We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach to your Saves list
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Only time for a one night stay for our anniversary, but it was great. We were pleasantly surprised with some sparkling cider, chocolate & a personal note of congratulations. The room was clean, spacious & offered all the nice amenities, including a balcony to sit on and enjoy the waves. The desk staff was helpful & explained many restaurant choices & we really enjoyed the Café della Via for our special dinner. The town has many shops to visit & a nice pier to stroll along, so I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for coming to the Shoreline Inn to celebrate and for taking the time to write a review. We love making our guests stays special with little goodies in the room and putting their name on the board, when we know it’s a special occasion for them. We hope you made wonderful memories and that we’ll see you again
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    103
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
115
222
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This Inn is, I think, family run. The rooms were clean, although sometimes hard to get an ocean view room. Smokers were catered for with a small smoking area overlooking the beach, which I appreciated.

Cayucos itself is a small town but there is a lot to see in the area.

Room Tip: Book early for a room with an ocean view. It's worth it. You will see the sea otters from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are right, Cayucos is a small town, but there are lots of things to see in the area. Many of the guests love it for it central spot along the California Central Coast. The Shoreline Inn is family owned and operated and we try to make our guests feel as though they are part of the family. We hope you will visit us again when you are in California
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I love coming to Cayucos and staying at the Shoreline Inn. I've stayed here twice now, and I have another visit booked for February. I stay in an oceanfront room on the second floor, and the view is just spectacular. You're right on the water. And it's quite a view to wake up to. The rooms are very clean, the staff are friendly, and you can't beat the hotel location. It's just an overall great experience!

Room Tip: Book an oceanfront room, the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at the Shoreline Inn. We are so glad that you love it! We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location and many of our guests come back again and again for that reason. The oceanfront rooms upstairs are a favorite for little getaways!
We hope to welcome you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We took a last minute trip here to enjoy a couple days with our Navy Sailor home on leave and our Labrador. I really can't imagine being any happier. The room was very nice...not super fancy, but very nice. Only pet smell came from our own dog, happened to rain while we were there :-). The place is right on the beach...great coffee shop just across the street and lots of pet friendly restaurants nearby. This would be a very good place regardless...but, if you have a dog in tow, it is perfect. The service was excellent...room nice and location is perfect! Worked great for us.

Room Tip: The rear building has the best views...but anything is good and the people at the desk are really he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Shoreline Inn. We are glad you and your family had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed our rooms. Many of our guests enjoy bringing their four legged friends, since Cayucos is a great pet town with lots of pet friendly restaurants and of course, the beach to play with. Please thank your Navy Sailor for his/her service to the good U.S. of A. We hope to see you and your family again…on the beach.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We used to stay in Pismo every year just before the holidays start but once discovering Cayucos no need to drive further. The hotel is right on the water and the rooms are good sized with ocean views. As others have mentioned dog friendly, reasonable rates and friendly staff all in a centrally located spot make this a winner. Park the car cause there's no need to drive once the sun sets, We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Because of its mild climate, quiet towns and beautiful beaches, the Central Coast is the perfect Winter-Getaway place. Thank you for mentioning our ocean views and staff. We are very glad that you had a wonderful time and will see you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I almost don't want to tell my fellow travelers how good this place is...but I will (and will keep it simple). Perfectly located on the beach, unobstructed sunset views, clean and remodeled, friendly staff, reasonably priced, dog friendly with treats, breakfast in the morning, warm cookies and coffee in the PM, walking distance into town for dinner.

I have found my new favorite hotel on the Central Coast and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Cayucos is one of the last secret getaways in California and we are glad you found the Shoreline Inn. Cayucos sunsets, especially in the winter, are wonderful and our guests love them. Thank you for not keeping us a secret. We will see you on the beach.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Cayucos is a sleepy little town. We love it! The Shoreline Inn is right on the beach. Price is beyond reasonable, almost cheap for what you get. Clean rooms. Most have been updated. Friendly staff. Most rooms have a full ocean view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to post a review about the Shoreline Inn. We strive for all our guests to have a wonderful time on the beach and are very happy you enjoyed our location and value.
The Shoreline Inn Staff hopes to see you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.