We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Tree Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Tree Motel
Save
You added Cypress Tree Motel to your Saves list
125 South Ocean Avenue, Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Ventura, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“STAY HERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We reserved rooms Friday and Saturday night and were unable to make it Friday. We did not notify them until 9pm Friday night. They said because they were not full they would give us a discount for Friday (and were extremely friendly about it). When we arrived Saturday morning the motel and all surrounding motel/hotel/inns were showing "no vacancy". We were surprised when they still gave us the discount as promised and checked us into our original reserved room early. So the customer service was great. The "Sunflower Suite" was relaxing, fully equipped, clean, and quiet. There is a great BBQ area (I get why others are so jazzed about it in the reviews), a sandy-dog-or-sandy-toy washing area, and just a great vibe. Did I mention the location is GREAT? Next to a market/deli, restaurants, the beach, and the pier. Cuyacos in general has a great vibe and breathtaking natural surroundings. Our overnight at Cypress Hotel relaxed us like a week's va-cay, thanks!

Room Tip: The upstairs suites are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
9
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This little motel is in some bad need of a good cleaning...fecal matter under the toilet seat!! Old dirty fake flowers stappled to the door and above the bed! Yuck, pay more, book earlier and get something clean!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmylou5, Owner at Cypress Tree Motel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I've owned the Cypress Tree for almost 15 years and have resisted responding to a review until now. I would invite anyone reading this person's review to click our "By the Garden" room page and look at the farm gate with flowers decoration over the bed. I have received hundreds of compliments on it over the years, and none of them contained the phrase "dead flowers".

The second "dead flower" reference was for the the red, white, and blue boquets we attach to all our room doors as part of our elaborate 4th of July decorations.

As for the cleanliness issues, I suggest anyone to read all 31 reviews currently on TripAdvisor and note "clean" or "cleanliness" is mentioned in the vast majority of them.

I quess none of the rest of us can be as perfect as the writer of this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Pet friendly, clean, welcoming and great location on Cayucos Beach. Rooms are small but have everything you need including fridge with complimentary water bottles and microwave. Friendly welcoming inn owner. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, ca
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Although I am not a fan of themed motels, this one is an exception...great service...good in-room coffee...very comfortable bed...lots of neighborly folks in the complex...no complaints (except perhaps the somewhat dated decor, even for a throwback, themed motel.) Free wireless is a real plus...old, tiny TV not so much! However, I would certainly return. Cayucos is overall a very laidback little beach town with a beautiful beach, several good restaurants...it is quiet, yet convenient to the highway for travel to adjacent coastal sights.

Room Tip: Preview the rooms on the website so you will be familiar with the decor and layout of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We got the last room on the day after Thanksgiving as a stopover on the way home from the San Franscisco area. Cayucos is a great looking town right on the beach north of Morro Bay. It has a pier, a great fish and chips place, numerous small town experiences. The Cypress Tree Motel emphasizes it's 50s-60s decor and ambiance. A little too much 50s-60s. Room was small, bed was noisy and lumpy, walls were thin, and no exhaust fan in the bathroom, which had only a shower. A 60s size TV and wicker table/chair rounded out the decor.
On the plus side, the heater worked well and was thermostat controlled, there was lots of hot water, the sheets were clean and it was quiet when the neighbors turned off their TV and went to sleep. There is lots of interesting (?) old license plates and Route 66 stuff. There is a nice sitting area, which was unused due to a fierce Santa Ana wind that came up overnight and rattled the front door all night. It is a family owned business, which we like to support.
Bottom line, not worth the money and too worn to consider coming back. Great town though, enjoyable with more modern accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We just returned from a trip to Cauycos where we stayed at the Cypress Tree Motel.

The off-season rate of $50+/night was great...Cauycos can get expensive during the summer.

Rooms: Well, they appear to be a tad "old" and in definite need of an update. On the other hand, how much can you expect for fifty bucks per night...!!

The Cypress Tree Motel is dog-friendly charging only $10, which is cheap.

There are no breakfast offerings at the motel...except for the coffee maker in your room. However, that's not a major problem depending on how you look at things.

A couple of doors down the street there's a restaurant called Martin's offering a nice looking breakfast special for $4.95. Only problem is that they don't open until 9:00 AM. My wife thought that was great giving her a chance to sleep in. Personally I was not so impressed wanting to get on the road...!!!

Beach Access: There's a little walk from the Cypress Tree Motel to "main street", the pier and the main beach. However, if you know where you're going, you're only a couple hundred yards away from a couple of beach accesses that will take you to a more secluded part of the beach.

In summary: I'll rate this motel a "three" = average although the nightly rate of $50+ (cheap) plus $10 for a dog (cheap) has something to do with this rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We like Cayucos and decided to spend a night there instead of staying in Morro Bay as we have in the past on our coastal roadtrips. It is just a small coastal town with a great stretch of beach and lots of good antique shopping in the area.

We drove by the Cypress Tree Motel a few times and then decided to check it out as it looked very interesting and a little different. It's rating on Tripadvisor was ok but not the best. We were looking for a place that was clean and not pricey as we were just going to be there to sleep. They had availability and let me look at two different rooms to see which one we might like and I wanted to make sure they were nice and clean. All of the rooms have some sort of theme. I checked out the Garden Room and the Route 66 Room. We decided on the Route 66 Room as it was so different, really cute. It was off-season and they gave us a great rate and a discount on top of that.

This place is just so different, kind of like you are going back in time. The owners bought this place before it was going to be torn down and have been working on it for about 12 years if I remember right. The whole property and the rooms have such detail and shows the time spent and the thought that has gone into everything. There are pictures, sayings and signs everywhere! As said, each room has a different theme and is decorated in that manner and just takes you back in time. You have everything you need in your room too such as a small frig./freezer which they put two small bottles of water, microwave, coffee/tea, TV with plenty of channels, hair dryer and needed toiletries. The bath towels were of good quality, nice and thick which surprised me for a smaller motel. They even put out little chocolates for you each day. They really pay attention to the small little details. The outside lawn area is really cute. The fence that borders the property has old signs everywhere, there is a big cypress tree that is all lit up at night with all these different type lights on it, a few lawn chairs, BBQ for which they will provide the charcoal, table and chairs and lawn ornaments and decorations throughout. They have put so much time and thought into every little area of this place. The owner told me that he has wanted to do this since he was 19 years old and it is a work in progress.

You are not on the beach and blocks from it but you can see a very small part of the ocean and at night when quiet you can hear the waves.

I could go on about this place and I am sure I have forgotten a few things but I can tell you it was a great find for us. The Cypress Tree Motel is just a fun and happy place. It is very different than your average chain motel and quirky in a good way. We were just planning on staying one night and ended up staying two here, on our week roadtrip. This is not a 5*, not even close but for us it was great. I rated it a 5 as it is a great value, although not on the beach the location is very good and within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We were just looking for a nice clean room with a comfortable bed and a good deal. We got that and a little more at the Cypress Tree Motel.

Room Tip: Brown Butter Cookie Company at the end of town is a must. The original cookie is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Tree Motel

Address: 125 South Ocean Avenue, Cayucos, CA 93430
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cypress Tree Hotel Cayucos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Tree Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.