We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ccharming, convenient to Yosemite, but tranquil and away from the crowdss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Catheys Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2617 Old Highway South, Catheys Valley, CA 95306   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catheys Valley
Boca Raton, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“ccharming, convenient to Yosemite, but tranquil and away from the crowdss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Rancho Bernardo is run by the most charming of hosts, Kathleen, a gifted cook and delightful breakfast companion, and Barney, an elderly and charming conversationalist with many stories of local life in California. The breakfast consisted of wonderful locally grown fruit and vegetables, breads, pastries, and fresh coffees and juices, and delicious bacon.
It was a feast.
The accommodations were roomy--over 1000 square feet with high celings, and charming wooden ambience. There is satellite tv, a refrigerator and bathroom and shower. The loft has two Queen beds, on two levels. The higher level is up a ladder. The loft is accessible by stairs only, so handicapped accessibility may be an issue. The beds are more suitable for a large family, than two couples traveling together who may not know each other well. Although the different levels provide some privacy, there is no door, so getting romantic, may not be a comfortable experience in terms of privacy.
The surrounding ranch is very quiet, and after visiting the crowds at Yosemite, the quiet was welcome

Room Tip: the loft is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Setubal, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was for sure one of the best bed and breakfast we ever been.They are such a lovely couple always telling us the best way to have fun around. They had lot´s of wonderfull and funny stories about their lives.We have been here one week and wansn´t enough,If you want to swim on lakes,see museums,beautiful arquitecture,western/gold rush towns,amazing landscapes,great food,you can visit Mariposa,Coulterville,Yosemite,Columbia.
The guest house is very big, enough for 6,it has 1 restroom,a well equiped kitchen,a snooker table,fireplace,air conditioner and vans,one bed(double) is on the living room in a nice romantic corner,the other room (double too) is upstairs.All apartment as a romantic/country style.The balcony outside is perfect for a sleep under the stars...absolutly amazing! The all Rancho is very clean,for me that´s an important issue.
We enjoyed the breakfast very much,Kathleen is a great cooker,french toasts,pancakes,waffles with syrup,scramble eggs with bacon" portuguese" chouriço,
delicious cakes,salsa sauce etc...
We lked all in the rancho,the contact with nature,the animals,the smells,the almost inexisting sounds,the golden landscape...the people...It was our dream ranch!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

After completing a 40 mile backpacking trip in the High Sierra Camps of Yosemite, we landed upon this JEWEL of a B & B on a quiet, picturesque ranch. We stayed in the barn! This is a charming, private, large room with kitchen/bathroom, that is actually part of a big red barn that also houses a few stunning horses... My husband jokingly wondered if one of these beautiful creatures might try to crawl into bed with us! Speaking of beds, ours was incredibly comfortable and made for a blissful nights sleep.

In the morning, we fed the impeccably-cared-for horses a carrot or two before ambling over to the main house, where we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast with our most fascinating hosts, Barney and his wife, Cathy. The stories they shared resulted in A LOT of laughter (and more fascinating stories)... The company was so good, that breakfast nearly became lunch!

Our entire stay exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to return. I highly recommend Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast to other discerning travelers. You'll love the experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was our first encounter with a Bed and Breakfast. The location is wonderful and the accommodations are 1st class. The owners, Kathy & Barney, are the dream couple for this business. Friendly, outgoing, and engaging; they were a joy to meet and hard to part with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

After a day trip at Yosemite we stayed at the Rancho Bernardo B&B. The room was outstanding. Set in a beautiful location on a ranch it seems like you have the entire place to yourself. As great as the room was, breakfast with Barney and Kathy was even better. Kathy is an amazing cook and we both were stuffed. Their company was even better than the food. They make you feel at home like you've known them for years. They love people, and their sense of humor is outstanding. I would come back in a flash and recommend this place to anyone. It is definitely worth the drive for a getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room in the barn. We absolutely loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

What a beautiful CA country setting for a relaxing stay near Yosemite National Park! Make sure you come hungry to the gourmet breakfast that Kathleen prepares-it is such a treat. It was so enjoyable conversing around the table that we almost forgot that we needed to get going to see Yosemite. Please treat yourself to these wonderful accommodations and wonderful people!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

My husband and I have very little chance to get away from it all and happened on Rancho Bernardo as a "leap of faith" choice from an internet search. It was amazing. We stayed in the barn room and enjoyed it so much that we plan on returning as soon as possible. The room was large, comfortable, and quiet. The bed was a joy to slip into after a busy day in Yosemite, with its down matress and fluffy down comforter. It was like sleeping in a cloud. As great as the room itself was, it failed in comparison to the wonderful hosts. Kathleen and Barney were gracious and welcoming and the food was incredible. Don't plan for lunch after they've fed you breakfast... you won't need it. All of that and the rustic beauty of a ranch... It was perfect...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2617 Old Highway South, Catheys Valley, CA 95306
Location: United States > California > Catheys Valley
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catheys Valley
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Rancho Bernardo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Bernardo Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.