We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel / Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond

Save Saved
You added Hotel Diamond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Chico
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel / Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My son and I went to Chico for summer orientation at Chico State. When we arrived after our 4 hour drive I checked into Hotel Diamond. My first impression was that this is going to be a great boutique hotel, the front desk (Mai) greeted me and explained everything about the hotel. My room was as cute as could be, I was thrilled. Unfortunately for my son, the plan for him to stay in on-campus housing for orientation was not as pleasant. I called the hotel and asked if there was a way we could accommodate him at the hotel? They (Hunter) immediately said they could move me to a double room, we came back to the hotel and switched into another lovely room. The best part about this hotel, is that whoever is working at the front desk can make things happen, they are given the authority and as a customer I really appreciate not being put on hold to "check". The next morning we went to breakfast, and again, was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant chef was cooking breakfast to order - also there were breads, cereals, fruit, juices and coffee. All this was included in the room price - no hot trays at Hotel Diamond. On last mention; while my son was off orientating at the school I went to the lounge and had another wonderful experience. This lounge isn't just for hotel guests, it has "locals" who come for their fantastic happy hour and again great service. My advice to you is book early and book often. Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Diamond, Johnnies, and Johnnies Lounge for a great stay.

Room Tip: If cost is the issue, the queen standard room is a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff also enjoys being able to accommodate your needs without having to go through multiple outlets to help make your stay as comfortable as possible. We offer so many fun and free amenities and it looks like you got the opportunity to enjoy a good amount of them. Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    33
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
45
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ELK GROVE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Helpful staff, even upgraded our room, a little pricey, but comfortable and great location. Food at Johnnies was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for time and positive review. It is our pleasure to provide the best service possible. We look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A great option to stay at when visiting kids attending Chico State. We have stayed at the Residence Inn and the Courtyard in Chico. Both are good options but Hotel Diamond is truly an upscale experience. Beds are very comfortable with upscale linens on the bed. Aveda products in the bathrooms. The hotel had the feel of an upscle San Francisco boutique hotel. The rooms are not much more expensive than the others mentioned and grant it the room was not a suite but it was a great option and bonus points for the free breakfast vouchers and the nice bar!

Room Tip: Our room did not face the street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hotel is perfect. I could walk to the home office, restaurants, Starbucks, and to the city square where it was nice to just sit and people watch. Rooms are clean. Breakfast is great, not like those feeding troughs at lesser hotels. Internet is fast and easy to hook up to.

Will stay hear again and each time I go to Chico.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed one night for business and were pleased with the atmosphere, the amenities and definitely the location. Everything was of the best quality from the bedding to the Aveda bath products. Beautifully decorated and true to the period. Modern elevators, air-conditioning - so do not worry - the place only looks like a very comfy museum. You will love it. The food in the hotel's restaurant (Johnny's) is pretty good. We chose to stay in the lounge and try all of the tasty appetizers. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is free parking in the garage next door and loads of fun shops and eateries are within a short walking distance. Super location and easy to get to. Definitely a must if you visit Chico. Remember that the place is a century old so a standard room can be on the small side, but still well appointed and comfortable with all the goodies. Very tall ceilings and that helps. Splurge for a suite!

Room Tip: The rooms we had on the side away from the boulevard were fine. Just remember it is a historic build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Traveled to Chico to tour the college with our daughter. Our stay at Hotel Diamond was great. Loved the old world charm of the hotel without the old world stuffiness. Rooms where nicely updated with nothing lacking. We especially appreciated the premium bedding. Hotel was steps away from downtown and a quick walk to the campus. Parking looked to be a premium in the area so having free designated parking was a plus. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay a second night as they where all booked up. We had to stay at a lesser Motel for the second evening which was a HUGE let down after our stay at the Diamond.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room was above the bar. We could hear live music earlier in the evening but didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. Unfortunately, due to the fact that we are a boutique hotel, we only have 43 rooms on site and do tend to sell out fast during our more popular months. We recommend booking abour 2-4 months in advance. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is my 4th stay at this hotel and it continues to excel. It is a very popular hotel, so rarely are there last minute reservations available and you are lucky to check in prior to 2 o'clock in the afternoon.
The restaurant and lounge in the hotel is Johnnie's and serves the hotel well, although there are several very good non-hotel restaurants, with much better reviews, in the area.
Peet's coffee is a 4 block walk from the hotel and is my favorite coffee spot.
The front desk staff of Hotel Diamond are very professional and pleasant to work with.
Breakfast is included with your hotel lodging, making the price quite economical.
A stroll through Bidwell Park is a must for every visit to Chico.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the elevator and ice machine, you will enjoy the hotel more without the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.