We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in Chico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Thunder

Morning Thunder
Vallombrosa av, Chico, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 277 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cody
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Chico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Of course I did not visit every restaurant in Chico to decide this was the best in town, but I did ask two instructors at my meeting about places to eat breakfast in Chico. The both named two, and I went to both. They were both above average, but Morning Thunder wins out by a nose.

The food was exquisite. I had something I believe was called a California Omelet. The taste of course was far above average, but it was the exceptional preparation that set this meal apart from the norm. The omelet contained cream cheese and sprouts, both of which can be problematic in a dish. But not at Morning Thunder. The omelet was able to be cut with a fork without spilling sprouts out the sides of the meal onto the plate. The cream cheese was expertly engineered (best term I can come up with) to provide taste and pliability without a mess. I was impressed with the way the meal just worked.

And then there was the coffee. It had a coffee shop flavor and a restaurant (not coffee shop) price. There was even a choice of type: regular or French. I chose the French roast and I was not disappointed. It was the darker, more flavorful choice.

Even the bread here was extraordinary. Not simple toast, but it was either a garlic bread or it had a garlic butter spread on top.

The servers seemed exceptionally well-trained. They even had a dedicated beverage refresher that roamed the restaurant refilling drinks.

This place went way beyond the norm in every aspect of the meal. The only very slight downer was the ambience. It was chrome and plastic, very reminiscent of the 50's style found along Route 66. It is not a warm and fuzzy feeling, but due to the friendliness of the servers, it was not unpleasant either.

If my travels bring me back to Chico, I will definitely come back to Morning Thunder.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weed, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Run Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very cute 50's style diner.
The food is all homemade and the owner does specialty cooking. Her children help serve and run it.
I had wonderful Eggs Benedict and my husband had the unusual, but very good, bacon and cheese taco.
This is a very friendly café with delicious food. I'll come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter Creek, California
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“The Restaurant that makes me want to go back to Chico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a GREAT place for breakfast. We arrived on Sunday morning and thought the wait would be outrageous. But, this place is so well run and so efficient, the wait was nothing. The food was wonderful, the smoothies are truly an experience with lots of fresh flavor. The wait staff is attentive with water, coffee, and condiments. The food arrives hot, made to order and with a definite smile and friendly attitude. The place is filled with families, singles and everything in between. What a great meal, very casual, hometown kind of place, yet the menu includes healthy options as well as great biscuits and gravy. This is a don't miss kind of place if you like REAL Breakfast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So worth checking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming here for years, and have never been disapointed. We would go more often but they close at two, and there is always a wait as the restaurant is not very big. But so worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hands down, best breakfast in Chico.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Morning Thunder IS the reigning champion of breakfast spots in Chico, and that is really saying something considering we have several great breakfast venues. What makes it the best you ask? First, the staff; friendly, local and fun. They actually want you to have a great experience. Second; food quality. The bacon is amazing, and their unique Veggie-maters are not just healthy, but quite tasty! Everything on the menu is quality, and made with care....and you get A LOT of food for your dollar. Morning Thunder is right across the street from Bidwell park, close to downtown and the farmers market on Saturday, They have an outdoor seating area too that is relaxing. On the weekends, expect a short wait, but always worth it, and their front yard is like sitting in your own, except they likely have a better view!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Thunder also viewed

 

Been to Morning Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Thunder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.