We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Tacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruddell's Smokehouse

Ruddell's Smokehouse
101 D St, Cayucos, CA 93430-1107
805-995-5028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love the Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Wow, a small funky treasure in Cayucos, we stumbled on last year when other places were closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.
We both had Salmon tacos and they are so delicious. A must try when you are in town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    32
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fish, cheese and tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We are addicted to their smoked cheese, tacos and smoked fish. It is insanely good. Lines are out the door of this place as soon as they open. It is a must try. Their smoked meats are also awesome. You can't go wrong with a is it here. We have had items shipped to family so that should tell you how good it is.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Unique Take On Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sunset Magazine had an article this month about a road trip from SD to SF and Ruddell's was mentioned. Yes, it is a hole in the wall with no inside seating but the tacos are quite good with ingredients you would not expect---celery, apples. I must say the salmon in the taco was a little dry but the albacore was just perfect. We also had the $3 Children's Quesadilla which was good.

We got there in late afternoon and it was a little cold but the view of Morro Rock was great from the sidewalk seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Laid back atmosphere, ocean views & best taco ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch on a Friday. Asked counter server what he recommended. Swordfish caught & smoked the day before. Went with it & glad we did. Phenomenal!!! Taco filled with fish plus radish, celery which made crunchy. Uptight or needing fancy place setting should pass

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's not fancy, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We smelled it before we saw it (in a good way). Friends told us we'd find the best tacos ever, and they may have been right. This little hole-in-the-wall may be the best reason to visit Cayucos. A wonderful selection of smoked seafood and pork, served in big tacos featuring fresh produce (apples?) and a great sauce...it was so good we went back the next day to eat there again. Worth a stop if you're driving through on Highway 1. I know I will stop there anytime I'm driving through.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruddell's Smokehouse also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ruddell's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruddell's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.