We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Save
You added Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having been big fans of Cayucos for years, we wanted a place to take our dog to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had seen the hotel for years but had never stayed there. We were very pleased with our room overlooking the pier and the entire staff was very friendly and welecomed out dog. We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time out and reviewing Shoreline Inn… on the beach. We are a pet friendly motel that is right on the beach, therefore, we do take extra time in our everyday cleaning and perform regular deep cleaning of our rooms. All of our rooms are non-smoking as well as our patios and balcony’s; we want all of our guest to have a relaxing, safe, and pleasant experience. We hope to see you soon!

Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    90
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
102
186
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Room was spacious, view of ocean on balcony. Access to the beach from the hotel.
I was worried that it might smell like dog since its animal friendly but the room was clean and fresh.
First time here and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Shoreline Inn… on the beach. Although we are a pet friendly establishment, we are dedicated to ensuring that each and every one of our guests has a stay that exceeds their expectations. After every pet we change and wash all the linens from the room, along with a thorough deep cleaning process. We hope to see you back soon at the Shoreline Inn... on the beach.

-Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is literally right on the beach--a rare treat. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Lobby has a small gift shop, lots of local info, and a decent continental breakfast in the morning. The property has showers for post-beach clean up, barbecues, picnic tables, and lots of outdoor seating. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you, “Namegirl” for your descriptive review of our motel and outdoor facilities. Shoreline Inn… on the beach is definitely right on the beach, as our name indicates. Of our 29 rooms 18 of them are beach front with panoramic ocean views of the pacific, and we are the only beachfront motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach that’s right on the water. We hope to see you back soon at the Shoreline Inn… on the beach.

-Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno,Ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our first trip to Shoreline Inn was Mother's Day 2012. We had been looking for a place like this for years, after the first night we Knew we would not be staying anywhere else - Ever !! People say it's all about Location !! - True - But when you add super clean rooms, great staff, and pet friendly what more can you ask for? Not much ! The beds are very comfortable. The views from the beachfront rooms is beyond fantastic ! It is quiet at night - even with pets - when you leave your window open all you hear is the sounds of the surf. A person never knows what you might see outside your window - pelicans fishing - dolphins playing - surfers - a seagull stealing someone's lunch - and that's the short list !! We had plenty of choices of adventures to go on - or not. The staff is always willing to give "fun" ideas of where and when activities are happening. We prefer short trips over long, therefore we have been taking several short trips over the last year!! When we are here we have the luxury of being on the go or becoming a "beach bum". We learned early on to make reservations as early as possible. We now consider Cayucos and Shoreline Inn our "official" home away from home !!!!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have the best views. Lobby building rooms are larger. If you have mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you, for your delightfully detailed description. You never know what surprises you will get with the panoramic ocean views from our beachfront building. In combination with the mesmerizing sound of the ocean and the newly updated double pillow top mattress we strive to provide a relaxing stay for our guests. We hope to see you soon at your home away from home, Shoreline Inn… on the beach.

Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I came tothe hotel with my parents as a kid, my Mother recently passed away so me and my sister traveled to Cayucos on a celabration of my mother's life. This was her all time favorite place to be, she love Cayucos and visited several times, she was at peace when she stayed here. I could not believe how at peace I was there, even with grieving. The room was so comfortable, I had the best night sleep in yrs bed was so comfortable and the sound of the ocean was amazing!!!!! I spent alot of time seaking with the owner about how things had changed in 30 years, she was so amazing to talk to, everyone was so friendly...I will be back!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ocean,,no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
The Shoreline Inn has been family owned for almost 35 years. We enjoy hearing stories and seeing pictures from our guests who have been coming here throughout the years. It is easy to feel peace and tranquility in such a serene atmosphere. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to your next stay at the Shoreline Inn… on the beach.


Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband & I love staying here with our dog Riley. We now make it one of our annual vacations.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the location can't be beat. Staff is always friendly and welcoming.

We always look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dogs, like Riley, love the beach and enjoy their vacation in Cayucos. Thank for bringing him to see us, here at the Shoreline Inn. We are glad you had a wonderful time and we too are looking forward to your next stay.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I grew up in Southern California, I've been to Morro Bay and Cambria and all points north up Hwy 1, but I had never even heard of Cayucos until about a year ago and I've been back 3 times since... I love this place! I've stayed at other hotel/B&B's in town that have all been lovely but much more expensive, last week (the day before 4th of July) we stayed at Shoreline Inn and it was perfect. We had a room on the ground floor, beachfront and we took full advantage of the chairs provided to enjoy an adult beverage watching the sunset. I didn't book this hotel for their free breakfast, which is the only thing lacking but it's a nice feature for those who just want a bowl of cereal or a bagel/muffin. I come to Cayucos for the same reason as everyone else, to be a beach bum, to not have to dress up, do my hair or even shower if I don't want to, the Shoreline Inn caters to that vibe. When we come back (and we WILL be back), we will absolutely stay at the Shoreline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Cayucos is the hidden gem of the Central Coast. You’re right it’s a great place to relax, sit back and enjoy a quiet evening. Cayucos is not the busy city, but a quaint beach town that many of our guests enjoy for just getting away. We are glad you discovered us about a year ago and we’re looking forward to your next stays. Thank you for reviewing us.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.