We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great sunset view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schooners Wharf

Schooners Wharf
171 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1603
805-995-3883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Cayucos
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in picturesque Cayucos, California, Schooners has been offering guests an unforgettable dining experience since it opened in 1993. Embracing a nautical theme reminiscent of the early history of the Central Coast sailors and fishermen, Schooners boasts the best ocean views of any restaurant in the area. Gaze into the deep blue while enjoying one of our signature cocktails, or perhaps some of our famous calamari strips. Schooners menu features fresh seafood and steaks, prepared thoughtfully by Chef Beto Gonzalez. Take time to stop in, take a look and say hello; chances are you'll find yourself wanting to indulge in our house specialty Bloody Mary, our fresh seafood, and some lively conversation with our local patrons. Hope to see you soon!
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great sunset view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Seating upstairs gives you the perfect place to chill and watch the sunset. The food and ale were cooked well and the portions sizes were good. The beer was good with complimentary bread.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    90
    29
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Bar inside Schooner's is a great place to enjoy your favorite cocktail, a bite to eat, & relax while looking out at the beach, ocean, & pier.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“nice patio and bar view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very comfortable and relaxing. They also have an outdoor patio with good lunch food and service. We were not there for any evening rush hour or late night bar crowd. It was a late lunch on the upstairs patio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Heaven, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I love sitting in the wooden bench seats in the bar looking out at the ocean. They have really good bar food and drinks. This is my third time I have eaten there. The bar tender and the staff were extra fabulous. Very comfortable and relaxing. They also have an outdoor patio both upstairs and downstairs. As well, indoor seating with booths that are supposed to be pirate ships - I think.

Try a cup of clam chowder while you are there. They have a nice hammock at the entrance to relax in before or after a meal. Enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get a seat on the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have always loved Schooners. It's that place in Cayucos that I MUST go to every time I'm there. Food is consistently delicious, but it can be less than appealing to people who don't like seafood as their options can be limited. Luckily I don't fall into that group.

I highly recommend waiting the longer time for a patio table or making reservations of one. It is so much better with that amazing view. It's very cozy up there as the tables are very close together, but there are heaters so even when it's chilly it's a pleasant place to be.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Wharf also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Schooners Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooners Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.