We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place near the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cayucos Sunset Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cayucos Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Cayucos Sunset Inn
95 South Ocean Avenue, PO Box 151, Cayucos, CA 93430   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Osos, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place near the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I'm a local tour operator and booked an extended family for a two night stay at the Cayucos Sunset Inn. Everything was great! The rooms were spacious and well appointed - the girls felt like they were princesses! The service was personalized and excellent - they even went out of their way to prepare a special breakfast for someone who wanted to eat before the kitchen was open. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    22
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
183
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The Cayucos Sunset Inn is a little treasure in a lovely small town. The people who work there are very helpful and friendly.

We had a wonderful weekend and would love to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed overnight to breakup a trip from Los Angeles to San Francisco. Our second story room was perfect and Lisa is a charming and knowledgeable innkeeper. We look forward to returning later this year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My husband and I went looking for a weekend decompression get-a-away and the Cayucos Sunset Inn was just what the doctor ordered! Lisa, our innkeeper was a gracious host. Though our room was on the first floor and w/o a deck and ocean view, we found it roomy and comfortable. The bedsheets were decadently soft and the jacuzzi was a wonderful afterthought to a day of beach walking around Morro Bay which is only a 10 minute drive away. The local red abalone farmer had provided her with some beautiful abalone which she prepared for the first time (scrumptious success!) and served as an appetizer during the 5-6 pm "happy"hour along with a local wine tasting. Breakfasts were elegant and filling and the cookies and milk delivered to our room at the end of the day were a cozy treat. All in all, a relaxing experience that exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

The Cayucos Sunset Inn is easily the nicest place I've ever stayed. Not only was the room and service great but the people were wonderful. We will definately be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Our complete experience at Cayucos Sunset Inn was very positive. Very friendly & accomodating owners & staff; rooms spacious, clean and decorated very tastefully.
Several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Very peaceful & quiet environment - great place to kick-back and decompress...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester, il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night, 5 day trip to CA. We started off in San Francisco and drove the PCH to LA. We stayed at a different B&B every night and this was our favorite! We stayed in the Sunset Room. Wow, the pictures on their website do not even do it justice. It is 1100 square feet of PURE luxury. We are pretty discriminating guests and this place was top notch! The breakfast was AMAZING! We hated to leave. What a charming little oceanside B&B. Great, great, great is all I can say! Well done to Lisa and her husband on creating such a refreshing, luxurious retreat. Your dream come true will make others' dreams come true as well! Well done.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayucos Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Sunset Inn

Address: 95 South Ocean Avenue, PO Box 151, Cayucos, CA 93430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cayucos Sunset Inn is a welcoming, open building trimmed with beautiful flowers and hedges. We have a shaded patio in front for the guests to relax in. The patio opens to our quaint dinning area where we serve a free breakfast and hold a complementary wine and cheese hour. Our five rooms vary in size. Four are located upstairs with ocean view patios. The rooms open to a living room area with a television, electric fire place, and couch in the front. Through the small hall, the bedrooms have luxurious king size beds, additional electric fire places, and small refrigerators. Each of these four rooms have jacuzzi tubs and rain shower heads. We have a smaller downstairs room we offer as well. We are located in a small throwback beach town. Our building is about a block from the beach with ocean views up top. The Inn is located on the main road up from Cayucos's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cayucos Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Sunset Hotel Cayucos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayucos Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.