We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 5th Street Steak House

5th Street Steak House
345 West 5th Street, Chico, CA 95928
530-891-6328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 280 Restaurants in Chico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a locally owned neighborhood restaurant in Downtown Chico. We feature USDA Prime Beef, market fresh seafood, homemade desserts, extensive wine list and full bar. We have a banquet facility available for private events as well as outdoor patio seating (weather permitting).Please call us for more information or visit our website or facebook page.
Redding, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent place for a prime steak and some good strong pours from the bar. The best time that you can have here is to go to the bar, relax for an hour or two having some nice cocktails and/or wine, and then head to the dining room for some great food. The bartenders are friendly and pour good, strong drinks (just as a drink should be!) and the food is top quality served in large portions. The NY Steak is my favorite cooked medium rare. Try the barbecue spiced prawns on the side...excellent. Wife usually has the pecan crusted halibut and she raves about it.

The crowd here runs from students to seniors to the weekend Harley riding crowd (count me as one of those) and the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. 5th Street is a winner. Give it a try and you will agree.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    47
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you want a steak in Chico.... this is the place.. Eric Freedle ( currently manager of Chico's fine Sierra Nevada restaurant ) was formerly the manager here and has set a standard of excellence wherever he is...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Rather eat a steak at home!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My steak was tough and fatty. Why buy a steak and eat out when I could have a superior steak at home for a fraction of the cost. Service was good as usual. Do you think they are cutting back by serving poorer quality meat? Everyone else is. Awake Chico!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldsboro, Pa.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“By any other name.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a great traditional Steak House. Everything was handled in a friendly but professional manner. The bartender came to the table to insure our cocktails were done right, he was successful. The steaks were seasoned and prepared properly. Two orders of the seafood special were ordered and were a success. We requested a table on the patio. When in the Chico area stop at this restaurant. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalia, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have recently dined at 5th St Steakhouse. The food is fabulous and the atmosphere is casual. It gets a bit loud in the building, but in the summer the patio is great. The prices are not reasonable for the establishment. 3 of us dined, 1 bottle of wine, almost $300.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5th Street Steak House also viewed

 

Been to 5th Street Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5th Street Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.