We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room in the Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn
306 Main Street, Chester, CA 96020   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chester
Redding, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Room in the Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Large spacious rooms with plenty of space for wet gear, whether it be fishing or winter sports. Clean and quiet rooms, friendly staff, hot breakfast choices (waffles and biscuits/gravy). Great location for all your outdoor activites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review this hotel. We try very hard to please our guests, and I'm glad that it shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    96
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
101
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Everything was right about this hotel. It had large somfortable rooms with more TV channels than an ordinary hotel. Little things like providing two luggage racks showed that the management is really trying to please. The rooms were very quiet and plush.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for giving us such a great rating! We do try very hard to please all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It's clean, it's comfortable, everything works, the front desk and housekeeping are good. The bed is a little tired and they could do with a little more imagination for their breakfast offerings, but it gets the job done. They could also turn up the temp on the outdoor spa, but that isn't a deal-killer either.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on tripadvisor. We appreciate your good rating and hope that you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived here just before midnight on Friday night, May 24, 2013. The check in was very quick. Since I am a diamond elite Best Western member, I received a free bottle of water and two cookies upon check in. The room assigned to us was clean, the king bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water while taking a shower in the morning. The complimentary breakfast was average, but there was enough food to make you full until lunchtime. The woman who oversaw the breakfast area was very friendly and professional. Though the breakfast area was supposed to close at 9:00 a.m., she made sure that everyone had all the food they wanted at 9:15 a.m. before she started to put the food away. The check out took less than two minutes. In the evening, I realized that I had left a small bottle of Nexxus Therappe shampoo, and a brand new tube of Roffler Protein 35 conditioner in the bathroom of this property. I waited a couple days until I arrived home to call the Best Western Rose Quartz Inn to have them mail me these two items, using the credit card I had used to pay my hotel bill to cover the shipping charges. The gentleman who answered the telephone when I called told me that it is the policy of housekeeping to throw away any toiletries or shampoo found in the bathroom. He said he would check with housekeeping, and give me a telephone call back whether my two items were located or not. Unfortunately, it has been a week since I telephoned the Best Western Rose Quartz Inn, and nobody called me back with regard to my shampoo and conditioner. The moral of this story is to make sure you carefully check your room for all your items before leaving this hotel. To be clear, read the TripAdvisor review below dated December 9, 2012 regarding an i-Pad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your compliments. Our hotel takes pride in our quickness, cleanliness, and friendliness. I am happy that our efficiency showed!
I would like to confirm that our hotel does have a policy of tossing any sort of toiletries like shampoo, conditioner, bar soap, and body wash. Until recently, we have never had a call to return such items, and they tend to be messy. We do however keep anything else left if the rooms up to 1 month after the guests stay, and we call the guest immediately if the guest has left a valuable item, such as a tablet, e-reader, or phone.
On the topic of the missing I-pad from one of the previous comments, I can guarantee that our hotel has not had such an issue before or after that incident.
I apologize that our policy has inconvenienced you. Please, give us another chance to make your stay here perfect! We would love to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for two days during Memorial day holiday. Nice hotel, with good continental breakfast. Very clean
professionally maintained. Rooms are clean, nice beds, lcd tv and host of others.

Three things are not good.

1. We got room # 214. When we entered the room, everything looked good, but when you opened the windows, eew, you get the best view of ransacked garbage dumpster from neighbor property. If possible stay on the odd
number rooms or rooms away from the stairs near reception.

2. They charge so much money per night, but don't have decent shower head.

3. The sink in the bathroom is so tiny, u might bump your head to the faucet if you wash your face.

other than that it is a beautiful property and nice staff.

Room Tip: odd number rooms or away from stairs near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We really do enjoy hearing everything our guests have to say about our hotel. We love knowing what we are doing right, and especially what we can improve upon.
I would like to apologize for our neighboring building. Although we do not technically have any say in their dumpster practices, we will be sending a team of our employees over to help them pick up. We believe that it is important to help our neighboring businesses in any way. When we succeed, they succeed; and vice versa. We promise that issue will be taken care of as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not too many options in Chester so we weren't expecting too much. What a wonderful surprise! It is super clean with a great location - easy in; easy out parking lot. The decor is lovely and the staff amazing! It seemed fairly crowded but not a lot of noise. The lobby is great area that people actually use because there are board games for the kids and a TV. It's also next to a very good cafe and others are nearby.

The rooms are very comfortable with updated amenities - super, super clean! Very nice bedding and large bathroom - showers are hot, drain well and again, super clean. There is easy-to-use free internet - not the fastest but you are in the middle of mountains.

The breakfast area is well-kept and the staff person is very helpful and on-the-spot with refilling anything that ran out.

The only problem we had was the printer and one of the computers in the business area didn't work but the manager on duty allowed us to use the hotels computer to print out our boarding passes. Another recommendation would be to get stronger closing devices on the room doors - they are very heavy and have a tendency to slam which is very noisy.

Very highly recommended and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your review is very thorough and thoughtfully written. We will take all you compliments and advice to heart. Please, come stay with us again! We would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I checked into the BW Rose Quartz Inn about a week prior to the Memorial Day weekend. We were in Chester/Lake Almanor area to go fishing. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the breakfast was good. All of the desk clerks were friendly and helpful, but Chris was particularly helpful in giving us fishing tips. He loves fishing and knows all the particulars about Lake Almanor. Ann Marie, the woman working the breakfast area was very friendly and made sure that there was plenty of good food. I would highly recommend this hotel. Also, the restaurant adjacent/directly next door, which I forgot the name of the place, had great hamburgers and shakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel! We are so happy that Chris was able to give you such enthusiastic advice for your fishing trip! We would love to have the two of you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn

Address: 306 Main Street, Chester, CA 96020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rose Quartz Hotel Chester
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.