We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On The Beach B&B

Save Saved
You added On The Beach B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
On The Beach B&B
181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Cayucos B&B and Inns
1 review
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. I say hotel because thus place seems like the perfect blend of B&B and boutique hotel. You get the friendly staff and great food and service of a B&B plus the privacy and amenities that you'd expect from a nice hotel including an elevator so you don't have to lug bags up stairs and a parking garage. The staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Luxurious bedding and yes the beach is right there as are lots of restaurants. Just be sure to check when they are open because since thus is primarily a tourist local, not every restaurant and store is open every day, especially Mondays and Tuesdays. Nice location if you are looking to do Hearst Castle, Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo etc.

We plan on visiting again someday!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    21
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
110
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This B&B is in a perfect location, right on the water. 90 seconds walk from your room and you're on the beach. There are also some excellent restaurants within walking distance. Our room (202) was quite large, larger than it looks in the pictures, was nicely decorated, and was clean and well maintained. Wireless internet was very easy to connect to. A great ocean view from our balcony. The building has ample underground parking with an elevator that goes right to your floor. No carrying luggage up the stairs, a nice plus. The overall condition of the facility was excellent and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. However, my rating is only 4 stars because the breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres were nothing to write home about. The coffee was bitter and the wine was so-so. Overall, the food just didn't compare to the quality of the rest of this B&B

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, choose the upstairs rooms as the street level rooms have parked cars bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richpho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Driving down the PCH from San Fransico, we arrived around 9p. The office was closed and everything locked up. Alas, a note and phone number. We called, they gave us the door code and a key was taped to our room. That's how service is supposed to be! Great little town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent two nights here on our California trip and it was TripAdvlsor that took us here. The only reservation I have is that the place is not literally on the beach as has been the case with a few places we have stayed in. But room 202 is huge and well appointed and has a great view of the pier area. The beds and bath are good and the breakfast and staff very nice. Do pay for rooms that are not on the beach side. We thought the price was fair.

The parking was the most secure we had all trip and the most convenient for getting to and from our room.

The sight of pelicans fishing and dolphins leaping, with yards of your room, is magical.

My one warning has to be the weather. We did arrive in sunshine and really enjoyed walking the pier and surrounding area that evening, but the next day was all fog and cold as it can so often be right by the Pacific. We were told Cayucos has better weather than Morro Bay, but beware. We spent most of that day at Hearst Castle and that was good because you are above the fog and look down on it which is quiet quirky.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemite
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Room 202 was fantastic. You viewed the beach & the pier & of course, all the people. A very comfortable room. The ladies working there were also so helpful and nice. Keep up the good work. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoten
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

my husband and I were at the b&b end of aug ( 3 nights) and it was really enyoyable, we had a minor noise^problem but the manager gave us insatntly a better rom whithout any costs
the breakfast and the lady who made it were very very nice
a b&b with a hospitality vieuw
Fre'ddy and Jeannine from,Belgium

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Not much goes on in this town, so I wonder why the room rate was so high - I paid the same in Carmel and Yosemite on the same trip. I guess we're paying for Hot Tub, happy hour & appetisers and other extras.
We didn't stump up for a beach view room - which would have been even more - so got a noisy street scape at 11pm (not very 'on the beach' or conducive to sleep). Remember when booking not all rooms are the same. BTW the Jacuzzi bath tub is not effective, and a tragic waste of water (curious the 'eco' rule about the fridges (which is smart) doesn't extend to water usage).
Breakfast was nice, but it gets crowded in that dining space though.
And note to the check-in/out staff, at that price you could say 'Welcome' on arrival and 'Thanks for your custom' on departure.
All-in-all you take what you get, but I'll skip the next town when I am travelling through the next time
All the best otherwise, as the team seem to be trying to create a nice offering - but chilly prices.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor, overlooking beach (pay extra or go somewhere else)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnTheBeachBandB, Manager at On The Beach B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to take a few lines to explain our features. Our goal is to provide casual luxury our rooms are about $20 higher than rooms at hotels in town that offer fewer amenities & there are no other hotel rooms in town that offer a view like our Upstairs Ocean Views. Linens in room are 100% Cotton w/Feather Down Comforters & Pillows. All of our food is factored in the room rate &made fresh with high quality ingredients. Also, the wine & beers served (included in room rate) during our evening gatherings are from great local producers. Across the street about a block up is the Cayucos Tavern, they have live music on Fridays and Saturdays nights. Cayucos is also a very popular wedding destination during the summer and fall months so it is not uncommon that people are celebrating during the weekends.
Our Breakfast hours are from 9-11 which gives everyone plenty of time to come down at their leisure, trays are also available if you would like to enjoy your breakfast in your room or on your balcony.
Regarding front desk service: there is no excuse and will address immediately the appropriate measures to demonstrate how highly we regard out guests.
Thank you for your business and we apologize that it was not what you had expected.
Sincerly,
OntheBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to On The Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach B&B

Address: 181 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your On The Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The Beach B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.