We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On The Beach B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added On The Beach B&B to your Saves list
On The Beach B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved this B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We hated to leave this place! Our room was beautiful and quite spacious with large private balcony overlooking ocean, fireplace and spa tub. Staff was friendly, personable and helpful. Wonderful smells from the kitchen drifted throughout the property all day! Breakfast included a different and unique hot meal each morning along with the usual yogurt, fruit, and homemade muffins or scones. Evening happy hour included wine and delicious appetizers; dessert was out about 8 p.m. This place is a gem!

Room Tip: I would not recommend ocean view room on first floor....no privacy and you really don't have goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    22
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
122
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary by spending 4 nights in Room 204. We had a terrific time due to "On the Beach". The always smiling staff did a terrific job at making us feel welcome. The "full" breakfasts, snacks, and happy hours were always top notch with excellent fresh cooked goodies. The cleaning staff was very flexible in touching up our room when it was convenient for us and they were very responsive to our requests. Additionally, the location of the B&B makes it almost perfect for jaunts to the Morro Bay, SLO, or Cambria areas and as you might expect, fabulous dining. Cayucos is not as commercial as other cities we've stayed at in the Central Coast area and that works to it's advantage, as far as I am concerned. The locals were friendly, helpful and he prices for food and dining were very reasonable. We can't wait to stay with "On the Beach" again, soon. Had a terrific time!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Extremely nice room with a fire place and a jacuzzi tub. Food and service was terrific. I would go back in a minute. We enjoyed walking on the beach in the evening and again the morning. The town is nice with multiple antique shops and restaurants all within very close walking distance of the B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in late March 2014 and it was wonderful. The wheelchair accessible room has a beach view, low bed for ease in getting in and out, a jacuzzi bathtub and a delicious breakfast, happy hour and dessert. We will definitely be going back to this gem and next time, take some friends with us. Cayucos is a charming town, close to Morrow Bay, Cambria and San Simeon. But this inn is a super place to relax and chat with other guests and enjoy some down time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I received a gift certificate from friends for a night's stay at this lovely B&B, so my husband and I booked a Sunday evening during late March. We're not "beach people" so much, mostly because of the cool weather and brusque winds. But On the Beach was such a nice play to stay in Cayucos. At check-in, we could smell pastries baking in the adjacent kitchen.

Our second-story room was huge! The four-poster bed was inviting, and there were a couple of comfy chairs, too. Two fluffy robes awaited us in the closet. A telescope adorned the room. We also took advantage of the multiple lighting options.

In the late afternoon, we enjoyed a glass of Harmony Cellars' Pinot Gris while sitting on the balcony and watching the ocean--although we had to wear winter coats and hats! Then, we joined other guests for the complimentary wine tasting and hearty appetizers.

After dinner, we cozied up to the fireplace and enjoyed some more wine.

The bathroom was spacious and well-appointed. Some people might enjoy the jacuzzi bathtub, suitable for one person. (The outdoor jacuzzi was down for repair.)

In the morning, breakfast was plentiful and hearty.

We had met one of the hotel owners at the Full Moon Wine Tasting Bar in town; the synchronicity made for a special time.

All around, this was a very pleasant stay. I highly recommend this B&B to travelers.

Room Tip: For those unaccustomed to the constant pounding of the surf, a street-facing room might be a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

First time staying here and its going to be our go to place for future stays! Had room 205 which had a great view of the town and the most comfortable bed!

They served an early continental breakfast (I called it first breakfast) and then a 9 a breakfast of the day (second breakfast). Yes, I'd eat twice! There was also an evening reception with wine, beer (had the Cayucos Ale, delicious!), and a great selection of appetizers. That was probably the best part of our stay. My only complaint with the evening reception was that there was a man that obviously needed to be cut off, but was still served.

Rooms were made up quickly and the jetted tub was wonderful!

I keep bugging my husband to take a few days off so we can go back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located on the main street in the sleepy little town of Cayucos. which is close to both Morro Bay and Cambria so there is plenty to do. There are restaurants within walking distance. It is also right on the beach, where you can hunt for sea glass. The rooms are lovely. Ours had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub, plus a balcony overlooking the beach. They have a wine hour at 5:00 with good local wines and good beer, plus appetizers. There is a full breakfast in the morning as well. Everyone was very pleasant and it was nice and quiet. A great place to relax!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to On The Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach B&B

Address: 181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On The Beach B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your On The Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Beach B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.