We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No shower no working phone, horrible breakfast.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   69151 East Palm Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“No shower no working phone, horrible breakfast.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The shower was broken and they wouldn't fix it or let us go to another room.
The phone was missing all of this buttons.
The breakfast was lacking, and the fruit was hard.
The staff were rude wrt every problem.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    21
    23
    24
See reviews for
33
19
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read mixed reviews I was hesitant to stay. However we went during Coachella Festival and this was one of the more reasonably priced hotels.

Room was nicer than i thought it would be. Looks like it was
recently refurbished. Nice King bed. Small refrigeratore and a
microwave was included. Even though it was a standard room it
almost looked like a suite as there was a wall that blocked the
bedroom.
The only quip i had was weekend breafast hours ends
at 10 am but during the week only until 9am which was too early.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
I would like to thank you for the very nice comments and will pass them along to staff.

Marsha Dumas
General Manager
Red Lion, Cathedral City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the red lion this past weekend to attend Coachella Music festival. The only real complaint we had is the price, but we already expected to pay a lot of this weekend. In fact, the red lion was the cheapest hotel we could find for the weekend, with other places charging upwards of $500 a night. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from the festival.

The hotel is pet friendly, just a $15 charge for your entire stay. We reserved a room with two double beds and no kitchen, which was fine for our stay since we were gone most of the time. The room was really clean, and there is a tv (with HDMI), a mini fridge, microwave, and AC. Free wifi but its a little slow for streaming videos, but worked fine for everything else. I liked that the room had extra power outlets above the nightstand so you don't have to unplug any of the lights in the room to charge your stuff.

Free breakfast everyday until 9am on the weekdays and 10am on weekends (sat and sun). They had the usual, eggs, bacon, sausage and potatoes (not all on the same day), bagels and english muffins, toast, cereal, muffins, coffee and tea, juice and milk, yogurt, and some fruit. No complaints about the breakfast!

When I was checking in we had some trouble with the computer and credit card. I think they just have an old system. In the end it was okay. I booked my reservation through booking.com. I had some issues because the credit card I put the reservation on was not the same as the card I was going to use there. I suggest you use whatever card you want to use to make the reservation as well so you don't have this problem. What ended up happening is that my credit card got charged (the one i had on the reservation) instead of my debit card, but he reversed the charge right away (charge was gone by the next day) and my debit card didn't get charged until I checked out.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay without any real issues. The gentleman working the front desk was very apologetic when we had issues with my credit card. He told me that some people have freaked out and yelled at him for similar issues, but I really didn't think it was anything to get that upset over.

Room Tip: I think pet rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on business for two weeks. Had two different rooms, both were two room suites. This was business trip so we packed-em in. 3 to 4 workers a night. Didn't get any pictures as by the time I would want to, the rooms were already littered with luggage, supplies, etc.

Pros:
- Staff is very friendly and accommodating.
- Kitchen was fully functional and fridge was decent sized (no oven).
- Bed was very comfortable and one could get a god nights sleep.
- Walking distance to Big lots and a restaurant. Short drive to target and everything else you could want.
- Quite nights sleep. We were on the inside though so I don't know if the outer rooms have street traffic.
- Price for what you get. A two room suite with kitchen for around $200.
- Breakfast is good, but they absolutely won't let you in before 6am (not even for coffee). Too bad as were usually on the road by 5:30am. Did get breakfast the last day though and that's why I can rate it.

Cons:
- Cleaning staff should be down right fired. The rooms were not very clean. There was mildew in the shower and the toilet, the couch looked like a grease monkey lives on it when it's not rented out, the trash cans weren't always emptied, there were long black hairs all over the bathroom in one room (we all have short hair) and under one kitchen sink, it looked like a kid used it to hide all the food it didn't want to eat. GROSS!.
- Maintenance staff could probably use some help too. Lots of things had issues including the gate to the pool.
- Don't bother with a roll-away bed. I think they're what the army threw out decades ago. If you want a good nights sleep and all the beds are taken, bring your own air matress.
- Three junkies being arrested in hallway on arriving day was not a good first sign. But at least they got them and for the next two weeks, all tenants seemed normal people just looking for a place to sleep.
- Even though I paid "in ful"- on Priceline, check-in staff said it showed I didn't pay so they charged me again. They said "If you can show that you did pay, we will refund you" EVEN THOUGH I WAS SHOWING THEM THE RECEIPT THAT SAID "PAID IN FULL"! So, that took an extra hour of my time contacting Priceline who did call them and they did eventually issue a full refund.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Okay, first off, this is really an average two to three star place. Better than a Motel 6, but definitely nothing luxurious. Don't expect a resort!

It got a better rating from me because 2 bedroom, 2 bath suites are almost impossible to find in the Palm Springs/Palm Desert area for under $250+ a night. We had 3 people staying there, so for 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, a small kitchen area with microwave, fridge, etc., at under $140 a night, it could not be beat.

I would not stay there without a car, as there's not much in walking distance you will want to see, but by being in between Palm Springs and Palm Desert, right off the local highway in between the two, it was perfect for us to travel around. Apparently some areas have been updated, some have not, but our suite was pretty up to date with the exception of the carpet and a fairly dated loveseat in the living area, and those were still acceptable. Clean, very quiet for our stay, comfy beds.

I saw some complaints on other reviews about the Wifi and the air conditioners, but both worked fine for us. The Wifi is a tad slow but I didn't expect the superspeed I have at home.

The reality is that the Palm Springs area is a pricey area for hotels and motels. I think some people have sticker shock. Folks, if you want to stay in the desert at dirt cheap prices, it's called Vegas in August (I get a 4 star hotel for $35 a night). If you want Palm Springs, especially in the season, be prepared to shell out some serious cash and/or put up with a lower class of lodging.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a very good hotel, great breakfast. Clean rooms just outdated if they did some remodeling it would be a awesome hotel. I have to shoutout Fernando Lopez this guy is a legend. One of the hardest workers I've seen. Really helpful and friendly. The manager should give him a raise or promotion or something. When I come next year I can't wait to see Fernando.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are a little out dated, but we are starting in May with a test room to see what we are going to do with updating. We have some ideas but we need to make sure what is going to work.
Fernando is amazing, I will pass your comments along to him and our owners!

Marsha Dumas
General Manager
Red Lion, Cathedral City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Friendly staff
Rooms spacious but needs renovation - bathroom door to wide for frame - would not close, tile work on vanity coming off on corners
Breakfast - limited items - no protein except yogurt
Easy to find
Quiet for most part - but we were there on a weeknight

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City

Address: 69151 East Palm Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located off Highway 111 and is within minutes of downtown Palm Springs and the cities of Rancho Mirage, Palm Desert, Indian Wells and La Quinta. The hotel is approximately five miles from Palm Springs Airport. Whether traveling to California for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City is perfect for anyone visiting the Palm Springs and Cathedral City areas. The management and staff welcome you to experience our hotel and comfortable accommodations.Our 97 guest rooms, including many suites with full kitchens, include amenities like complimentary wi-fi, comfortable beds, eco-friendly bath products, flat screen TVs, a fitness center and access to the business center with copy and fax services. Guests can take advantage of a complimentary deluxe breakfast, a news stand located in the lobby.Red Lion welcomes pets for a fee. Coin laundry available to our guests. Business travelers are minutes from Palm Springs and will appreciate conveniences like a business center, access to copy and fax services. We are also 2.7 Miles from the Field Of Dreams, where many of our sports teams play ball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm Hotel Cathedral City
Quality Inn And Suites Date Palm
Quality Inn Date Palm
Cathedral City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Cathedral City
Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City California Desert, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.