We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the view, the rest was just OK.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On The Beach B&B

Save Saved
You added On The Beach B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
On The Beach B&B
181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Lompoc, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Loved the view, the rest was just OK.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The best part of this hotel was of course the view. We stayed upstairs with a full view of the ocean and loved hearing the crashing waves all night long. I couldn’t give it an excellent rating for the following issues: The roof top hot tub had a couple of problems which might explain why nobody was soaking in it the night we stayed there. I tried running it a couple times to get it hot but couldn't get it to warm up and even if it did heat up I wouldn't want to soak in it due to the green algae all over the seats and walls. We settled for the small Jacuzzi tub in our room which was one of those air type tubs that shoots out cold air, it wasn't very comfortable. There aren't any glasses or coffee cups in the rooms, there is a coffee maker but you have to go downstairs to get the cups. I went down at 7:30 in the morning and there still wasn't any coffee available which is why we had to make our own. The breakfast was alright but nothing spectacular, a couple of very small pancakes and fruit and you have to wait until 9:00 to eat the "full breakfast". The same goes for the evening wine hour, just cheese, crackers and nuts, the wine was really good though. It wouldn't be fair to give this place an excellent rating when other places nearby in other coastal cities go well beyond what On the Beach offers at a lower rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheBeachBandB, Owner at On The Beach B&B, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Charles,
Thank you for your stay.
Our goal although not always attainable is 100% guest satisfaction.
The rooftop spa is scheduled to remain hot (104 degrees) from the hours of 9am-10pm. Sometimes in Cayucos (it’s a small town) we have power outages or a guest will accidentally flip the emergency switch and the systems heating/cleaning cycles get mixed up. We will be more diligent in checking its status.
There should have been two coffee mugs as well as two water cups in your room, I will speak with housekeeping about this issue.
We don’t put out our continental breakfast/ coffee until eight to cut down on noise for our sleeping guest downstairs in rooms adjacent to lobby.
We rotate our breakfast and evening gathering items to keep it interesting for the guests & staff. We encourage creativity in cooking and serve things like eggs Benedict, Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, strata, quiches & every day a fresh pastry… all homemade. As you can see from our previous reviews normally we knock it out of the park.
Anyway, I hope you enjoyed your stay & we would like another shot to get that 5th star.
Best regards,
On the Beach Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    21
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
112
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful spacious room, great breakfast & wine in the afternoon. Hot tub on the roof veranda. Directly across the street from the beach. Get a second floor room for a better ocean view. A little pricey but the best in town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Awesome place to stay over looking the beach! Great service, great food. It is located within walking distance of other unique places to check out. The snacks in the afternoon and evening are a great nice "extra" touch. The rooms are really clean and e beds super comfy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The man and I stayed here this past weekend and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are huge and the service is outstanding. Fireplaces in the rooms with a massive spread at breakfast, happy hour from 5-6 (where they serve you local wines and beer...both were VERY good), and dessert at night. Really nice touch! I'd go back in the summer when we could really enjoy the balconies and sit out and enjoy the happy hour wine while watching the sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay with balconies that overlook the ocean. The attention to detail is great and the ladies who helped us and made breakfast for us each day were very nice and the food was just right. Our room was very large and it was so delightful to sit by the fireplace and look out at the ocean. I am hoping to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner and also visiting with some other folks from different states. It's always interesting to find out more information regarding the inn. Richard told us the inn was 8 years old and he was the second owner. All the beautiful furniture was Thomasville and the rooms had every possible amenity one could want. We were in Room 5 downstairs and enjoyed watching the people suit up to go out surfing. Our room had a great view of the ocean even though there was parking between us and the waves. Evening
hors d'oeuvres were very nice and wine was from a local winery. Their resident chef, Moreen, was most gracious and very friendly telling each guest what the morning specials were and serving everyone individually. I was really impressed with the locally grown very fresh fruit which is out of season at our home. Homemade scones, blueberry pancakes, frititas and breakfast casseroles were served the two mornings we were there. Meka, Sheri and Dezi were all very helpful during our stay and we learned that Dezi is also a great cook. We heard several people commenting that the food was one of the reasons they keep returning to this B&B. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Dinner at Hoppe's is a must....across the street a block away and within walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the ocean so you can watch the surfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

One of the best establishments i have ever stayed in! Great friendly staff, great food and offers that something extra not to be found at other places! If you are in california doing a road trip and you dont stay here, you will miss out big time!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to On The Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach B&B

Address: 181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your On The Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Beach B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.