We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sceneries and dining area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoppe's Garden Bistro

Hoppe's Garden Bistro
78 North Ocean Avenue (Cayucos Drive), The Historical Way Station, Cayucos, CA 93430 (Formerly Hoppe's Garden Bistro & Wine Shop)
(805) 995-1006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 restaurants in Cayucos
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Continental, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Hoppe’s Garden Bistro has been serving the highest quality Continental cuisine and the finest International and local wines, from our historic location in the heart of Cayucos, for over 13 years. Our team of professional, knowledgeable servers have devoted themselves to pampering our guests and delivering a sophisticated level of attentive service. The kitchen and bakery are abuzz early each morning as our chefs start their daily craft of making virtually everything by hand: breads, pizza dough, ice cream, cakes, pastries, stocks, sauces, pasta, smoked meats, sausages, cured fish – it all begins from scratch with our dedication to fresh flavors and creative seasonal cuisine.By the time Chef Wilhelm Hoppe opened Hoppe’s Garden Bistro in 2000, he was already recognized as one of the Central Coast’s most cutting edge chefs. His years in Morro Bay at Hoppe’s 901 and Windows on the Water won over the palates of many critics and the dining public. Chef Hoppe’s uncompromising use of the finest ingredients, skillful saucing and masterful plating won him respect as someone truly devoted to his passion. Chef Hoppe graduated from the Culinary Institute of America in New York and trained in Switzerland before settling here. His numerous accolades include Awards of Excellence from Wine Spectator and Le Cordon Bleu. Sadly, Chef Hoppe passed away in 2010.Today, Hoppe’s honors the man and his legacy: sourcing fresh, high quality ingredients, creating seasonally inspired flavors, and building long lasting relationships with growers, winemakers and patrons.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great sceneries and dining area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Took my wife here for her birthday dinner. This is a great place to take your significant other. She will love the romantic setting and I myself enjoyed their roasted duck.The host/manager was very friendly to us and made sure we had good experience

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    95
    37
    9
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Over the top yumminess in a delightful garden setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hoppe's garden is a lovely patio surrounded by trees and flowers that attract hummingbirds and butterflies. Tables are set apart enough that you don't feel pressed together.

We started our lunch with champagne cocktails and the abalone appetizer. The abalone was a tender morsel in a delicate and light sauce served with house made bread. We ordered the Hearst Ranch beef burgers. A nice meat patty served on a house made bun, with butter lettuce, tomato and purple onion, accompanied by sweet potato chips. The meat was tasty and really made the burger. No complaints there.

For dessert we had a the house made bread pudding served in a puddle of caramel with a size of fresh whipped cream. Very good and a classic. The house made lemon cheesecake seemed to have been sitting in the refrigerator long enough to have lost its freshness. It was good and served with a blueberry sauce, but would have been much better if it had been freshly cut.

Overall, our meal was good. What really made our day though was sitting in the midst of their lovely patio and enjoying the ocean air.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We Expected Much More”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

There is no reason to go here. I can't understand how Hoppe's can be rated as one of the most popular restaurants in town. Our vegetables were at room temperature, and any average cook could prepare comparable meals at home. The Denny's of Cayucos.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb food and first class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate at Hoppe's after it was recommended by staff at our guest house and we were not disappointed. The garden area where we were seated was delightful and our waitress very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Our starters and mains were superb and certainly lived up to the high praise from the staff at our guest house. We had a wonderful and relaxing time eating here and would urge anyone travelling to Cayucos or passing through to pay them a visit you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Special Occasion Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is our all time favorite Sunday Brunch. This visit was for Father's Day. The service was first class and the ambiance relaxed but classy. It is a "prix fixe" brunch that includes a beverage, appetizer, entree and dessert. The choices for beverage include mimosa, champagne or wine. The selections for appetizers as large and includes breakfast, soup or salads. The entree choices are many from french toast to steak all with special Hoppe's classic recipes that always delight. The dessert selections are also many with chocolate, cheese cake and home made ice cream or sorbet. If you have a special celebration and are not on a tight budget this is wonderful. It is still a good value considering all that is included for less than $30.00 per person.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoppe's Garden Bistro also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Hoppe's Garden Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoppe's Garden Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.