The Silver Dollar Speedway is within five miles. The city of Chico has recognized as bicycle friendly town, so hit the town for pleasure and explore the downtown area, Bidwell Park and much more. Additional points of interest close to this Chico, CA hotel include: Butte County Fairgrounds Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Chico Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn, Near Chico State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn, Near Chico State Hotel Chico
Chico Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, Near Chico State, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.