We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monks Wine Bar

Monks Wine Bar
128 W 2nd S, Chico, CA 95928
(530) 343-3408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 277 Restaurants in Chico
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I came here while at school and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and drinks. The Italian food was super and freshly made to order. When i am in Chico again I will go back

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Drink and eat here often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Best wine and food restaurant in Chico! I eat here at least once a month.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“oasis among college bars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great menu of small plates, very nice beer and wine selection. Entrees didn't seem that exciting so we just ordered small plates. Good value.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great surprise, and an amazing meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I was so surprised to find a restaurant of this quality subdued on a side street in downtown Chico. My dinner was so amazing, I went back again the next afternoon before we left town. Everything fresh, I had a homemade pasta that I can still remember. The wine pairing is fun and selection was very nice. I can not wait until my next trip to Chico!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BEST Restaurants in Chico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We first visited Monks about 6 months ago and have been back about every week since. The service is fantastic and the food is so good I am without words to adequately describe it. My husband said the Maui Maui he had on Friday was the best he has ever had. The atmosphere is romantic and the staff is so knowledgeable about wine it is insane. We LOVE this place I cannot beleive it is not ranked higher. It is definitely one of the top 5 places to eat in Chico.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monks Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Monks Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monks Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.