We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service - Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Chico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Chico to your Saves list
Residence Inn Chico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2485 Carmichael Drive, Chico, CA 95928   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Service - Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is my hotel of choice when I visit Chico. The rooms include a living room with a full kitchen, and a separate bedroom with bathroom. They are spacious, well equipped, and clean. The hotel recently upgraded to LCD TV systems and service to HD. Each room has two TV's; one in the living area and one in the bedroom. I reported a problem with the TV on my last stay and it was promptly corrected. The hotel is generally quite and peaceful. I'm a light sleeper, so I ask for a room that does not face the freeway. Breakfast is included and always offers something warm to eat, like eggs and sausage, in addition to the normal fruits and cereals. They also serve complimentary snacks most week nights between 5:00 and 6:30, which some might be satisfied with for dinner.

For me, the hotel offers a high quality place to call home while visiting Chico and considering the price includes a nice breakfast, it's a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
16
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. We had a 1 bedroom suite that was very nice. Everything is nice and new and clean. Comfy bed. We had a small kitchen and a living room. It was perfect, loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Options in Chico are somewhat limited when taking your child to or visiting them at Chico State. This is one of the nicest options. The hotel is clean and offers the normal mix of Residence Inn rooms . We have stayed in the 2 bedroom suite, the one bedroom and the studio. I actually prefer the studio to the one bedroon. The studio feels more spacious where the one bedroom due to the large doors and wall angles feels less spacious.
The hotel is "L" shaped. I always ask for a room on the front of the "L". The back can sometimes be noisy due to highway 99 running right behind the hotel. The only complaint my wife has is the hairdryer which is one of those attached to the wall where you have to hold down a button for it to run. We hoped hey had been replaced since last year but no luck. Next time she will remember to bring her own.
The TV's in the hotel which were really old have been replaced with flat screen LCD's. No high def signal but still better than what was there in the past.
We have stayed at the Courtyard as well but prefer the Residence Inn. I walked through the Oxford Suites and while the property seems nice the halls seemed dark and looking into the rooms, the sink was right there behind the entrance door which seemed a bit odd. The Hotel Diamond downtown looks nice but does not appear to be as convenient for loading and unloading the car particularly when you are making multiple runs to set up a dorm room or an apartment for a student.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here with my husband and two teen girls. We had a two bedroom suite which was clean, spacious and bright. The kitchen is nice though we didn't use it. The breakfast was good and the location is convenient. The staff was friendly and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed at the hotel as part of a group of family in town for a wedding. My mom booked a number of rooms for family, and I stayed in a suite with my parents.

Reservations were made months in advance, but when my mom called to check on her reservation, the hotel told her that it had no record. She eventually gave up on the staff person she was talking to and called back the next day. This time around, the hotel was able to find her reservation.

Then, upon check-in, my mom left a specific request with the front desk that they were to give me a key to her room when I arrived. Upon arrival, the woman at the front desk said that she had no record of this request and that there was nothing that she could do. She said that she had just came on shift and didn't know what happened before her. I argued with her for several minutes and then suddenly her tuned changed. I'm not sure what it was, but my guess is that she suddenly found the notation on the account.

The front desk staff continued to show its incompetence the rest of the weekend, and when anybody else tried to check in, they were bewildered, and the other guests would have to call my mom, who would then have to call the hotel to straighten it out.

Seriously, I would think that a hotel, which by nature often caters to large groups of people, should have been able to handle this situation better. It was quite disturbing to be in the middle of the wedding rehearsal or preparing for the ceremony, only to be interrupted by the hotel not knowing what to do. The staff required an immense amount of hand holding.

The hotel itself was mediocre. The room was blah, but generally clean. The fridge in the suite made a lot of strange noises as did one of the bathrooms. These buzzing sounds kept us up for hours during the night.

This hotel is mediocre at best, but in combination with the incompetent staff, I would not recommend it for future stays, at least not a stay that requires anything from the staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Place was great to stay. Typical Residence Inn with normal RI amenities. Staff was excellent. My group of 5 needed to leave by 5:30 the next morning, but breakfast didn't start until 6:00. They started breakfast early at 5:00 for us! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

It's the perfect place to take kids.
Mine swam in the outdoor pool til they pruned up.
Spacious comfortable living room area.
Kitchenette adequate to cook a reasonable family dinner.
Lovely large variety of choices in the complimentary breakfast bar.
My one complaint was our nonsmoking room smelled like an ashtray.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chico

Address: 2485 Carmichael Drive, Chico, CA 95928
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
#4 Family Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chico 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chico Hotel Chico
Chico Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.