We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Hall
The Old Hall
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden
Atmospheric Great Hall
Garden Room
Drawing Room
Saxlingham Nethergate
|
Rental Home – 
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlie C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bucolic utopia, just south of Norwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Janine and the team had the courage to accommodate a stag party at the Old Hall. It was an incredibly brave decision to entrust such a beautiful house to 12 men in need of a party, but we were absolutely delighted that she took the risk! We had a magnificent weekend and were looked after like princes (thanks too go to Bespoke Catering for all the delicious grub). The house, gardens and messuages positively drip with atmosphere and the house is full to the brim of mod cons, comfy beds and big, old-fashioned baths. All set against an ancient and charm-filled backdrop. There’s a pool, tennis court, croquet essentials and the most marvellous summerhouse, where we spent most of our sunny weekend languishing. I would recommend this house to anybody in need of a genuine escape in comfortable and bucolic surroundings. It’s like being in a PG Wodehouse novel.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
farnaz12
1 review
“Fantastic surroundings, amazing garden, kids love looking to see if the chicken had laid eggs each day and the peacocks roaming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house is well presented and very comfortable. Owner s own home and we'll equipt. The garden s are so well presented and many different areas and hidden areas. Kids loved the secret camp, tree house, climbing frame and swings. For grown ups there are some fantastic areas to run and cycle in around the property.

4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Location
4 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LondonShe...
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful 17th house - comfortable, stylish, with everything you'd ever need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The owners of The Old Hall rent their very large and totally adorable house out to groups on a self-catering basis, but leave personal touches akin to a stay in a boutique hotel.

Ridiculously comfortable beds with heavenly duvets. Weekend stay toiletries, freshly cut flowers and treats. Up-to-date dvds, games for kids of all ages. They have everything you could possibly need - this is one well-stocked kitchen, pantry, utility room, pool room - and a 17th century house and landscaped grounds we all fell head-over-heels in love with.

One of the loveliest places we have ever stayed, the pictures they publish are beautiful yet don't do it justice - its a grand house, but feels like home immediately. The Old Hall made a special weekend all the more so.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the kind personal touches and treats from the owner, the open fires and the kitchen
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Becks L
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country weekend away, just what we wanted!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My friends and I had a lovely weekend at The Old Hall. The photographs did not do the house justice, it was even better than we had anticipated.

The house was absolutely beautiful, so traditional and a perfect escape from city life. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Despite the bad weather, the house was warm and we got to explore and enjoy the incredible grounds.

The owners were so lovely to deal with, they were helpful and made sure our stay was perfect.. We will all be coming back soon I am sure. It was a fantastic trip and I would recommend the house to anyone looking for a traditional, country weekend away. It was a great way to spend a weekend with friends.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house was absolutely beautiful as were the grounds
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Marion P
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We spent four days with family and friends for a big birthday celebration in this amazing old house and we could not have chosen better. We would go again.
The house is furnished in well-thought out, tasteful traditional style with antique and modern artefacts. Every corner in the beautiful rooms has an interest, delightful books, magazines and flowers. The open fires are stunning and very welcoming on the chillier days. The bedrooms are sublime, comfy beds, beautiful linen and the attention to detail is superb.
Much thought has gone into providing a well-equipped home, form the spacious kitchen through to the lovely gardens.
Our six grandchildren, aged between 2 and 11, had the time of their lives, their bedrooms were exciting, the playroom fulfilled their every need and the garden kept them busy for hours. There was entertainment for all the adults too, we chose archery but we could have played tennis. Summer visitors would love the swimming pool.
The house is beautifully situated and photos cannot do justice to the ambience nor the
splendid location.
The owners and the nearby housekeeper are totally charming and explained everything in clear detail, we had no problems at all, just a stay to remember in one of Britain's loveliest houses.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The fact that it exceeded our high expectations
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
gloria123
oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - cannot be faulted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed here for a weekend to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary with a group of friends. The house is beautiful, keeping a sense of period and history in the decor, but all the necessary home comforts and mod cons. The photos do not do it justice. The owner greeted us on our arrival and made us very welcome. Everything you could need is available. Cosy kitchen with everything required for the preparation of a feast or an informal breakfast. Comfy beds, fluffy towels, 4 sitting rooms, well stocked library, log fires, wifi, coffee machine, peacocks, candle-lit dining hall, board games and champagne - what more could you ask for? Well, the weather could have been better - we think the gardens are amazing but not easy to see under a covering of snow.
We will definitely be trying to think of an excuse to go back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfort, facilities, character property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Bryony T
Brussels
2 reviews
“Fantastic and homely venue perfect in beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Our group of 13 rented The Old Hall for NYE 2012, as we wanted a venue with character and which accommodate us all. We were by no means let down. The Hall is a fabulous house and the rooms extremely comfortable. There were so many areas to explore inside that house that even with a large group it felt very spacious. As we cooked all our own food for the three days, including large three course dinners, the kitchen with its user friendly environment and well stocked equipment was perfect. I can't rate the housekeeper or the owner's customer service highly enough. We're so impressed we're already looking to rent it again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,136
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Janine P
44 7773767290
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing