We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier View Suites

Save Saved
You added Pier View Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pier View Suites
12 N Ocean Avenue, Pier View Plaza, Cayucos, CA 93430 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Cayucos
Malibu, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a good example of how a small town boutique hotel should be run. The staff was very nice and the manager greeted us by name and was very personable. The suite itself was modern and spacious with a fireplace and an amazing soaking tub with jets. The view was really the icing on the cake. I have tried other inns and B&Bs in Cayucos but you really don't get the same high quality, service, or views. Here, you don't sacrifice a thing. I love bringing my family (who live in Cayucos) over each time I stay here because they are always "awed". I won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the California Suite, the Urban Suite, the Oriental Suite, and the Executive Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    5
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in October, while my sister and her husband stayed at the Cayucos Sunset Inn down the street. At their hotel they got a lot of cute extras like a glass of wine and milk and cookies, and breakfast, so we were a little sad to be left out of the goodies. (Pier View gives a bottle of wine but only for longer stays.)
While our suite had a very cool vibe to it, including a beautiful fireplace, a nice jacuzzi, and a large balcony to relax on, most of the room was taken up by a kitchen area which we didn't use. All in all I'd say it was a little expensive considering the lack of extras compared to other places nearby.
If we were coming back to the area, I'd stay in Pier View for a longer stay but at Sunset Inn if for one or two nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I finally had a weekend to ourselves, in almost two years! After contemplating our location in Cayucos, we decided on Pier View Suites. We called to make reservation and it was the best accommodation of over-the-phone service I have ever had, not to mention that the owners were super nice! They sold us on the "Executive Suite", correct me if that's not the name, because they told us it had recently been re-done. The two days we spent in that room were absolutely amazing. The beds were comfortable and LARGE! There is nothing better than a big bed. I give this place my five stars and know exactly where to stay the next time we visit in the future. Our hotel experience re-visited why my husband and I got married in the first place. Thank you PVS!

P.S. The dogs were adorable!

Room Tip: The Executive Suite! but all of the other rooms were great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Amazing stay, thanks to the lovely ownership. Customer service was outstanding and will most definitely return. Rooms were extremely clean! This place is perfect for that getaway from the big city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My 3 sisters and I stayed in the Executive Suite for our long weekend girls trip and loved it. The manager was very friendly and had great suggestions for restaurants. There are 2 balconies with great views of the ocean and town and the master bedroom has a king bed and a very trendy looking bathroom with glass walls. There's a good sized living room, full kitchen and a 2nd bathroom next to the kitchen. We paid extra for the 3 bedroon configuration and it was worth it for 4 people. Loved the oriental decorations throughout the suite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are full of bright light when the sun reaches the west side of the building b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

THIS is the place to stay in Cayucos "the last beach town of CA". We checked in thinking we were in the wrong place but the manager soon gave us the warmest welcome and a bottle of wine. She gave us a quick tour and information about restaurants/things to do. We stayed the first time in the California Suite which was very modern and romantic. We could not believe we had a whole luxury studio condo to ourselves for the price of a hotel room! In it there is a fireplace, a large ocean view deck, and a full kitchen. At first we thought we didn't need such a full space but it proved economic and homey to make pancakes in the morning and barbeque oysters at night. The most recent time we stayed here we were welcomed by the same manager who remembered us and brought us a fish in a bowl to our room as "company". The Executive Suite is exquisite and fit for a celebrity. Everything is authentic Asian with a modern classy twist. Definably a "WOW factor when you walk in. There were two decks and the coolest glass and stone shower overlooking the beach and town so you get a view! The best part is that the hotel is close to everything in town and in the county. While we stayed here we went wine tasting twice, kayaked, rode horses, and went to the SLO Thursday Farmers Market (a must see). We love Cayucos and we love the service we get at this hotel, definably the best in town and a nice escape from the city without sacrificing the upscale amenities.

NOTE: Even though the hotel is not "on the beach", neither is "ON THE BEACH B&B". We were recommended to stay there and it was not nice, plus it was not even on the beach, it is across the street with a view of a creepy public restroom: no thanks! Pier View Suites has way better 180 degree views and is worth every penny! It took us about one minute to walk out the door of our suite to the sand.

Room Tip: We have stayed here multiple times and have found that the romantic 2 person rooms are great because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This place is great for two couples, however please be prepared: The Chateau Suite has no bathtubs, no closet in the downstairs bedroom...just a coat tree with hangers and an "open" layout in the downstairs bedroom. First I freaked...then I took my tiara off, relaxed, and stopped to smell the roses. The place is large and adorable. Clean with a good kitchen and an absolutely magnificant oversized balcony overlooking the ocean, Morro Rock and Cayucos Pier. We played guitars and sang on the balcony...then walked to the town's wonderful restaurants. We played poker in the Old Cuyucos Tavern, did some geocaching and enjoyed the sunsets from the balcony. The town of Cayucos is the last of the laid back beach communities and Pier View Suites rocks! I will return.

Room Tip: Pier View Suites has seasonal rates. You can truly make out during off season. Call hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos
Address: 12 N Ocean Avenue, Pier View Plaza, Cayucos, CA 93430 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed as luxury condominiums, Pier View Suites began to take shape as a modern boutique hotel with the addition of upscale amenities, services, and personalized hospitality. The all-suite accommodations highlight the difference between mere beach town bed & breakfasts and laid-back luxury. Enjoy panoramic coastal views, stunning sunsets, and fresh ocean air from every suite's private balcony, each just 75 steps across from the shore. Experience complete relaxation, upscale amenities, and superb personal service from our friendly staff and discover what makes Pier View Suites stand out as Cayucos' premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier View Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.