We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Diamond Hotel is a REALLY nice hotel, but it's the staff that are the diamonds that truly shine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diamond to your Saves list
Hotel Diamond
220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The Diamond Hotel is a REALLY nice hotel, but it's the staff that are the diamonds that truly shine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here several days in one of the suites on the 4th floor. The staff couldn't have been more friendly, more helpful or more professional. The hotel is really nice and really well maintained but the staff put the finishing touches that make booking with this hotel a no-brainer. Nice soaking tub, nice TV's, nice outdoor patio on the 4th floor, very quiet, nice laundry service, well appointed decor, really comfortable bed, nice furniture, very, very clean and antique yet artistic furnishings and design of features. I was surprised at this hotel restaurant because this was the only hotel restaurant that we've stayed at in several years that didn't gouge us on the prices. In fact, I still can't figure out how they make any money on the seafood omelette which was really fresh and really good. The staff was very accommodating and went way out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for a family reunion. Parking was painless and very convenient.

Room Tip: Many people avoid hotel restaurants but this is a good one. The shops near the hotel are really cute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Sigel S, thank you so much for your recent stay and positive review. It was truly our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your future reservations.

Ryan Brimm
Manager
Hotel Diamond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    37
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
55
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very much enjoyed my stay at the Diamond. Rooms are finished to a very high quality and are cleaned to a high standard. However - for my stay the bar was closed and it did not function as a hotel. There really are no other amenities. The location is very good - in downtown Chico. (Amongst speciality shops, bars and restaurants ) . Larger stores, pharmacy, supermarket us a drive out of town

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize you didn't get a chance to enjoy Johnnies. We look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Diamond Hotel for 1 night in early July, attending my daughters Freshman orientation at Chico State. Booked a double Queen room, was $155/nt. That price is high for Chico, but it's a higher quality hotel than most in the Chico area, and in the best location. The hotel is right in the heart of Downtown Chico, but only a few short blocks from the Chico State campus. The closest hotel to Chico State, with lots of restaurants, ATM's, and shopping all around it. Parking is free in a covered parking garage right next to the hotel, with the permit the hotel provides you at check-in. Complimentary Breakfast at the restaurant on the first floor is included. Because we had to leave early for Orientation, instead we chose to have a continental breakfast delivered to our room (again, free), and it was plenty of food, and very nice (Fresh fruit, danishes, cereal, etc.). The room was not huge, but big enough. The beds were very comfortable, and linens very clean. AC worked wonderfully (it was 110 outside!), and lots of TV channels. Everything was clean, and everything worked. Wireless internet is free, and worked well. The front desk folks were very friendly and on top of things. The room seemed very quiet(room 203), but I don't think the hotel was fully booked the day we were there, so hard to judge. I will definitely be looking to stay her again as first choice whenever we come to visit. When you arrive, there are a couple spaces right in front of the hotel for check-in/loading, don't park in the garage until you get a parking permit. There is no gym or pool at the hotel, but they do have passes for a commercial gym nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best services possible. We look forward to your future reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Amazing staff and clean rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and will likely return on our next trip to visit family in Chico. Breakfast is complimentary and menu is modern and wait staff is attentive. The elevator did get stuck but issue was quickly resolved. I recommend this property for families and couples.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor because we could take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. The next time you stay with us, let us know your room preference and we will attach permanent notes on your profile so that every time you stay with us we can put you in a room that is most comfortable to your needs. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a lovely refurbished old hotel right in the heart of downtown old Chico. It is walking distance to all the great restaurants, shops, lounges and dance clubs and has a friendly accomodating staff. The room includes a $10.00 voucher for breakfast in their comfortable redtaurant. I had the best eggs benedict I've ever eaten. Go to the Diamond and hang out with the Chico college kids downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel Diamond is a classy place where parents can find solace amongst a busy college town. It is centrally located to everything, has 1st class amenities and a friendly staff. The free breakfast menu and food is good and the surrounding areas hold fun activities. My son took us river floating on an extremely hot day. We had such an enjoyable time and it allowed us to laugh and bond!

Room Tip: 213 king 316 two double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Diamond . We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel, centrally located in the Chico Downtown area, perfect for visits to the university and with many options for food and entertainment within a stone's throw.
Room decor is of the old school variety, but neat, clean and not too crowded. The only slight negative is the layout of the bathroom in the room I had, with a small shower stall and a sink located outside of the bathroom. Their addition of a free drink and 10 dollar breakfast coupon encourage you to use the restaurant, which is generally good, one of the nicer options in Downtown Chico in general. Will be back.
Lack of a fitness center may be annoying to some, it does offer access to some of the best fitness facilities in Chico, but this will require you to drive quite a way from the hotel, so it's not ideal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.