We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Campground
Save
You added North Shore Campground to your Saves list
Highway 36, North Shore of Lake Almanor, Chester, CA 96020   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for families.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although we lived in California most of our lives, this was our first trip to Lake Almanor. We have 2 30' trailers and went with family. Overall it was better than expected in spite of the weather!. We ended up with a pull through site with a deck! Wonderful view of the lake and really pretty quiet. The owners were helpful and visible. The sites were clean and trash picked up regularly. Camp fires were allowed which was a plus for our grandchildren. We look forward to another trip there soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, ca
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lake front site was very appealing. The views of the lake were worth the price. Bathrooms and showers immaculate. Workers friendly and helpful. Convenient location to Werner Valley, Lassen, and Lake Almanor. We stayed here 5 nights and were comfortable the whole time. Although the campgrounds can use some sprucing up, as it is dated, the efforts to improve are evident.We checked out several other campgrounds in the area, and by far Northshore has the most spacious sites. A treat in our campsites and nearby were birdhouses full of baby birds. It was a delight watching the care and feeding of those babies by their mama. Cottonwood trees are plentiful so allergies were in high gear. Several spots were held by summer residents - all were clean and well maintained. Would return here again.

Room Tip: We found lakefront site to be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Beware of the shakedown before they let the chain down. Owner Charles (Mohawk and ears with holes in them) is highly aggressive. Charles will attempt go charge you for extra people if you have them. When I questioned why he demanded a cash payment when I made my reservation with a credit card he physically confronted me by standing in front of me while I tried to walk. His tone was threatening and made me feel frightened. When I said "do I need to call 911 on you?" He finally let me walk back to my campsite. But when we were leaving he blocked the exits and verbally blasted my party of 6 for 30 minutes until I finally handed over an additional $15. We were literally held for ransom until I paid. What I didn't understand was why the website says up to six per site and they never asked how many in my party when I made the reservation. It seemed like they were well versed in doing this to tent campers because they have a chain set up to snare you on the way out. I believe the new management has some things to learn about hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. It is our deepest regret that you believe you were treated unfairly in anyway. Camping is all about having a good time, being around good people and enjoying the great outdoors. We try to ensure that all of our visitors have a great experience at our sites. Our visitors are always free to leave at their convenience. We do require that our guests pay for the services that they used and as mentioned on our website under rates – which can be found here: http://northshorecampground.com/rates/rates and also on our tent site here: http://northshorecampground.com/campsites-cabins/tent-sites , all of our daily and weekly rates include up to four people per site, you may pay extra for visitors up to 6. We’re sorry that you believe we blocked you from leaving, that was not our intent. After complaints from other campers and staff about you and your childrens use of excessive profanity and your desire to be in an area with less wind, we were forced to check-in on your site. It was at that time that we noticed you had additional, unpaid guests at our campsite which you did not declare at the time of your reservation or registration. We want you to have to the best time possible when camping, which is why we allow visitors to pay for two extra guests on a site, all that we ask is to be paid for the services that you are using. We are complete professionals at North Shore Campground, which is why we do in fact have a chain – it is intended to guide visitors with large recreational vehicles or boats. We do not want any of our beloved guests to back up too far so we’ve provided guidance. It also helps us see the roads during the winter season, safety is our first concern. We love opening up our home and campgrounds to visitors far and near, it is important to us that they follow all of our policies, which can be found here: http://northshorecampground.com/park-policies as well as all of our rules: http://northshorecampground.com/park-rules. This helps to ensure that all of our guests have a fun and safe time while at our resort. They are clearly posted online and at our campgrounds to help remind our visitors. If you ever have any questions about any of our rates, policies or rules you are always able to give us a call or email us directly at info@northshorecampground.com Thank you for understanding that we create a relaxing atmosphere for our visitors by always following our own rules and policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My guess is that Shad V (see "preferential treatment") was one of several firemen from Reno/Sparks area. If my guess is right, then he doesn't have a leg to stand on regarding being kicked out of the campground. The firemen were playing loud and offensive (vulgar) music late into the night. The group ignored several warnings prior to the police being called but continued to play the music at loud levels. Their demeanor and response to the camp host was crude, laced with profanity, and unbecoming from a responsible adult, let alone a self-described public servant. Again, if Shad V was a member of this group then he and the group got what they deserved! Regarding his question about why people return, the answer is simple, it's a great place to camp but poor place to blast music all night! Note: The music was "rap", laced with profanity and racial slurs...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

well Im not usually one to complain but this needs to be said. We and some of our other freinds rented a couple of the "premuim " lake front RV sights but after several years going there this was not preferred treatment. We both are in public service and because of this dont make waves. Someone should have shared that with the descriminating hosts in our loop. we had a seasonal camper next to us who was warned by a host we were young and may cause trouble "let them know "they told the seasonal ( im 40) . Now I get that they pay alot of money for that seasonal spot but our money adds up too. as the campers come and go ( we wont be going back our freinds either,) as well as everyone else who they chased away. we were harrassed by the one camp host who was freinds with the psyco renter next to us. THE POLICE CAME at 10 at night when we were in bed saying we were screeming ? this after many confrontations stating we were loud. ( I walked out to the front of our sight ( we had low music on playing bean bag toss) and even talked to other campers. there were no real compaints. when we left managment claimed they knew nothing. all we knew is this particular host came 6x to us with unsupported claims.....see ya wont be back also found out they red flagged a whole bunch of other regulars??? why they go back I have no idea

