We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolutely Lovely Boutique Hotel with Charm and Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier View Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pier View Suites to your Saves list
Pier View Suites
12 N Ocean Avenue, Pier View Plaza, Cayucos, CA 93430 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE NIGHT!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Absolutely Lovely Boutique Hotel with Charm and Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are looking for the ultimate place to relax, then Pier View Suites is the place. This boutique hotel is charming, beautiful, and chic. We had a room on the top floor that was facing the famous Cayucos pier (which is, obviously, where the name of the hotel comes from), and it was just beautiful. Upon arrival, the owner, Jason, offered us a bottle of red or white wine (your choice) and offered us a pet beta fish to keep in our room during our stay with instructions on how to feed and take care of it. It was marvelously quaint!

The rooms also include full kitchens with all utensils provided which is extremely helpful if you don't want to eat out for every meal. There is also a dishwasher in the rooms so that clean up is very easy. Everything is extremely clean, which I really appreciated. Even in the nicest of hotels, I've found stains on the shower curtain or hair clogging up the bathtub, but there was none of that here. Everything was fresh and white and crisp! Even the towels smelled like fresh laundry and not like they'd been dipped in bleach.

There is also a great coffee shop right below the hotel, and out back there is a relaxing garden area with a nice grill that you can use at any time. I'm pretty sure that each deck on the room has a large lounge couch/chair that is perfect for a romantic lounge while watching the sunset or just looking at the pier and the ocean.

I cannot express how much I love this place! It is, by far, one of the best, cleanest, and most lovely hotels that I have ever stayed in. What really sets it apart is the service. The owner, Jason, was amazing. He made sure to check in to see if we needed anything, but the staff gives you your space in order to ensure your utmost relaxation. They are there at a minute's notice if you do need anything, though. 100% customer service, 100% hotel!

Room Tip: I'd recommend trying to get a room on the top floor facing the ocean. The views are unbeatable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We're absolutely delighted that your stay was outstanding, and we're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the waves and the view from your suite. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsburg, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been staying at the Pier View Suites for over 5 years now. We go in January for our daughter's birthday and we go in July for the 4th. (The 4th of July parade route is right under our deck, and after the fireworks show, we simply close the drapes and go to bed. No driving!) Connie and Company always show great hospitality and make us feel like family. (Someone on staff usually joins us for bar-b-cued clams and oysters as we consistently use their bar-b-cue facilities.) The Pier View Suites location and view can't be beat, with a beautiful beach right across the street and antique stores just down the block (It's also pretty handy having The Cayucos Brown Butter Cookie Company at the end of the block.) Cayucos still feels like an old beach town, and we feel very secure letting our kids out to roam. Pier View Suites is pricey, but we think it's worth it! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room is spacious an airy with plenty of space for a family. Went there with my adult children for a summer getaway and had a great time. Balcony view just across from the beach, you could leave the windows open and hear the sounds of the crashing waves. All of the furnishings and fixtures were up to date and modern. Very classy place. It was a chilly weekend when we were there and we liked our room so much that we didnt even care if we went to the beach. We just watched the ocean and listened to the sounds from our room. Conveniently located in town as well so you can walk to everything from there. Thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

By coincidence arrived at Cayucos because Moro Rock was totally fogged. Stayed at the Pier View Suites and it was one of the highlights of a 3-weeks US West Coast tour. Excellent accommodation, great hospitality, owner put lots of effort in details and luxury. Top level studio's are great with fully equipped kitchen ! Spacious balcony, comfortable sunbed/chairs withsun/wind shield, nevertheless full view on Ocean and boulevard. Worth every penny !

Room Tip: Top floor studio's a bit more expensive but worthwhile to consider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pier View Suites has given me an unforgettable experience. The minute i walked in, i was baffled by the little details put into the interior design. Every room had a unique floor plan; some with stairs, some with a huge balcony. I stayed in the Urban Suite. It had a beautiful fireplace with an oversized granite counter kitchen. The balcony was huge with a day bed that could be adjusted into a couch or chair. The view is what got me. The beautiful view of the ocean front and the main street right in front, with the mountains on the right. It was a lovely place to sit, relax, and write my music. Also, the staff are extremely kind. They genuinely care about their guests and ensure we had everything we needed and was available for us if we needed anything more. Since I was getting the urban suite, they asked me if i wanted a little goldfish to keep in my room. That was amazing. I had the chance to meet Connie, the owner, in the office of the hotel. She is such a gem. She made sure i was taken care of and showed me around the hotel to see the coffee shop, restaurant nearby, and everything. Pier View Suites is just one of those places that make you go back to Cayucos just to stay there. Very classy hotel with a friendly environment and strategic location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our second visit to Pier View this year(2013). Suites 330 or 331 are our suites of choice. Beautiful views in 3 directions from the balcony. The suites are spotless, the kitchen large enough to cook Thanksgiving dinner, room refreshing on your schedule, private parking, location in the 'heart' of Cayucos. The owners/staff are there to provide every guest the best possible service. You will return again and again...I know we will.

Room Tip: Suite 330 or 331...perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As the designated trip planner, I was challenged to find a ADA Suite with roll in shower, pier view, two bedrooms & dining room.
I found all the above & more! Connie described her ADA suite perfectly during our phone conversation!
Upon arrival every detail was as she relayed & OH SO MUCH MORE!
Bottle of wine, Beta fish pet, completely outfitted kitchen(dishwasher), three flat screens, balcony view with comfy chairs, soft plush throws for evening chill, huge full length mirrors, peanut butter cups, vacuum/broom, wonderful memory foam mattress for sofa pull out, security access after 8 pm on street level, gas fire pit in lovely patio area...oh I could go on forever describing our super clean suite. Windows are full length providing awesome sunset views. Although, suites are street side with coffee shop before, there was no noticeable noise. We loved watching the early morning dog walkers.
Thanks to Connie & house keeping staff for all the beautiful fluffy towels & hand held shower/shower stool for my disabled childhood friend. We were all so comfortable & happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Address: 12 N Ocean Avenue, Pier View Plaza, Cayucos, CA 93430 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed as luxury bungalows, Pier View Suites began to take shape as a modern boutique hotel with the addition of upscale amenities, services, and personalized hospitality. The all-suite accommodations highlight the difference between mere beach town inns and laid-back luxury. Enjoy panoramic coastal views, stunning sunsets, and fresh ocean air from every suite's private balcony, each just 75 steps across from the shore. Experience complete relaxation, upscale amenities, and superb personal service from our friendly staff and discover what makes Pier View Suites stand out as Cayucos' premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier View Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.