We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavishly Large Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On The Beach B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added On The Beach B&B to your Saves list
On The Beach B&B
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lavishly Large Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay with balconies that overlook the ocean. The attention to detail is great and the ladies who helped us and made breakfast for us each day were very nice and the food was just right. Our room was very large and it was so delightful to sit by the fireplace and look out at the ocean. I am hoping to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    26
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
139
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner and also visiting with some other folks from different states. It's always interesting to find out more information regarding the inn. Richard told us the inn was 8 years old and he was the second owner. All the beautiful furniture was Thomasville and the rooms had every possible amenity one could want. We were in Room 5 downstairs and enjoyed watching the people suit up to go out surfing. Our room had a great view of the ocean even though there was parking between us and the waves. Evening
hors d'oeuvres were very nice and wine was from a local winery. Their resident chef, Moreen, was most gracious and very friendly telling each guest what the morning specials were and serving everyone individually. I was really impressed with the locally grown very fresh fruit which is out of season at our home. Homemade scones, blueberry pancakes, frititas and breakfast casseroles were served the two mornings we were there. Meka, Sheri and Dezi were all very helpful during our stay and we learned that Dezi is also a great cook. We heard several people commenting that the food was one of the reasons they keep returning to this B&B. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Dinner at Hoppe's is a must....across the street a block away and within walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the ocean so you can watch the surfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

One of the best establishments i have ever stayed in! Great friendly staff, great food and offers that something extra not to be found at other places! If you are in california doing a road trip and you dont stay here, you will miss out big time!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. I say hotel because thus place seems like the perfect blend of B&B and boutique hotel. You get the friendly staff and great food and service of a B&B plus the privacy and amenities that you'd expect from a nice hotel including an elevator so you don't have to lug bags up stairs and a parking garage. The staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Luxurious bedding and yes the beach is right there as are lots of restaurants. Just be sure to check when they are open because since thus is primarily a tourist local, not every restaurant and store is open every day, especially Mondays and Tuesdays. Nice location if you are looking to do Hearst Castle, Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo etc.

We plan on visiting again someday!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This B&B is in a perfect location, right on the water. 90 seconds walk from your room and you're on the beach. There are also some excellent restaurants within walking distance. Our room (202) was quite large, larger than it looks in the pictures, was nicely decorated, and was clean and well maintained. Wireless internet was very easy to connect to. A great ocean view from our balcony. The building has ample underground parking with an elevator that goes right to your floor. No carrying luggage up the stairs, a nice plus. The overall condition of the facility was excellent and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. However, my rating is only 4 stars because the breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres were nothing to write home about. The coffee was bitter and the wine was so-so. Overall, the food just didn't compare to the quality of the rest of this B&B

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, choose the upstairs rooms as the street level rooms have parked cars bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richpho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Driving down the PCH from San Fransico, we arrived around 9p. The office was closed and everything locked up. Alas, a note and phone number. We called, they gave us the door code and a key was taped to our room. That's how service is supposed to be! Great little town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent two nights here on our California trip and it was TripAdvlsor that took us here. The only reservation I have is that the place is not literally on the beach as has been the case with a few places we have stayed in. But room 202 is huge and well appointed and has a great view of the pier area. The beds and bath are good and the breakfast and staff very nice. Do pay for rooms that are not on the beach side. We thought the price was fair.

The parking was the most secure we had all trip and the most convenient for getting to and from our room.

The sight of pelicans fishing and dolphins leaping, with yards of your room, is magical.

My one warning has to be the weather. We did arrive in sunshine and really enjoyed walking the pier and surrounding area that evening, but the next day was all fog and cold as it can so often be right by the Pacific. We were told Cayucos has better weather than Morro Bay, but beware. We spent most of that day at Hearst Castle and that was good because you are above the fog and look down on it which is quiet quirky.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
14.8 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
14.6 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#4 of 11 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach B&B

Address: 181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On The Beach B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your On The Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Beach B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.