We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pet beach in CA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Save
You added Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pet beach in CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Spent 3 days enjoying the leash free beach and watching the dogs romp in and out of the water. We stayed in a beach front room downstairs for easy access to the beach. I brought a dog along and my 86 year old mom, so this made it easy for them to walk out to the grass & patio area to sit down and watch the waves. The breakfast had a selection of coffee, tea, hot and cold cereal, eggs, toast, yogurt, bagels, and pastry. Could hear the waves at night with the door shut. The staff was very friendly & gave my dog 2 chewy bones, a bowl, and a blanket to put on the bed so the dog could sleep on it. This was my 2nd visit to the Shoreline in & it will not be my last!

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are in the back but the best beach front rooms are in the front downstairs. Good if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you, for taking the time to review the Shoreline Inn. It is great to hear that your family enjoyed your stay in a downstairs beachfront room that has direct access to Cayucos beach. The sounds of the ocean are very powerful and can be heard from anywhere on the property, especially at night when the town is quiet. We look forward to seeing you and your dog again, until next time!

Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    90
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
103
186
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valley Village
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The rooms were pretty clean. Not spotless. Had a lot of flies or mosquitoes or something, but being near the ocean it was expected. We were able to kill the ones in there and then it was fine. The view was great. I like that it is pet friendly. It is close to everything. Staff was friendly. Very enjoyable. Loved the adirondack chairs.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
What a great way to describe your stay, “Peaceful, relaxing, and very nice.” We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with the kelp flies from the beach. Kelp flies from the beach are impossible control, we can only advise to keep your balcony screen door closed from your beachfront room. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!

Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel for many years and hopefully will for many years to come. It's so relaxing & peaceful we hardly ever leave the room. We always stay in the beachfront rooms..upstairs.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and more importantly for the continued patronage. We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with the kelp flies from the beach. That is something that we can’t control, we can only advise to keep your screen door closed from your balcony. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!

Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It's not like this hotel is fantastic, and it's not like the $140 a night for a double with no view is a 'deal', but what makes this AOK is the location. Right on the beach within walking distance of everything that makes Cayucos cool. Pismo is crowded. Morro Bay is crowded. Cayucos was mellow. That Brown Butter Cookie place is awesome, and the Smokehouse does indeed have great fish tacos, and they are all right outside your door as is the beach which was gloriously UNCROWDED on morning and evening walks. I really loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs with a 22 oz. IPA and the iPod, and the double room was fine, especially with a divider between the beds that at least gave SOME privacy. The free breakfast had bagels and coffee and fruit and cereal and hard boiled eggs and newspapers, but if you want a real breakfast there are several places nearby. And don't forget to drive about 10 minutes north to visit the Estero Bluffs. I hung out there for several hours one afternoon and didn't see another soul. My own beach! Awesome. Of all the places along Hwy. 1, this was the best (at least for someone without $300 to spend on a room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Check in is always the most dreaded time for our guest. We are glad that you and Dayzee enjoyed your break from the hustle and bustle of your daily life. Our staff appreciates your continued patronage and we look forward to your next stay in August.

Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Valley Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We take a break from the hustle and bustle of daily life and bring our mix breed herder Dayzee over for some beach time. Always enjoy our time at Shoreline Inn from check in until the unfortunate time we have to leave. The staff is always great and since the place is filled with other pet lovers so everyone has something in common. We are already booked to come back in August!

Room Tip: Of course beach side has the views but remember it also has the common area so it can get busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Check in is always the most dreaded time for our guest. We are glad that you and Dayzee enjoyed your break from the hustle and bustle of your daily life. Our staff appreciates your continued patronage and we look forward to your next stay in August.

Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We had 2nd floor in building closest to ocean. For landlocked CO natives, this was close to perfect in our quest to find the ocean views, smells, and sounds along with safe, easy beach access and a reasonably comfortable, clean, well-maintained, and quiet room with balcony for a very reasonable price. Didn't try the included continental breakfast, choosing instead to go across the street to Pieman Deli for a good omelet. Heard one dog yapping for about a minute, otherwise dogs not an issue for us. We will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Coming all the way from Colorado to Cayucos, we definitely appreciate that you chose to stay with us at the Shoreline Inn… on the beach. We are the only hotel from Pismo Beach to Monterey that is beachfront with direct beach access. Our beachfront building will definitely give you a panoramic view of the pacific ocean where you can experience all of the marine life, smells, and sounds. We thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the near future.

Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Cayucos is an ideal town to take a trip with your dogs, and the Cayucos Shoreline Inn... On the beach, is the ideal place to stay while in Cayucos.
What really stood out was the friendliness of the staff. They obviously loved and welcomed my dogs. They are pet friendly, not just pet tolerant.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. I did not detect any dog smell in the room.
The beds were comfortable. I typically have difficulty sleeping in hotels, but no issues here. The beds were just firm enough, but not too hard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
What an ideal review, we are glad to hear that you and your two dogs enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of the motel. Our staff welcomes all pet owners as well as non pet owners, most of us here are pet owners. Our beds are continuously inspected for quality, we just replaced a few mattresses. We hope to see you back at the Shoreline Inn soon!

Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.