We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine Selection-Tasty Small Plates-Very Nice Ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Time

Wine Time
26 Lost Dutchman Dr., Chico, CA 95973
(530) 899-9250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 243 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Wine Selection-Tasty Small Plates-Very Nice Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The moment you walk up to the entrance you know you are in the right place for a beautiful evening. Once you're in the elegant (elegant? How can a barn be elegant? You'll have to see for yourself!) barn you'll more than likely be greeted with a smile by a friendly server or one of the gracious and warm owners. Their beer on tap selection is very nice for those who prefer beer over wine. They have live music twice a month on Saturdays and the bands are always well worth the listening though not so overpowering that you can't have a conversation.
Wine Time is my favorite restaurant/bar in Chico!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gem in North Chico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are looking for a wonderful ambience (both inside or out on the patio), small plates and large wine selection, this is your place. It's not on the "main" street of the Esplanade. But if you drive back through a parking lot you will find a beautifully remodeled old barn with large doors to welcome you. Inside you'll find a tastefully artsy décor and professional, friendly wait staff. Are you looking for red wine? White? Champagne? Would you prefer a small or large pour? Perhaps you'd like a taste before you order. Care for a small plate? Are you gluten free? Would you like to sit on the patio? They've got all the bases covered. If you stay for dessert, try the dark chocolate chipoltle truffle. There is not another restaurant like it in Chico. And it is certainly a welcome addition to the North end of town. It's not a place for children. It is a great place to meet friends, have date night or book club. Kendra is an exceptionally friendly and professional server. She's one of our favorites.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chico's Chunk of Napa Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

When I first walked in to Wine Time, I thought I was in a lovely winery in Napa Valley. The decor is just lovely. However, the food and wine are what continue to draw people to this out-of-the-way location in north Chico...it's always been busy when I've been there but the service is good. What's remarkable (in addition to the wine list) are the creative and delicious small plates made from fresh, seasonal ingredients. The puff pastry brie, flatbreads, jerk chicken, meat and cheese plate, and raviolis are just a few of the delicious appetizers there. It's a bit on the pricey side, but it's always a treat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful effort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Out of the mainstream of Chico, I was pleasantly surprised to discover this place. Great renovation on an old barn. Wonderful spacious ambience with the outdoors brought in. Nice patio seating. Eclectic low keyed wine selections at reasonable price. The tapas menu was a bit limited but the food was tasty and well presented. The owners were very pleasant. A yin type of place, the restaurant was filled mostly with women. Don't expect to quench your beer taste guys. Lovely new place for Chico. I expect more to come at this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm not a wine drinker, but my wife is. My co-worker told me about this place and I took my wife there for her birthday. So, this review is based on her.

Basically, the love the ambiance, the structural setting, the outside patio, and the wine. They sell local vineyard special. The food is still going thru changes. right now, it is very light food which is very good. So, once they get there food menu a little "heavier", they will the get the 5 rating.

The place (as of 4-4-13) is very new (1 year old). It looks new. I like the crowd (us over 40 people) with no young 20 somethings.

A great find and we will be coming back again and again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Time also viewed

 

Been to Wine Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.