We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Catheys Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast
2617 Old Highway South, Catheys Valley, CA 95306   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Catheys Valley
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife, two teenage sons, and I stayed at Rancho Bernardo for 2 nights before and after visiting Yosemite at the end of August. I couldn't have selected a better place to stay. The vast open space, the stars, the peacefulness, was exactly what we needed after a long flight from the east coast. The guest house was private, nicely decorated, and very spacious. But the best part of the stay was spending our free time at the ranch with Kathleen and Barney. They are such accommodating hosts and will do whatever they can to help you enjoy your vacation. Breakfast is terrific especially since your hosts dine with you and share wonderful stories about their life. Our kids will always remember the ranch, particularly feeding the animals with Barney! If we visit Yosemite again, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On our last morning at Rancho Bernardo, something quite peculiar happened. I found myself picking a couple of my wife's stray hairs out of the bathroom sink, and wiping the area down with a tissue. I observed my wife folding, yes FOLDING, our used towels and placing them neatly on the vanity unit. I found us both mentally checking the state we had left the room in before closing the door to the barn for the last time, and heading off to our next destination. And these actions tell you everything you need to know about Rancho Bernardo, and more importantly about your hosts Barney and Kathy. For you arrive here as guests, checking into a B&B. You depart as friends, leaving someone's home. 

Quite simply, if you have not been to Rancho Bernardo, go there at once. Take my car. It is wonderful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Through tripadvisor my wife and I found Rancho Bernardo Bed and Breakfast in the area of Yosemite NP. After reading reviews, looking at pictures, and talking to the owner Kathy, we decided to book it.

Due to logistics we decided to spend the day at Yosemite prior to checking in. We contacted Kathy and asked if she minded if we came later. She was completely accommodating and told us to take our time. She went further to recommend an excellent restaurant (Savoury's in Maripossa) that we could stop at on our way to their house from Yosemite.

We wound up not getting to the house until about 11 or so and everyone was sleeping. They left the lights on for our along with our room being ready. We stayed in the Barn Suite which is litterally IN THE BARN. The suite is actually very nice! Just a simple walk out of the door and you are with the horses! Both horses (Mighty and Freckles) are very nice and love you if you feed them carrots.

The room itself was roomy and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom has extra lighting, a fan, and a heater! After our previous b and b experiences, we were very happy to have a large shower to move around in and what not.

Now to the best part... Kathy and Barney, our hosts! These two people are honestly two of the nicest people I have ever met. Kathy is a real jokester and Barney is the sweetest, nicest guy. Our breakfast was delicious all three days (a ton of food and great) but to be honest it could have been just ok and we would have loved it due to Kathy and Barney's company. A unique aspect of their B and B is that they choose to eat with you. Barney and Kathy shared their stories and experiences from their livest. Both were extremely interesting, knowledgeable, and entertaining.

Kathy and Barney gave us advice on what to do and see. They told us lots of history of the Park and the area. We cannot thank them enough for sharing their home with us and making us feel welcome. Even though the drive from Rancho Bernardo to Yosemite is quite long (1hr and 15mins), it's worth it to stay there at least a couple of nights. You will never have a better B and B experience.

Thanks Kathy and Barney!!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are quiet because they are away from the main house and no where near anyone else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Kathy & Barney are two of the most lovely people you will ever meet. Our family of four was lucky enough to stay in the Guest House for three nights, and we loved it! There is a nice size patio that is perfect for grilling and star gazing at night. There is cattle, horses and bunnies roaming the grounds. In the evening, after a day at Yosemite, we would return to our spacious and air conditioned haven and decompress by playing pool or any one of the conveniently stocked games. The entire homestead is very well maintained, tastefully decorated and makes you long to live in the countryside. It was a bit of a drive back and forth to Yosemite each day, but once we got there, it felt luxurious. While breakfasts in the morning were top-notch, their company was the real treat. These two are the real deal and have led a life well lived. Their zest for life and generosity of spirit is inspirational. May God continue to bless and keep them in good health for many years to come. Thank you for helping to making our vacation truly memorable, enjoyable and fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Read all the reviews...thought, OK ..can't be that good. Wrong!..Fantastic hosts! Charming, gracious down home people with stories that still make us smile. Breakfasts ....even better than you can imagine. They will tell you all the great places to dine..the best routes to your Yosemite destination....and by the way, one of the previous reviewers did not mention the fact that the hour and a half travel time to Yosemite does include unforgettable Merced River views that will be in your memory long after your vacation is over! Thanks Kathleen and Barny for 3 GREAT days!
George, Gail, and Eunice

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Agree with all the other reviews about the place and about Kathleen and Barney, but it is not "minutes" from Yosemite - it's a good hour to hour and a half to either the South or West entrance and its a 28 mile round trip to Mariposa to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

It's great to see all the reviews-we agree. Orange French toast, thin pancakes, eggs....
Hosts are the best! They have 9 guestbooks full of notes from people around the world that consider them family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2617 Old Highway South, Catheys Valley, CA 95306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catheys Valley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Catheys Valley
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list