We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't afford to travel out of country, then eat at Roots.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roots Catering of Chico

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roots Catering of Chico
3221 Esplanade, Chico, CA 95973
(530)680-7980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 277 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't afford to travel out of country, then eat at Roots.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Tired of the same old breakfast and lunch selections then Roots is a great restaurant if you want something a little different that represents foods and spices from around the world. The food is locally grown in the Chico area. Servers are friendly and helpful if you can't make up your mind, which is often my only problem when eating there. I have enjoyed many breakfasts and lunches there and this is a favorite place to take out of town guests.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bad food that left a bad taste in our mouths!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I would never say a negative word about a business unless I had been thoroughly thrashed by it. Food is an important thing when you are travelling. And this is a new restaurant in my home-town of Chico, California. And when people visit this town, I am sure that they will find tons of great restaurants to choose from. BUT Roots Catering is just a fancy name for a D+ scale food joint who is trying to pass themselves off as an "international taste". Their menu can send you reeling with so much "international" titles over the descriptions. But don't be fooled. The food is 3rd rate at best, with a $15 a plate price tag, and it will leave you or you will leave it hungry and broke!! Service is lacking, and while they do have a bottle of fancy smelling and looking sauces to choose from, it ends there. The cook is obviously over confident that his food is good enough to advertise it as exquisite. But exquisite it is not. Two thumbs down!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quality, selection has slipped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This used to be a great breakfast place, with lots of interesting choices. Now it's just variations on the same theme. A so-so breakfast will set you back $10. The lunch menu is even less varied. I had high hopes for this place when they opened--it's clean and spacious and the new businesses around it are worth a visit. However, they need to re-vamp the menu and look at pricing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of Chico's best breakfast places and fairly new. Unique breakfast menu all prepared with locally grown food ... from Lundberg Farms to the Orland Creamery. Service was excellent, with Matt as a very gracious and attentive server, who even open the door for us when we left. This was my first time here for a birthday breakfast and enjoyed the West Coast Sunrise-California breakfast. Delicious serving of Lundberg brown rice and egg cake covered with local veggies and a sweet and savory cilantro vinaigrette. Too much food, but will certainly enjoy the leftovers at home. Menu choices are from around the world. But if you want you can just get the traditional American breakfast, you can... but why would you want? The name Roots Catering doesn't really say it's a restaurant, so I had passed this place up many times. It's in an area now being developed with a variety of unique food options, including the nearby Wine Time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I enjoy Sunday brunch with my mom and daughters every Sunday, so we have eaten at several places in Chico. Roots Catering is unique and has great food. Their dishes are from around the world and have great variety. It was a very enjoyable meal. From egg dishes to crepes this is a must try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Catering of Chico also viewed

 

Been to Roots Catering of Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots Catering of Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.