We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Coffee and a Nice Morning Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top Dog Coffee Bar

Top Dog Coffee Bar
14 N. Ocean Ave., Cayucos, CA 93430-1663
805-900-5194
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Cayucos
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Coffee and a Nice Morning Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good coffee and very nice baristas. The food is not the greatest and takes a long time to prepare (although most of it is pre-made and just needs to be heated up), but if you're looking for a great cup of coffee on a chilly morning, then this place is perfect!

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Top Dog Tops in Cayucos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

In a small town, everybody talks and everyone knows the local stuff. You will see a few choices for coffee in the sleepy surfing hamlet of Cayucos, California, but ask around and all you hear is "Go to Top Dog". I did. www.topdogcoffeebar.com. The location is small, California quirky, but the service is way friendly and the coffee is high quality. Think burlap sacks on the wall and surfer stuff as decor. The beans are roasted locally, though not in the store.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dark. Chocolate. Mocha.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went in every morning during our stay in Cayucos. They roast their own beans and their drinks are excellent! The friendly pleasant staff is properly trained and seem to enjoy their job. It's small but still has comfy seating areas is very inviting to stay and spend time sipping your drink or playing board games.

Visited May 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Many choices of coffees and tea.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was surprise by the many blends that were offered. The place is small, so it can get crowded quickly. There are tables outside if you are travelling with your furry family member. Inside there are a few tables. The location is in the middle of town and very close to the hotel which is across the street. I will be heading back there next time I am in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stopped in to have a coffe and a tea one afternoon and the place just has an unfriendly vibe.The girl at the counter informed us (in a very rude way) that if we use more than one packet of honey in our tea then we would need to give her a quarter per honey packet. Kinda strange! We just couldn't wait to finish our drinks and get the heck out of there.

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Dog Coffee Bar also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Top Dog Coffee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Dog Coffee Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.