We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Thai in Downtown Chico” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Basil

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Basil
121 Broadway St, Chico, CA 95928
530-343-6843
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 280 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Decent Thai in Downtown Chico”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited this place in early October. It's fairly small and unpretentious, located in Downtown Chico very close to the Chico State campus. Parking can be a challenge depending on the day and time. We tried to go there for lunch, but they are only open for Dinner on Saturdays.
We had 2 versions of Pad Thai, one with Shrimp, one with Chicken. The shrimp version came with 4 decent sized shrimp for $12. The chicken Pad Thai was $10. Both tasted very good, but was hoping for more shrimp (but in hindsight, seems reasonable for that price).
We also tried the Thai Sweet and sour Chicken. Was good, with plenty of chicken, bell peppers, pineapple, and some kind of melon ...but the chicken was a little overcooked/dry.
Overall, if you have a hankering for Thai food, this place will fit the bill; everything was good, but nothing was outstanding. There are many other restaurant choices located close that I like better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Consistently Good, Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our group eats here monthly before meetings. Service is cheerful, prompt and always delicious. Thai teas and coffees.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Hot and Sour Soup is Their Secret Weapon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thia Basil lies in the heart of downtown Chico. A modest exterior and interior, but don't let the decor fool you!

Thai Basil serves the usual complete Thai menu along with a handful of beers to complement it.

We recently discovered one of the best dishes we have had in a long time - their Hot and Sour Soup with vegetables and extra shrimp added.

On a recent visit we, of course, started with it. Like all Thai food - you can select the level of "heat" you wish - mild, medium or hot. With the Hot and Sour Soup - we have found that mild is hot enough. Unlike most Hot and Sour soups that have a sort of thick consistency, Thai Basil's version is a true broth-based edition - and it is simply delicious! We add extra vegetables and then shrimp to it, making it almost a stew by the time it got to us. Wow!

We have had several of their other classic dishes, including red and green curry dishes - I had a green curry dish with sauted lamb in it the other night while my wife had a sauted vegetable dish with chicken. Both truly scrumptious! Their Spring rolls and rice dishes easily pass the test as well.

We enjoy the Hot and Sour Soup so much we have started ordering it for take-out as well - the other night we even served it to guests as a first course and they were just as dazzled by it as we have been!

So now the secret is out...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“All good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great place, recommended by locals so we looked forward to the experience, excellent wait staff, even on a busy night they were attentive to a group of lingerers who didn't mean to show up late for the reservation but did. Group had a variety of entrees that we shared and it was all good. Wish I lived local so I could go whenever I wanted.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.