We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy 'til the cows come home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Catheys Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast
2617 Old Highway South, Catheys Valley, CA 95306   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Catheys Valley
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoy 'til the cows come home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a lovely stay here at Rancho Bernardo. Ranch is great, but what really makes this place special is Kathy and Barney : ) ! They are the sweetest people you'll ever meet.

My husband, 15 year-old son, and I stayed in the guest house above the garage. Complete with pool table! We have a soft spot in our hearts for cows and we were so happy that the herd of about 8 came right up to our house and visited us (spent the night there, actually). How many places can you stay where that happens?!

Breakfast was AMAZING, Kathy, thanks so much!

This spot is about 15 minutes from Mariposa (where we ate dinner each night) and an hour and 15 minutes or so from Yosemite (Yosemite park entrance is about 15 minutes before you get to the actual "sights" of Yosemite Valley). We made the drive to Yosemite two days in a row. This was not a problem, though, since the drive along the river is so beautiful and flower-filled (poppies and red buds during our trip). We visited on March 31 and thankfully did not need to use chains (thankful because we didn't have any). Waterfalls were slushy still from snow in the upper origins, but no snow to speak of in the valley (it looked so pretty in the upper reaches, though). This is a beautiful park not to be missed.

So pleased that we made the choice to spend a bit extra for this very special experience. Much love to you both, Kathy and Barney.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

stayed one night and it was great. they're amazing hosts, told us some funny stories and what a beautiful serene ranch. it was exactly what we needed. an escape the city and delicious food as well. perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Rancho Bernardo earlier in October. Kathy & Barney were amazing hosts. Our room was in the barn opposite the horses which meant the horses got fed well and probably put on a lot of a weight whilst we were there! A very unique place to stay. Our room was immaculate with a western charm. The breakfast was fantastic - the food was really good and the company of Kathy & Barney even better. The ranch is a beautiful place to watch the sun go down and stargaze. You have to stay here!
Ali & Andy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I booked the Guest House at Rancho Bernardo after reading about it on Trip Advisor. I emailed my questions to the owner and eventually talked to her on the phone. I could tell by our conversation that we would enjoy our stay. We had good directions from Kathleen and were welcomed when we drove in the drive by her husband Barney. We were escorted to the Guest House. Wow! It was wonderful! The main floor had a queen bed, pool table, kitchen, sofa and chairs, big screen TV, etc. There was a loft with a queen bed as well. There was also a deck overlooking the trees and meadow. We unloaded our car and headed to Yosemite. The location and setting of the ranch are relaxing, but it is a bit remote from the park entrance, approximately an hour to an hour and a half. But, I haven't shared the best part yet! Breakfast with Kathleen and Barney is a priceless experience. The food was amazing and the company was so very entertaining. They told us story after story, were interested in us and our stories, and gave us great advice about the park. We could have spent the day visiting with them. We highly recommend staying at this beautiful ranch with this charming couple as your hosts. You will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger Guest House, but the other couple who stayed in the Barn Suite said it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you have read other reviews, I can just tell you that they are true, very true. We had a very pleasant three day stay at Rancho Bernardo. We stayed in the Barn and enjoyed great night of sleep, great breakfast, the best of my California tour. It is a bit far from the park (one hour driving to the entrance), but the place itself is a great experience that I strongly recommend. Getting to know the owners is certainly the best part: very special people!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at RB for 3 nights while visiting Yosemite NP. If I could give Kathleen and Bernie 7 stars I would. They are very special people. Hugely warm and friendly, with intelligent kindness and dry wit. Breakfast was a banquet that you sit to eat with your hosts. Their barn was an immaculate idyl. Not a fly, or even a speck of dirt! Our room was charming with everything you could need...including a pool table!
My only caution would be that it is an hour and a half drive from Yosemite Valley, so, if you are planning to hit the park hard, you might be better off with some place cheap and cheerful to flop near the park entrance. Half the joy of RB is Kathleen and Bernie. If you are always rushing away you will miss out on its best feature.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Rancho Bernardo Bed and Breakfast Guest House while visiting the Yosemite area with our two teen-agers. Everything about our stay was wonderful from the family friendly sized Guest House, which included a deck and grill for our evening dinner and relaxing after our days at Yosemite, to the delicious breakfast prepared by Kathy each morning.. Each morning breakfast was made even more special by the pleasure of the company and conversation of our warm and gracious host, Barney and Kathy, as well as their visiting family members (grandson, Kevin and son, Brad) and the other guests of the B+B (Bill and Anne from Australia). We are from the area near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and Rancho Bernardo was such as great way for us to end our 10 day trip to California. None of us wanted to leave! Thank you so much Kathy and Barney for being a part of great new memories for the Connor family. We will always remember our stay with you and encourage others who are considering staying at Rancho Bernardo to absolutely do it for an positively outstanding experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2617 Old Highway South, Catheys Valley, CA 95306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catheys Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Catheys Valley
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list