We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Ask for Much More” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Save Saved
You added Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Cayucos
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't Ask for Much More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We used to stay in Pismo every year just before the holidays start but once discovering Cayucos no need to drive further. The hotel is right on the water and the rooms are good sized with ocean views. As others have mentioned dog friendly, reasonable rates and friendly staff all in a centrally located spot make this a winner. Park the car cause there's no need to drive once the sun sets, We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Because of its mild climate, quiet towns and beautiful beaches, the Central Coast is the perfect Winter-Getaway place. Thank you for mentioning our ocean views and staff. We are very glad that you had a wonderful time and will see you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    69
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
70
123
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I almost don't want to tell my fellow travelers how good this place is...but I will (and will keep it simple). Perfectly located on the beach, unobstructed sunset views, clean and remodeled, friendly staff, reasonably priced, dog friendly with treats, breakfast in the morning, warm cookies and coffee in the PM, walking distance into town for dinner.

I have found my new favorite hotel on the Central Coast and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Cayucos is one of the last secret getaways in California and we are glad you found the Shoreline Inn. Cayucos sunsets, especially in the winter, are wonderful and our guests love them. Thank you for not keeping us a secret. We will see you on the beach.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Cayucos is a sleepy little town. We love it! The Shoreline Inn is right on the beach. Price is beyond reasonable, almost cheap for what you get. Clean rooms. Most have been updated. Friendly staff. Most rooms have a full ocean view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to post a review about the Shoreline Inn. We strive for all our guests to have a wonderful time on the beach and are very happy you enjoyed our location and value.
The Shoreline Inn Staff hopes to see you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Get location walk right out onto the beach. My room was second building back with a great little deck I can see and hear the ocean. Town is very dog friendly this hotel is also. I like dogs so very entertaining. You can walk to restaurants, store etc. Plenty of parking and a great little breakfast to get you started. My room hand an fold out bed and seating area. My mom was in the front with ocean view very small room.Clean friendly service.

Room Tip: I had a room second building back top floor. Lots of extra room King and a fold out bed, little bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are so glad that our different room types fit your needs. The beachfront rooms are smaller as they are standard size, but they are right on the beach. We do have larger accommodations that are loved by many of our guests that are set back just a little bit further with varying views and number of beds. Come back soon to enjoy another vacation in our little town
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked one night here and the moment we saw the room and view, we knew we had to stay another night. The front desk staff was very accommodating with helping us book another night... We had to switch rooms, but the transition was very easy. They are located steps from the beach and listening to the waves crash all night is so relaxing. Our room had a comfortable couch, gas fireplace, game table, balcony with ocean view and a comfortable bed. The only complaint I had about the room was that the railing on the balcony is right at eye level when sitting. Continental breakfast was included in the room, but it is only the basics and the pastries/toast was dry. They did have oatmeal packets out, but there was only a sweetened option - this probably pleases most people though. The second night I opted for a local coffee shop for breakfast. I only gave them a 3 for service because when I called to make the reservation the gentleman on the phone said they were booked and that our names couldn't be put on a list for a possible cancellation. We booked online for only one night and planned the rest of our vacation elsewhere. One other thing to mention...they do not air conditioning (you probably won't need it 95% of the time) but we happen to be visiting on a heat wave and the rooms were quite warm. The hotel staff was very forthcoming about this and provided fans for comfort. We will definitely be back to visit again! They are pet friendly and even have a pet towel in every room - next time we will bring our dogs!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are glad that your stay at the Shoreline Inn was a pleasant one. The room that you described is a favorite of many guests because of the ocean views and fireplace. Thank you for also mentioning the staff; they strive to be helpful and accommodating. We do not have waiting lists for reservations due to the number of requests we receive. We are however, more than happy to receive online booking requests, repeated phone calls inquiring about availability and to provide an updated availability chart on our webpage. We hope that you and your dogs will stay with us again soon to enjoy quaint Cayucos and our beautiful beach.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Where can you be right on the beach, hear the waves crashing, bring your dog, take magnificent walks on the beach, see the dolphins jumping, marvel at the gorgeous sunsets and be in a little beach town that is inviting and friendly. Did I mention the good food? It's where I go to rest my soul. I have to go there at least 2-3 times a year and we have been staying at the Shoreline Inn for years. My favorite place in all the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Your review is so appreciated. The happiness of our guests make working at the Shoreline an absolute pleasure. Personally, there is no other place I would rather be either. See you on the beach –soon.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights at the Shoreline Inn. Our room was in the beachfront building on the upper level and it was very clean and quite nice. The location is really perfect, very near the beach, and you can certainly hear the waves all day and night from your room, which is exactly what we wanted. Even the grounds around the Inn were so well kept and clean. Dogs are definitely welcome, but if you don't have one, you really wouldn't notice any negatives related to being dog friendly. The staff was friendly and helpful, with the exception of the one gentleman who worked at the desk...he seemed indifferent and annoyed when we asked him questions about the area. They do serve a continental breakfast, but it was not up to the level of the rest of the Inn, and if you arrive even a minute or two after 9, they won't offer to let you have anything, they keep cleaning it up as if you were not there. Luckily, there is a great bakery/cafe right across the street, so you can go grab your breakfast there. The only other negative was that on the last day, after staying there for 5 nights and paying over $700, as we were leaving, we picked up a small single serving bottle of apple juice, (they were sitting out on the counter in a basket where we paid the bill so we thought they were there for the guests). The same gentleman mentioned earlier, chased us down in the parking lot and told us those bottles were for another guest, he was pretty rude about it. We hadn't opened the bottle so we just handed it back to him, but it all felt kind of weird to make such a fuss over a 2 dollar bottle of apple juice. That said, overall, we had a wonderful time with our dog at the Shoreline Inn!

Room Tip: The parking lot sits between the newer rooms and the beach....I think the smaller beachfront rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Shoreline Inn. Staying on the beach is truly a one-of-a kind relaxing experience in Cayucos. It seems that you have mixed feelings regarding your stay. Guests are welcome to sit at breakfast beyond the time staff breaks it down and if you need anything extra, they will be happy to oblige. We apologize for the misunderstanding with the drinks. They were set in a spot so that staff would be reminded to put them in a room with guests celebrating an anniversary. We hope you come back so that we may have another opportunity to give you excellent guest service.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;