We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likes to Double Charge the Credit Cards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   69151 East Palm Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Likes to Double Charge the Credit Cards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I booked 4 rooms on the website prepaid. Put in the credit card and got the confirmation that it was prepaid. The hotel decides to charge again on all four rooms and then mark the guests as NO Shows even though they clearly stayed at the hotel. Jeffery has no idea what he is going but keeps calling asking for a credit card number to pay for the rooms because they didn't get charged.
Scam or incompetence - who knows but all I can say is check your credit card statement after you check out because god knows what they will put on there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyH760, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are sorry to hear about the frustration you encountered when staying with us recently and the difficulty faced when asking for assistance with your billing.

When you booked the rooms for the four guests the credit card you provided was to guarentee the rooms only. Then when the guests arrive we ask for a credit card to pay for the room. Let me explain our policy; if the company was to pay for the rooms on the credit card you gave to reserve the rooms we would ask that a credit card authorization form be filled out with the credit card information and a signiture of the person whom name is on the card along with a photo copy of the credit card and picture I.D. of the signer. This is the reason we were unable to provide you with any information from your room charges and unfortunately the only way for you to get this information is to have contacted you directly. This should have been communicated to you when you initially made the request and for that we apologize.

We do thank you for choosing The Red Lion Inn & Suites and will do our best to ensure a stress-free check-in/check-out process for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    13
    13
    21
See reviews for
22
13
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Okay, we're there for Sun, Food, Golf and more Sun. Didn't plan on staying in the room long, if you know what I mean. They put us in a front room to start, we changed in 5 min due to road noise. The back rooms were very quiet. Room layout was odd but OK. Some plumbing noise, and the electric was funny. Had to get up three times in the night to turn off the bathroom light and fan that came on by itself. Maid service was spotty (never totally replenished the coffee and cups each day). Fridge didn't work when we arrived. Found out it wasn't plugged in because there weren't quite enough plugs. Lights were not plugged in either. We had to move the bed to find the light cords. Pool was cold but clean, hot tub fine. Breakfast room food and service was above average for that level of motel I thought. For a place to sleep, yeah we'd stay again in a back room.

Room Tip: Back rooms, away from traffic. We parked right in front of our lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffreyH760, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We’ve taken notes in order to allow for future upgrades/fixes to that and nearby rooms so we appreciate you making us aware.

We do hope to see you again in the future, and perhaps try some of our other room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here a few times when it was a Quality Inn. The staff was MUCH nicer and caring. Now it's a Red Lion, higher prices, indifferent staff and no improvement, whatsoever. The room I was in was not only dirty (filthy bathroom, air conditioning vents haven't been cleaned EVER from the buildup). Breakfast had more choices than before BUT no improvement. Never saw the breakfast attendent during the 30 minutes I was there. The older desk clerk helped me twice finding utensils and getting coffee, very nice and helpful. Would not recommend nor would I stay here again.

Room Tip: Tip of the day: Stay somewhere else where they apprciated your business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Not expensive and basic accommodation. Nice swimming pool area and jacuzzi very welcome.

Booked at last minute as all places in Palm Springs sold out due to tennis tournament.

The staff were surprised that we enquired where we could buy some alcohol and looked at us as if we were committing a sin just by asking but did direct us to a local liquor store. Had the 2 beers by the pool but hid them under the table to avoid any further reprimands.

Breakfast ok

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here during the tennis tournament and the first night was miserable beyond belief. For over $180 we got a room that reaked of cigar or pipe smoke that was so bad people walking by outside could smell it. That smell had to have been there a long time. An ionizer was supplied but it didn't help. The TV was one of the older ones, the breakfasts were typical but the scrambled eggs were tasteless. The AC was next to the bed and blew cold air on us all night. Due to the climate, leaving it off would have been more uncomfortable. Tub was very slippery so taking a shower was scary and it took my husband's strength to turn the knob to get the right temp. Tile floors were sticky. Refrigerator was difficult to access because the door was on the wrong side. Thankfully, the staff gave us a different room for the next 2 nights and a refund of the stay of the first night. Those rooms were more comfortable. Two of the 3 mornings there was no hot water and one day there was no wifi. This could be a nice place but the original room should not be rented to people.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that have not been improved upon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived in Palm Springs area with no reservations, unaware that one of the biggest Tennis Tournaments of the year was in full swing. Most hotels we checked were booked up and the few that had rooms, quoted us prices started at $399 a room a night. Too tired to drive any further, we found this Red Lion. I agree with other posters that is somewhat grungy on the inside. No traffic noise, but the air conditioner (a really really old one) droned off and on all night long. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went out to the desert for a single night to celebrate a friends birthday. The room was somewhat dark and shabby but was acceptable on first glance. However, upon further time in the room we found that it was really problematic. There was no hot water available by 9 AM on Sunday morning, there was a hole in the ceiling above the tub that appeared to have been there for some time. In addition, the television had sound but no picture. We did not report this to the front desk until check out because it was such a short visit. They were gracious and reduced the rate in compensation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City

Address: 69151 East Palm Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located off Highway 111 and is within minutes of downtown Palm Springs and the cities of Rancho Mirage, Palm Desert, Indian Wells and La Quinta. The hotel is approximately five miles from Palm Springs Airport. Whether traveling to California for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City is perfect for anyone visiting the Palm Springs and Cathedral City areas. The management and staff welcome you to experience our hotel and comfortable accommodations.Our 97 guest rooms, including many suites with full kitchens, include amenities like complimentary wi-fi, comfortable beds, eco-friendly bath products, flat screen TVs, a fitness center and access to the business center with copy and fax services. Guests can take advantage of a complimentary deluxe breakfast, a news stand located in the lobby.Red Lion welcomes pets for a fee. Coin laundry available to our guests. Business travelers are minutes from Palm Springs and will appreciate conveniences like a business center, access to copy and fax services. We are also 2.7 Miles from the Field Of Dreams, where many of our sports teams play ball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm Hotel Cathedral City
Quality Inn And Suites Date Palm
Quality Inn Date Palm
Cathedral City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Cathedral City
Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.