We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, attractive decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chada Thai Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chada Thai Cuisine
117-B W. 2nd Street (downstairs), Chico, CA
530-342-7121
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 278 Restaurants in Chico
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Good food, attractive decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Food was great, service marginal, very attractive, nice for a date. Located in central area, close to bars shopping. We had appetizer sampler and a curry and seafood dish.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
“Awesome food, scary waitresses!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The food is always amazing. Love, love, love! My husband and I are both professional chefs and he worked at a family owned Thai restaurant on the east coast for 3 years. Chada is the only Thai place we will go to in this area! The food is well seasoned an fresh!

HOWEVER, the owner's kid runs around and bothers people (he can often be seen roaming thee streets of downtown around the restaurant!) and hangs on the tables and chairs. Basically, the restaurant is his personal play room. As annoying as he is, I feel sorry for him.
The man (husband? owner?) is always very nice, but the woman (wife/owner?) is always very rude, condescending, and completely uninterested in her work and customers. We have been there when they seem to have a couple of high school or college girls as waitresses, but they are oddly even worse. Inattentive and just, young.
Chada: So many customers love you, but you need to hire a babysitter and take some Prozac or hire a friendly waitress. Thai culture or not, even though your prices are relatively good, NO ONE wants to to eat lunch or dinner with an annoying child and his cranky mother.
Also, who the heck closes in the middle of the day on a Saturday? You're running a restaurant, not a bank. And you need to open ON TIME when you DO open. Honestly, if it wasn't for your good food, you would have tanked a long time ago. Don't you want to make the experience good for everyone who comes in, every time?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The only waitress working there is absolutely mean. She dropped off the menues after 10 minutes, wipped the table and left it wet and sticky. The rest of the experiences was basically the same, seems like they were making us a favor instead serving customers. Food no big deal, or maybe was good? I don't know, I am not coming back to be treated like cr*p

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food in a cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had dinner st Chada Thai tonight. The food was amazing. I had the Basil duck, my husband had the Panang curry and my daughter had the coconut soup. Everything was delicious. Our food came out quickly, and the cute little boy who's mother owns the restaurant was great fun. This is a family runned business and it shows. As a Chico local I can say without a doubt that this is my favorite Thai restaurant in town.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

First of all.... HORRIBLE SERVICE! Wife and I got there on a semi busy night. Only one waitress from which we never got return service after we received our food. No water refills or questions of how the food was. When we asked about how spicy their levels of spice were, she said "mild is mild, medium is medium, and hot is hot" in a very condescending manner. Well, a jalapeno can be mild to one person while another person can think its hot. We also waited so long that we had to go up to the counter to pay for our bill. I knew this was not customary in this restaurant as the waitress brought checks to other customers.

Second.... the food. It came out after a very long 45 minutes. And that 45 minutes grew even longer after we watched other customers that came after us get their food first. Some of the food wasnt all that bad and that is the only reason we gave the restaurant a two. Had soup and two plates with rice. Soup had good broth with fresh mushrooms and tofu. The shrimp plate had good flavor but only had five shrimp in it. Not worth the 12.95 we paid for it. The other plate was a chicken and vegetable with peanut sauce. This plate was not even close to being worthy of being called thai cuisine. The vegetables were cold, the peanut sauce was luke warm and tasted as if it was made a week ago, microwaved and poured over the platter of food, and their idea of spicy on this dish was to pour a bunch of crushed red pepper flakes on top (the exact same flakes that you get when you order a pizza)

Overall a very subpar experience.

Oh, and by the way, watch out for the owners' young unsupervised kid that throws his ball at customer's heads and goes up to random customers annoying them with questions about how the food was and getting mad if you didnt like it. My wife was extremely happy the creepy kid didnt come up to her.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chada Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Chada Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chada Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.