We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Catheys Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2617 Old Highway South, Catheys Valley, CA 95306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catheys Valley
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

stayed one night and it was great. they're amazing hosts, told us some funny stories and what a beautiful serene ranch. it was exactly what we needed. an escape the city and delicious food as well. perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Rancho Bernardo earlier in October. Kathy & Barney were amazing hosts. Our room was in the barn opposite the horses which meant the horses got fed well and probably put on a lot of a weight whilst we were there! A very unique place to stay. Our room was immaculate with a western charm. The breakfast was fantastic - the food was really good and the company of Kathy & Barney even better. The ranch is a beautiful place to watch the sun go down and stargaze. You have to stay here!
Ali & Andy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I booked the Guest House at Rancho Bernardo after reading about it on Trip Advisor. I emailed my questions to the owner and eventually talked to her on the phone. I could tell by our conversation that we would enjoy our stay. We had good directions from Kathleen and were welcomed when we drove in the drive by her husband Barney. We were escorted to the Guest House. Wow! It was wonderful! The main floor had a queen bed, pool table, kitchen, sofa and chairs, big screen TV, etc. There was a loft with a queen bed as well. There was also a deck overlooking the trees and meadow. We unloaded our car and headed to Yosemite. The location and setting of the ranch are relaxing, but it is a bit remote from the park entrance, approximately an hour to an hour and a half. But, I haven't shared the best part yet! Breakfast with Kathleen and Barney is a priceless experience. The food was amazing and the company was so very entertaining. They told us story after story, were interested in us and our stories, and gave us great advice about the park. We could have spent the day visiting with them. We highly recommend staying at this beautiful ranch with this charming couple as your hosts. You will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger Guest House, but the other couple who stayed in the Barn Suite said it was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you have read other reviews, I can just tell you that they are true, very true. We had a very pleasant three day stay at Rancho Bernardo. We stayed in the Barn and enjoyed great night of sleep, great breakfast, the best of my California tour. It is a bit far from the park (one hour driving to the entrance), but the place itself is a great experience that I strongly recommend. Getting to know the owners is certainly the best part: very special people!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at RB for 3 nights while visiting Yosemite NP. If I could give Kathleen and Bernie 7 stars I would. They are very special people. Hugely warm and friendly, with intelligent kindness and dry wit. Breakfast was a banquet that you sit to eat with your hosts. Their barn was an immaculate idyl. Not a fly, or even a speck of dirt! Our room was charming with everything you could need...including a pool table!
My only caution would be that it is an hour and a half drive from Yosemite Valley, so, if you are planning to hit the park hard, you might be better off with some place cheap and cheerful to flop near the park entrance. Half the joy of RB is Kathleen and Bernie. If you are always rushing away you will miss out on its best feature.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Rancho Bernardo Bed and Breakfast Guest House while visiting the Yosemite area with our two teen-agers. Everything about our stay was wonderful from the family friendly sized Guest House, which included a deck and grill for our evening dinner and relaxing after our days at Yosemite, to the delicious breakfast prepared by Kathy each morning.. Each morning breakfast was made even more special by the pleasure of the company and conversation of our warm and gracious host, Barney and Kathy, as well as their visiting family members (grandson, Kevin and son, Brad) and the other guests of the B+B (Bill and Anne from Australia). We are from the area near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and Rancho Bernardo was such as great way for us to end our 10 day trip to California. None of us wanted to leave! Thank you so much Kathy and Barney for being a part of great new memories for the Connor family. We will always remember our stay with you and encourage others who are considering staying at Rancho Bernardo to absolutely do it for an positively outstanding experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had the best time there. Wish we had time to stay more than one night. Stayed in apt over the garage. It was really roomy, cute little kitchen. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast great. Owners so much fun. A definite winner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2617 Old Highway South, Catheys Valley, CA 95306
Location: United States > California > Catheys Valley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catheys Valley
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.