We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pour House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pour House
855 East Avenue, Ste 270, Chico, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 277 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chico, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have eaten at the Pour house several times in the past year. The food is very good, but he service at our last visit was less than mediocre. The waiter told us he wanted our food order the first time he came to our table. He did not even ask us for our drink order. He was clearly in a very big hurry and lacked basic manners. I would still recommend it based on good food and nice atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Might be better now.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Went right after it opened. Slow service, so-so food, and a sip of wine called a glass. Have heard it has improved since then.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great place to visit. Food, atmosphere, everything was great.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

They offer sweet potato fries in place of the regular fries. The burgers are wonderful and they have more "formal" entrees as well. A lively place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not a chain - and that's a good thing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We happened upon the Pour House in dire need of a good dinner and they delivered! Their menu proudly proclaims that they are not a chain, they are locally owned and cater to "local" appetites. We tried deep fried artichoke hearts for the first time; they arrived piping hot and were delicious! I had my doubts at first, but I loved 'em. I had a burger called the "Black and Bleu" which was an Angus burger with bleu cheese. It was perfectly cooked the way I like my burgers (medium rare) and all ingredients were fresh tasting. Our waiter, Joshua, was attentive without being obnoxious. The restaurant's decor, right down to the restrooms, is cool as well. The only thing I didn't care for is that there was a little cupboard situated in the main dining room that the waiters used to fill sauce cups, salad dressing, etc. At one point a waiter dropped a bottle containing what looked like ranch dressing and it spilled all over the floor. Kinda awkward IMO. They should try and move that station to the back of the house. Otherwise, we had a perfectly enjoyable meal and would visit again if given the opportunity.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pour House also viewed

 

Been to Pour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pour House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.