We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed ownership and not nearly as good as 2011 visit.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hoppe's Garden Bistro - CLOSED

Hoppe's Garden Bistro
78 North Ocean Avenue (Cayucos Drive), The Historical Way Station, Cayucos, CA 93430 (Formerly Hoppe's Garden Bistro & Wine Shop)
(805) 995-1006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Continental, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Hoppe’s Garden Bistro has been serving the highest quality Continental cuisine and the finest International and local wines, from our historic location in the heart of Cayucos, for over 13 years. Our team of professional, knowledgeable servers have devoted themselves to pampering our guests and delivering a sophisticated level of attentive service. The kitchen and bakery are abuzz early each morning as our chefs start their daily craft of making virtually everything by hand: breads, pizza dough, ice cream, cakes, pastries, stocks, sauces, pasta, smoked meats, sausages, cured fish – it all begins from scratch with our dedication to fresh flavors and creative seasonal cuisine.By the time Chef Wilhelm Hoppe opened Hoppe’s Garden Bistro in 2000, he was already recognized as one of the Central Coast’s most cutting edge chefs. His years in Morro Bay at Hoppe’s 901 and Windows on the Water won over the palates of many critics and the dining public. Chef Hoppe’s uncompromising use of the finest ingredients, skillful saucing and masterful plating won him respect as someone truly devoted to his passion. Chef Hoppe graduated from the Culinary Institute of America in New York and trained in Switzerland before settling here. His numerous accolades include Awards of Excellence from Wine Spectator and Le Cordon Bleu. Sadly, Chef Hoppe passed away in 2010.Today, Hoppe’s honors the man and his legacy: sourcing fresh, high quality ingredients, creating seasonally inspired flavors, and building long lasting relationships with growers, winemakers and patrons.
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Changed ownership and not nearly as good as 2011 visit.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I dined at Hoppe's a week ago and it was a big diappointment.
First, our waitress, neglected us, as she was helping these 2 women who arrived after us. After I saw them get drinks and bread, there was a 5 minute gap before our waitress even returned to us and when I asked for some bread (we were famished) she said somewhat condescendngly, "its coming". I almost brought up the fact that we had been seated 10 minutes prior to the ladies and they had already been served. It then took another 5 minutes before we got it.

Then our meals were just average, my husband ordered short ribs and I the duck, which had little flavor. I was also up all night sick, so not sure if the duck was bad or what.
Lastly, we had mentioned when we called and came in that it was our 25th anniversary and ou would think they would bring a complimentary dessert, but NO, nothing.
We won't be returning to Hoppe's on our next trip.

And a gal at the place we stayed in town mentioned, (after I told her the meal wasn't good) that they had changed ownership, so apparently different chef!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    39
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quality of some foods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife are there for the first time in years. The service was just ok. No one really went out of their way to follow up on any part of our meal. They advertise Short Ribs of Beef at 26.00, but really serve flanken ribs, much cheaper cut. They have excellent salads and wine list, both nicely priced.
Would return and be more careful about what I order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hoppe's is one of the best restaurants in SLO County. Their dishes reflect the taste and training of their German-born founding chef (who unfortunately died recently; it will be interesting to see how the restaurant's menu evolves under new direction.) Service is top-notch, and they have an excellent wine list.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food worth wearing shoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Who knew we would have such fine cuisine in Cayucos? We've been vacationing in Cayucos for about 12 years and finally broke down and ate at Hoppes last year. We've been there twice since then. We love fine food but we have always enjoyed casually noshing on raw oysters while wearing flip flops, the type of ambiance we associate with our favorite small town. We resisted Hoppes for so long because we didn't want to have to "dress" for dinner while in a town with no stoplights (the real reason we bolt from SoCal). We regret wasting all those years we could've been eating at Hoppes if we'd only put on shoes! Wonderful, unique, perfectly prepared French influenced California cuisine. Delicious soups and meats and appetizers. Professional, talented wait staff (ask for Trina, she's so nice). Ambiance is definitely a step up from the smoke house but you're fine in nice jeans and a nice shirt. Prices are what you would expect for this quality of food. We and our shoes will be back next week eating at Hoppes for our anniversary once again and cannot wait!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant and just-as-great next door bakery/cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We've always adored the restaurant.. BY FAR THE FRESHEST, MOST CREATIVE AND INTERESSTING FOOD ANYWHERE ON THE CENTRAL COAST .. and the fact that they allow good dogs in the patio, if other customers don't object. The next door bakery/cafe is much simpler fare, much cheaper (order at counter, paper plates) , also dog friendly and excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoppe's Garden Bistro also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoppe's Garden Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.