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your honest opinion! We are so sorry that this is the experience that you have had at the North Shore Campground. You will be pleased to hear that the campground is under new ownership and we pride ourselves on taking care of our customers and treating them with the up-most respect. With over a decade in public service, we understand how important it is to treat our customers right. Please email me personally at info@northshorecampground.com and we will be happy to rectify the situation. We are so sorry that this is the experience you had with the old owners, we would love the opportunity to show you that this is not the way we intend to run our camp sites, whether it be for premium RV sites, or otherwise. All of our customers will be treated with the upmost respect. Thanks again for letting us know your experience, as the new owners we plan to go above and beyond to make sure that this is an RV site that you will want to return to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family and I have stayed here three times now. Last time we where here, we drove around the entire lake to see if we could find a cheaper place, but none of the other parks where even half as nice as this site. The pro's here are 1. It is right against the water so you don't have to go anywhere at all. 2. They are 5 minutes from Chester, a very charming little town with a soda shope and cute little supermarket. 3. The beach is kid friendly. 4. they have good sized rv sites. 5. They allow campfires and provide a fire ring. 6. They have a noise curfew of 10pm which is very reasonable. The con's here are 1. They don't have sewer hookups (but they pump twice a week in the mornings and a pump station on your way in or out. 2. TV reception is really bad. All in all it is a really nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience along with your likes and dislikes with us! We pride ourselves on the beautiful campgrounds and RV sites that we have here at the North Shore Campground. Our location is one of the best features of our camp sites, we’re so glad that you were able to enjoy your time here on the lake with your kids! Providing a safe, family-friendly environment is really important to us. As the new owners of the North Shore Campground we are working hard to provide you with the best available amenities. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having sewer hookups, but are more than happy to continuing offering pump services and full use of our pump station for your convenience. Come stop by the new and improved North Shore Campground, we can’t wait to show off many of our new features including our 16 new state-of-the-art boat docks. If you loved us before, you’ll love us even more now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family and I stayed here for 8 nights for our vacation this year. It was the first time we had camped that long and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Pluses: right on the lake, quiet, excellent staff, clean facilities, laundry and library

Minuses: Campsites are very small (we had a pop-up camper and were dwarfed and squeezed by the monster trailers); no dumping (they will collect for you for a fee); no beach for swimming

This was one of our very best family vacations and we look forward to returning next year. The fishing is excellent and we love the proximity to Chester and all the lake activities.

Room Tip: Either on the lake, or up on the hill, to have the most room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed over a mile of our shoreline along with our clean facilities, laundry, library and staff! Our campgrounds are meant to be peaceful and relaxing and we’re so glad that you were able to have that feeling. Our apologies for the room in regards to the small camp site – we would be more than happy to accommodate you with a larger RV site the next time you come to our campgrounds, please make sure to email me directly at info@northshorecampground.com and we will make sure that you have plenty of room. With over 80 RV sites we will find one that is roomy enough for your pop-up trailer! While the North Shore Campground might not necessarily have any beaches, we have plenty of swimming spots available at our beautiful lake. Next time you come up, make sure to ask us about it and we will point you in the direction of great swimming spots. As new owners of the campground, we are so excited to meet our previous customers. We can’t wait to meet you! If you loved us before, you’ll love us even more now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Shore Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Campground

Address: Highway 36, North Shore of Lake Almanor, Chester, CA 96020
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new and improved North Shore Campground, an RV park and campground that is under new ownership! As the new owners, we have worked hard to create a family-friendly environment that is inviting, fun and safe. We welcome you into our home and our campgrounds, it is our pleasure to share this experience with you and create a memorable experience for you and your family during your visit to Northern California. If there’s anything we can do to make this a one-of-a-kind experience for you, please don’t hesitate to talk to us before, during or even after your trip! We want to make everyone feel like they’re at home when they visit North Shore Campgrounds.With over one mile of shoreline on Lake Almanor, North Shore Campgrounds has everything you could imagine and more. Our peaceful and relaxing resort has over one mile of shoreline available with plenty of fun activities ready for your visit. We have worked hard to create a welcoming environment to new and old guests. The park has been carefully designed to complement the natural beauty of these beautiful and serene settings.Clean and modern bathrooms, boat docks and ramp, boat rentals, playground, a high speed Internet access point, and a WiFi hot spot are some of our amenities. We also have guest houses available for rent that offer all the modern conveniences. In addition, you may rent our Coleman popup trailer rental. We are the only private resort on the lake that offers tent and RV sites, as well as cabins. This makes us an excellent choice for your next family reunion, camping trip or any excuse to get away! We are located on the North Shore of Lake Almanor, two miles east of Chester, California, just off Highway 36.Come fish, boat, walk along the shoreline, hunt for crawdads, watch the many species of waterfowl, or just relax and watch the water. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat in a truly spectacular location, visit us at North Shore Campground. Stop by and grab a cup of coffee with us during the morning, we love getting to know our new family. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.