We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice place to relax in Palm Springs area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Save Saved
You added Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
los angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a nice place to relax in Palm Springs area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our second floor 1 bedroom unit was in excellent condition, roomy and very comfortable for our family of 2 adults and two children. The kitchen appliances and all furniture was in excellent condition and there were two flat screen TV and DVD players (one was a large screen). The bedroom and bathroom were large and clean and very nice. There was also a roomy balcony with a chaise and chairs. It was a great and very comfortable unit. There was a nice family pool and a smallish adult pool. The kids enjoyed the games room with the WII, pool table and 25cent popcorn. It is easy to spend a week in this place. The wireless internet was great (for a hotel).

Not so great were the two crickets and some small bugs. Be careful of parking in the sprinkler zone. No washer and dryer for some reason but they do have a midweek unit cleaning and pool towel exchange is available.

This is one of the better timeshares with updated furnishings and a relatively small and convenient size. I am rating it 5 stars as our family really enjoyed our stay but its definitely a 4.

You will need a car to get around; shopping is 5-10 minute away

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a nice balcony, first floor has a patio. Request a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    55
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
56
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Let me start by saying we usually stay at Marriott's, Sheraton's, Hilton's, etc. Why do I tell you this? Well, keep reading....

Cathedral City is not Palm Springs. If there was another side of the tracks, Cathedral City would be it. It is not scary or anything, it is just not Palm Springs.

The rooms are spacious. The kitchen is full size and the bedroom has a king bed with room to spare. You will not feel cramped. The size of the room is definitely a plus. Two large TV's, every kitchen utensil you need and a large size table for eating. And ask for the upper floor. We were in a newly renovated room and I could hear every step of the lead feet above us.

The pool is adequate. It is quite large upon first viewing but becomes smaller when there is 15 or more people in it. The bar at the pool is almost non-existent. There are signs around the resort promoting happy hour, but it is not promoted and the signs look like a grade 4 student made them. They also have special dinners. But again, not inticing when they look like a nine year made them using Clip Art.

When viewing the website, it seemed as though they offered alot of programs. They post a board everyday of the daily activities. I don't think anyone participated in these activities. It is too bad, because I think there is potential. It doesn't seemed to be run very well. I am not remotely related to being in the hospitality industry, but I found myself saying "I would just do this!". I think there needs to be better communication about the programs and more promotion for them. Everytime you walked into the main recreation area, it was some kids playing ping pong and some activity co-ordinators watching. Not to blame them, I just do not think they had any direction. The whole recreation activities and center needs an overhaul and alot of direction.

There is also construction going on. While it didn't really effect our stay, I could see how it would affect others.

Overall, I would stay somewhere else. If you usually stay at Ramadas, Days Inn, Holiday Inn etc. and are fine with that then you will be okay. If you are a Starpoints member at Sheraton? Stay at a Sheraton or somewhere else. This resort used to be an RCI Gold Crown but I don't think is anymore...

Room Tip: Upper Floor facing the mountains for sure. Put in the request early.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Used our RCI points to stay at this resort and enjoyed the overall experience. Services was friendly, pool was accomodating but not overly big so you got to mingle with people. There was two pools to keep those adults away from the kids if so desired so that is a plus for some. It was perfect temperature for the climate and very clean.

The snack bar/drink bar wasn't the greatest appearance or most accomodating place to have a drink, it really was an order and go place. Considering this was the only place to get food on the resort it was just average. They did daily specials for food and drinks which is always nice for those looking to catch a break.

Our room was spacious and had comfortable furniture in the bedroom and living space. The kitchen was perfect size for small meals and grab and go. The only comment would be about the pull out bed in the sofa, VERY uncomfortable, but most are.

Room Tip: Show up early on check in day or call in advance to ask for a golf course side room, however the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This resort is small compared to other Welk Resorts I have visited. However the standards are still high with good sized rooms, room service and friendly staff. We arrived in the dark and it can be hard to locate your apartment. The resort is two storey without any elevator (except a disabled facility for wheelchairs) so getting all your stuff on the second floor can be a drag. Even though the resort is small they do put something on for the kids every day and a few things in the evening. Best by far was the good supply of gas barbeques located around the site. Everyone BBQ'd each evening.

A tip to avoid the time share dragons - when you check in and finish all the formalities, the desk clerk will ask you to go to the concierge desk to get your parking tag. This desk is the time share desk and immediately you get the pressure. Do yourself a favour - don't get the parking tag, you don't need it. There is no security gate and I never displayed mine. you can avoid the dragons, foe a while.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course not the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is at least our third time to Welks. We had 4 days to use up of our timeshare so spent them here. Great one bedroom overlooking the golf course. Quiet and peaceful. Very clean, fully stocked full kitchen. Always enjoy staying at Welks. They are remodeling the lobby, so you have to go in to the back of the building to check in etc. Plenty of activities on site for families to enjoy.

Room Tip: no restaurant on site but close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Compared to other name time shares in the Palm Springs area, this one is not as luxurious nor does it have the class amenities. That being said it is still very comfortable and quite for the most part. As usual there was one family that cared nothing at all for the other guests at the resort and they let their little demons run up and down the hall yelling and stomping. I have been to some time shares that have cameras in the hallway for security and the catching of those inconsiderate guests that bother most people around them. A childrens water play area would be nice. Other Welk resorts have what amounts to a small water park on site.

Room Tip: Upstairs and facing the golf fairways is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived on Saturday and were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff. I requested the nicest location and room possible. We were given a top floor overlooking the golf course. Great location with new kitchens. The bathroom did have a new vanity, but the tub looked very old with tile surround and staining in tub. Very comfortable room with a fully equipped kitchen. Honestly, I cannot think of anything we needed as far as utensils that were not there. With a 6 year old, I was very pleased with the amount of activities for the kids. There's a rec room with ping pong, pool tables and even an air hockey table which costs just $1. They have activities such as t shirt making, magnet making. They even rent out table games and dvds. We did listen to the time share pitch, for the simple reason to get 4 free tickets to the aerial tramway. For a $90 value, we figured it was worth 1.5 hours of our time. Honestly, not a lot a pressure. We had no intention of buying. My only negative was that I did have some terrible reaction to the pool water. I developed a severe rash which the doctor did attribute to probably a very high chlorine concentration in the pool. Also, be aware that sprinklers come on during the night and also during the day. They do have signs warning that your car can get spotted. This did happen to me and a car wash would not remove them. I had to have my car professionally cleaned and waxed for $100. Management did allow me to park parallel taking 3 spots away from any sprinklers.

Room Tip: A room away from the street facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.