We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They named this hotel right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond

Save Saved
You added Hotel Diamond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Chico
carson city nev
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“They named this hotel right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I ave stayed here many many times. They are very nice at front desk. Best hotel in Chico.
Very clean.Great Decore. Only thing u don't really get a good nite of quality sleep. It is always something. Garbage truck early or restaurant scrambling outside. Air conditioner loud. Elevator sound maid service in hallway
I stay here because it s the best in Chico and no bed bugs

Room Tip: The diamond suite is the best wooden floors french doors open to a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear about the quality of your sleep when with us. We have since then started putting complimentary ear plugs in the rooms and are willing to move you to a quieter room if availability allows. Hope to see you again in the future for a quieter stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    33
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
45
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Hotel Diamond is centrally situated and an elegant reminder of what hotels can be. Lovely surroundings and furnishings, excellent dining room and included extensive breakfast, great bar and bartenders, friendly and helpful staff....all this in the heart of Chico!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your great review, we always love to hear the amenities that make our guests the most happy and comfortable. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you very soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Perfect location and a beautiful historic restoration hotel with all modern amenities. Right in the middle of everything, good offsite parking, walkable to lots of shops, restaurants, parks, lovely college campus and historical attractions in this green leafy small town. Spacious rooms, extremely comfortable plush beds, elegant decor and very fairly priced for the quality and luxury of the stay. Only downside was poor bathroom lighting - harsh with overhead light.

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the back - very quiet and with two sides of room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we are very glad your enjoyed your stay with us! Since your stay in August, we have replaced all hotel lighting with energy saving light bulbs, that start off very dim and increase to normal wattage to help with the adjusting of your eyes to the light. I hope this will solve that problem for you and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights on my first visit to Chico. The hotel is beautiful. My room was comfy and I loved the Aveda products. Breakfast in the attached restaurant is included: eggs and pancakes to order as well as fresh fruit and oatmeal. Great location in the heart of downtown. I highly recommend the Thursday night market. The best produce I've ever seen!! Access to a health club is a mile + away. It has everything, including a spacious lap pool

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got the opportunity to experience the Thursday Night Farmer's Market. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawai`i
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just stayed 5 nights. Attentive, friendly and consistent service. Room and bathroom was spacious (standard king), clean and bright. High quality, useful room amenities. The hotel was sedate, and with the bed being very comfortable, I was afforded good night sleeps. No doubt I will stay here again when visiting Chino.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you'll have more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This renovated building is beautiful and in the heart of downtown. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and Chico State. Breakfast each morning is free and is wonderful... eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc. Staff is wonderful and the bed was super comfortable. Will stay here every time I go to Chico to visit my college sons.

Room Tip: I stayed in a delux room on the 3rd floor and slept very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and we hope to see you many more times in the future as we help to make your Chico experience the best we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a nice remodeled hotel and was a good value for the price. Its located right downtown so its easy to walk to everything. My only complaint was that the room was loud and the AC was a bit tricky to get to stay on. Other than that the service was great, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chico
#2 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.