We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good honest Clean New Age kind of Breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Thunder

Morning Thunder
Vallombrosa av, Chico, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 243 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nederland, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A good honest Clean New Age kind of Breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The thing that stands out for me is the coffee. It was very good. As for the rest , the food is Healthy , Clean , tasty , nutritious , and well prepared. The service is quite good and the atmosphere is nice. It is also a good place to go if you are with a larger group of people . They will get you served and purring pretty quickly. A good place to go for breakfast with the family or with friends. Not so much the place to go if you want to kick back with your paper and some coffee. Is is a good place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Chico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is the quintessential Chico breakfast spot if you're looking for a full breakfast. Casual, laid back vibe, food is consistently good and fresh. Get the French Roast coffee. Portions are huge - plan on leftovers or share a plate. But the best part of Morning Thunder is the people. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the clientele is a diverse. Good spot for people watching and if you've spent much time in a Chico you're bound to run into familiar faces. It can get crowded, but the wait is seldom long and you can hang out and read the paper in the chairs out front. Or go early - you seldom have to wait before 8 am. There's also plenty of free parking, but why not ride your bike, get a paper and have a relaxed morning? Just a classic Chico place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Chico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Of course I did not visit every restaurant in Chico to decide this was the best in town, but I did ask two instructors at my meeting about places to eat breakfast in Chico. The both named two, and I went to both. They were both above average, but Morning Thunder wins out by a nose.

The food was exquisite. I had something I believe was called a California Omelet. The taste of course was far above average, but it was the exceptional preparation that set this meal apart from the norm. The omelet contained cream cheese and sprouts, both of which can be problematic in a dish. But not at Morning Thunder. The omelet was able to be cut with a fork without spilling sprouts out the sides of the meal onto the plate. The cream cheese was expertly engineered (best term I can come up with) to provide taste and pliability without a mess. I was impressed with the way the meal just worked.

And then there was the coffee. It had a coffee shop flavor and a restaurant (not coffee shop) price. There was even a choice of type: regular or French. I chose the French roast and I was not disappointed. It was the darker, more flavorful choice.

Even the bread here was extraordinary. Not simple toast, but it was either a garlic bread or it had a garlic butter spread on top.

The servers seemed exceptionally well-trained. They even had a dedicated beverage refresher that roamed the restaurant refilling drinks.

This place went way beyond the norm in every aspect of the meal. The only very slight downer was the ambience. It was chrome and plastic, very reminiscent of the 50's style found along Route 66. It is not a warm and fuzzy feeling, but due to the friendliness of the servers, it was not unpleasant either.

If my travels bring me back to Chico, I will definitely come back to Morning Thunder.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weed, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Run Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very cute 50's style diner.
The food is all homemade and the owner does specialty cooking. Her children help serve and run it.
I had wonderful Eggs Benedict and my husband had the unusual, but very good, bacon and cheese taco.
This is a very friendly café with delicious food. I'll come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“The Restaurant that makes me want to go back to Chico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a GREAT place for breakfast. We arrived on Sunday morning and thought the wait would be outrageous. But, this place is so well run and so efficient, the wait was nothing. The food was wonderful, the smoothies are truly an experience with lots of fresh flavor. The wait staff is attentive with water, coffee, and condiments. The food arrives hot, made to order and with a definite smile and friendly attitude. The place is filled with families, singles and everything in between. What a great meal, very casual, hometown kind of place, yet the menu includes healthy options as well as great biscuits and gravy. This is a don't miss kind of place if you like REAL Breakfast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Thunder also viewed

 

Been to Morning Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.