We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class & charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On The Beach B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added On The Beach B&B to your Saves list
On The Beach B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class & charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful spacious room, great breakfast & wine in the afternoon. Hot tub on the roof veranda. Directly across the street from the beach. Get a second floor room for a better ocean view. A little pricey but the best in town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    26
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
142
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Awesome place to stay over looking the beach! Great service, great food. It is located within walking distance of other unique places to check out. The snacks in the afternoon and evening are a great nice "extra" touch. The rooms are really clean and e beds super comfy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The man and I stayed here this past weekend and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are huge and the service is outstanding. Fireplaces in the rooms with a massive spread at breakfast, happy hour from 5-6 (where they serve you local wines and beer...both were VERY good), and dessert at night. Really nice touch! I'd go back in the summer when we could really enjoy the balconies and sit out and enjoy the happy hour wine while watching the sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay with balconies that overlook the ocean. The attention to detail is great and the ladies who helped us and made breakfast for us each day were very nice and the food was just right. Our room was very large and it was so delightful to sit by the fireplace and look out at the ocean. I am hoping to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner and also visiting with some other folks from different states. It's always interesting to find out more information regarding the inn. Richard told us the inn was 8 years old and he was the second owner. All the beautiful furniture was Thomasville and the rooms had every possible amenity one could want. We were in Room 5 downstairs and enjoyed watching the people suit up to go out surfing. Our room had a great view of the ocean even though there was parking between us and the waves. Evening
hors d'oeuvres were very nice and wine was from a local winery. Their resident chef, Moreen, was most gracious and very friendly telling each guest what the morning specials were and serving everyone individually. I was really impressed with the locally grown very fresh fruit which is out of season at our home. Homemade scones, blueberry pancakes, frititas and breakfast casseroles were served the two mornings we were there. Meka, Sheri and Dezi were all very helpful during our stay and we learned that Dezi is also a great cook. We heard several people commenting that the food was one of the reasons they keep returning to this B&B. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Dinner at Hoppe's is a must....across the street a block away and within walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the ocean so you can watch the surfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

One of the best establishments i have ever stayed in! Great friendly staff, great food and offers that something extra not to be found at other places! If you are in california doing a road trip and you dont stay here, you will miss out big time!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. I say hotel because thus place seems like the perfect blend of B&B and boutique hotel. You get the friendly staff and great food and service of a B&B plus the privacy and amenities that you'd expect from a nice hotel including an elevator so you don't have to lug bags up stairs and a parking garage. The staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Luxurious bedding and yes the beach is right there as are lots of restaurants. Just be sure to check when they are open because since thus is primarily a tourist local, not every restaurant and store is open every day, especially Mondays and Tuesdays. Nice location if you are looking to do Hearst Castle, Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo etc.

We plan on visiting again someday!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
6.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
14.6 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#3 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach B&B

Address: 181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On The Beach B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your On The Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Beach B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.