We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grateful Bed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grateful Bed
Save
You added The Grateful Bed to your Saves list
1462 Arcadian Ave, Chico, CA 95926   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Chico B&B and Inns
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely B & B. The innkeepers, Rick and Carol, payed attention to every detail which made our stay such an enjoyable retreat. They were warm and helpful, and a delightful couple. Everything was excellent...the antiques, garden, Rose room, ambiance, linens. Everything was immaculate. The breakfast was even more amazing, both the quality and presentation...so fresh and yummy. My husband was especially thrilled that are room included free Internet (which was high speed and actually worked, unlike many high end hotels!) I highly recommend The Grateful Bed!

Room Tip: The Rose Room had lots of windows and good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for one night and found our hosts Rick and Carol both charming and friendly. The Grateful Bed is a wonderful acknowledgement of the past but somehow brought up to date with great attention to detail and authenticity. We enjoyed a memorable breakfast both in terms of the quality of the food and the bonhomie of the hosts and fellow guests!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved The Grateful Bed even though we just stayed one night. Would recommend to anyone. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had. Cleanliness and hospitality were excellent. We would have enjoyed a second night but were in a hurry to get to Lake Tahoe

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We found the Gratful Bed by chance after doing a quick internet search on our cell phones while passing by Chico. What a find! The house is full of charm and character, as were the hosts, Rick and Carol, were gracious. To top off our stay, the breakfast was sensational. Hopefully we'll get the chance to stay again.

Rob and Linda Reid

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to revisit the Grateful Bed in Chico. This BnB will make your day!! And night!! And, what the heck...your breakfast too!! Rick and Carol have owned the GB for about 15 years now and they are wonderful hosts. We stayed about five years ago and when we found we were going to be in the neighborhood again the GB came to mind instantly. All the rooms contain period furniture and the reading room is wonderful as you sit and sip some afternoon wine and read your book (or Kindle). If you have never been to the GB give yourself a gift...STAY!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently traveled to Chico to drop our son off at college. We chose the Grateful Bed due to it's close walking distance to Chico State as well as high reviews for cleanliness.

Our drive was tiring with construction on I-5 and many summer travelers on the road. The hot weather also wore us out. While in Chico, we had to go to many college offices to handle issues. 16,000 students were flooding back to campus. We competed with them for used furniture, a bike and other necessities.

What a blessing to have Carol and Rick Turner at The Grateful Bed waiting to offer us hospitality at the end of each day! A cold beverage and a beautiful parlor and garden were available. The rooms are gorgeously decorated in a comfortable style with interesting antiques.

Our room was very comfortable. We stayed in the Suite of Dreams. A king size 4 poster bed was flanked by 2 comfy reading chairs. The bathroom was spacious and features a deep claw foot tub and separate shower. The bed was super comfy and would have let us snooze the day away if we weren't sniffing delicious cooking odors each morning.

Breakfast. What can I say about breakfast? "Delicious" doesn't do it justice. Served by candlelight at community tables, it is a real treat. While there, we had many varieties of fresh fruit, probably plucked from Chico's ample Farmer's Market. We were served a baked peach topped by a gingersnap based filling. We also had a hot Dutch Baby that was to die for. A mango salsa souffle was another highlight.

Hospitality was outstanding. Carol and Rick provide lots of tips on Chico's local offerings. They run a first class, clean and attractive operation. I highly recommend this B&B. We plan to stay here again!

Room Tip: The room photos on the Inn's website are accurate. Choose for the size of the bed/room you desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in the Creak Bed room--comfortably furnished, huge bathroom, fun antiques (but not so many that there's no room for your own stuff). The hosts, Rick & Carol, were terrific. They recommended a neighborhood restaurant (Red Tavern) for dinner, which was very good. They prepared a delicious breakfast and helped all the guests chat, but were not over-bearing. All the other guests were making return visits--I can see why.

Room Tip: Creak Bed room was a comfortable size, with a huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grateful Bed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grateful Bed

Address: 1462 Arcadian Ave, Chico, CA 95926
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1905 Victorian Inn located in the tree-lined Avenues of Chico. Four detailed bed chambers, each with a private bathroom. Full candlelight breakfast served daily in our dining room. Free wireless internet access for your computer. Free parking. Convenient to downtown, CSUC & Enloe Hospital. Experience Chico hospitality at its best. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grateful Bed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.