We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel... But a disappointing room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond

Save Saved
You added Hotel Diamond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Chico
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel... But a disappointing room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

 My wife and I booked a room with a full bed through Expedia, which failed to mention the room was the size of a shoebox.  This became a problem when our 12 year old daughter came with us at the last minute, and the clerk informed us there wasn't enough room for a rollaway bed.

The place was sold out, so there were no other options on the property.  When we suggested we might find another hotel, we were told we would be hit with a cancellation fee.

Another hotel staffer helped me find a set of cushions we made up into a bed on the floor.  I got the bill today and saw we were charged an extra  $15, as if we had used a rollaway.

To top it off, the full bed in the room had a wooden headboard and footboard, making it impossible for me the sleep without curling up.  Anyway, it was a rough night for all.

I went to the Hotel Diamond's Website tonight and saw that the room is described as "petite" and "cozy."  I wish that information was provided to the third party booking sites.

Again,  it's a nice place, but be careful if you book a room at the lower end of the price spectrum.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear about your misfortune of receiving a small room and I'm sorry that we could not accommodate you better. We are a boutique hotel, which means that we only have 43 rooms. We are very popular during certain months due to our location and sell our very quickly. We usually recommend that you book about 2-4 months in advance. Also we have round the clock staff on hand to answer any and all questions to help make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    34
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
40
47
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Hotel Diamond is located right in downtown Chico and we were thinking it might be noisy, but it was very quite and very elegant. Our room was lovely, very beautifully decorated. The shower was a walk in, which was perfect for my husband, who is in a wheelchair. It was easy and fun to walk around downtown and we ate at Tres Hermanos, which was absolutely delicious!!!

Room Tip: Our room was very spacious and quiet, it was handicapped accessible, which probably added to the siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found our wheel-chair accessible rooms to be accommodating. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband & I stayed there while we moved our daughter into the university. It was a great location. Nice breakfast, comfortable beds, very nice staff. The only very slight negative was that the room was a bit small/crowed. Overall it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. It is our job to provide the best service possible. We are pleased that you had a very nice stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently stayed here when moving my Freshman son into Chico State. The whole experience from check in to check out was very nice. The room (even the smallest) is spacious and well appointed and the bathroom very nice as well. I needed a nice shower after carrying boxes in the 90 degree heat. You can park in the adjacent parking garage and walk everywhere. It was very quiet all evening, and I got a very restful night's sleep. I was also able to walk to the college to meet my son to walk downtown for dinner. I will definitely stay here again. Breakfast was perfect as was drinks in the lounge.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. This is a great place to stay if you have children attending the college and recommend signing up for our rewards program the next time you stay with us. It takes only a few moments and can record points per stay to get to gift cards for the restaurant, complementary upgrades, even a free night stay! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

All the staff were focused on providing quality service. The room was first-rate and quiet. I love downtown Chico and the Diamond is located in the heart of it. The free parking is in a garage immediately adjacent. Be careful with the placement of the parking permit! One day ours was not placed exactly where it should have been on the dashboard so we were ticketed ($29). We did not discover the ticket until after we left Chico so we could not learn any details or contest it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately because the garage is owned by the city and not our hotel the meter-maids tend to be on the prowl. Hopefully this will not happen in the future and feel free to ask any staff for help or questions. See you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carson city nev
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I ave stayed here many many times. They are very nice at front desk. Best hotel in Chico.
Very clean.Great Decore. Only thing u don't really get a good nite of quality sleep. It is always something. Garbage truck early or restaurant scrambling outside. Air conditioner loud. Elevator sound maid service in hallway
I stay here because it s the best in Chico and no bed bugs

Room Tip: The diamond suite is the best wooden floors french doors open to a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear about the quality of your sleep when with us. We have since then started putting complimentary ear plugs in the rooms and are willing to move you to a quieter room if availability allows. Hope to see you again in the future for a quieter stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Hotel Diamond is centrally situated and an elegant reminder of what hotels can be. Lovely surroundings and furnishings, excellent dining room and included extensive breakfast, great bar and bartenders, friendly and helpful staff....all this in the heart of Chico!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we always love to hear the amenities that make our guests the most happy and comfortable. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you very soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chico
#2 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.